We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“loved it”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

friendly staff, clean rooms, nice breakfast café on premises, serves dinner also on weekends. in walking distance to town, and seafood store. no swimming here, but 1/2 mile away is a beautiful free park, for picnicking and swimming. no open flames here. Pay the extra and get a view, its lovely. The efficiency room we saw was huge and came fully stocked and very clean. The hotel had a wonderful waterfront pier with tables and lounge chairs for relaxing. also a secret we learned later on a trolley stops at the hotel and takes you throughout the town for a small fee. Since parking in town is expensive, the trolley is a great idea. I would stay at here again. loved it.

Room Tip: second floor has better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    113
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
76
131
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gaffney, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Overall a fantastic stay. The rooms are very clean, although a bit dated. The staff is fantastic, and they are very pet friendly. Wonderful harbor views and close to everything. Would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lturner353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilton NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We have stayed here 3 times. The rooms are very clean and staff are friendly. It could use some updating but the rate is very reasonable.
The hotel is right on the harbor with great views. You can walk over the footbridge to the restaurants and shops; quick walk.

Room Tip: The rooms on the very front of hotel are great. We stayed on second floor. We were right on the wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moultonborough, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

It was a short walk (10 minutes) from Cap'n Fish to town via a foot bridge. Lot's of shops, restaurants and pubs in town. We had a nice room with beautiful views of the harbor. We enjoyed our stay and would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We just spent a few days back at Cap'n Fishs for Windjammer days. Plenty of places to sit out and enjoy the views of the harbor and watch the boats. Rooms were comfortable and clean. It was also nice to come back after being out for a few hours in the morning to have them cleaned and not waiting all day. Great wifi service and no charge! Lots of channels on the flat screen TV. Nice to have a fridge in the room. Easy check-in.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_PaulaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The hotel is a dated and needs a little more than the new paint the exterior appears to have received in the last year or so. Maybe because we were there early in the season, but the room was a little musty. The sprinkler head caps were loose and you could see the pipes coming out of the wall. It looked like our bath tub was painted - there were places were paint ran down the outside of the tub??? They tried to cover the rust on the suspended ceiling gridwork in the bathroom by painting it, but the rust is still showing through. We had a few spider webs in the corners. The AC did not get our room very cool even when set at 10. The only thing saving our 1 night stay was the view.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NittanyVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capn_fishs_hotel, Manager at Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Nittany Visitor,
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am sorry that your stay was less than perfect. We try our best to make everyone comfortable and to keep our property in top shape. I would appreciate if you would call or email me to let me know which room you stayed in. Our sprinkler system is inspected every 6 months and if something does not appear right it should be corrected immediately. As far as the tubs are concerned, we have refinished them recently. It is not paint, but epoxy. We hired a professional to do this and if there was over spray, I would appreciate knowing which room it is so that we can contact him to come back and correct it. It is also very important for us to know which air conditioner is not working properly in order to correct it. It may have been something as simple as making sure the vent was closed, as that would make the AC more efficient. However, if it needs to be replaced, we would like to take care of it before the hot weather hits.I apologize for the cobwebs. Our housekeepers usually do a superb job. We will be sure to inspect more closely when we do our room inspections.
Again, thank you for your time and please, if you wouldn't mind, contact me with the room number .
Sincerely,
Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
401 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed 6/15. Bottom Line: Spectacular harbor views, decent room, good value, good restaurant nearby.

We stumbled onto Captain Fish's Inn after checking prices at a nearby hotel with rooms over $200. We could have gotten a standard room in this multi-building complex a bit cheaper, but for a few dollars more upgraded to a $140/night corner room on the second floor overlooking the harbor. Wow.. What a view especially at sunset.

The hotel is not impressive from the street but we found check in to be friendly with good advice on available rooms. Parking is plentiful. Since we were on the second floor, we had to drag our suitcases up exterior wooden stairs to reach our room. There was a walkway that wrapped around the exterior of the building with chairs to sit and enjoy the views. The experience was picture post card perfect.

The room was large but sparsely furnished. Hard to figure out where to "park" our stuff. It had a small fridge and small old style TV with plenty of channels. The king size bed had clean sheets and was comfortable. The bathroom was quite small but everything worked well. WiFi worked well. It was a downer when we discovered a bunch of mosquitos in the room. Saving the experience was the spectacular harbor view from our room's windows.

Don't expect a gourmet breakfast at the hotel, in fact we did not even go to their early morning coffee and fruit event. However, there is a restaurant a block from the hotel that serves great seafood dinners.

We thought the hotel was a great stop and may drop in again on our return trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
capn_fishs_hotel, Manager at Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Jerry C, Thank you for your review of our property. I see by the number of reviews you have made that you are a well seasoned traveler. I appreciate that you took the time to write your review and I am grateful that you chose our property to stay at. I apologize for the mosquitoes. That is a very unusual occurrence, since there is usually a breeze near the water, especially on the second floor. Also, we do have a breakfast restaurant on the property which serves a hot breakfast if the continental breakfast does not suit you. Perhaps it was not open when you were here, but I would recommend trying it if you do return. We serve everything from pancakes to lobster omlettes.
Please do give us another try on your return trip. We would love to get to know you as one of our regular guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
1.1 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rocktide Inn
Rocktide Inn
#9 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Boothbay Harbor Inn
#7 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn

Property: Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Address: 65 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2131
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn offers comfortable, clean accommodations at a very reasonable price. Many rooms have a water view. All rooms are air conditioned and offer free wi-fi, Flat screen cable tv, in room coffee makers, Refrigerators hairdryers, irons/ironing boards. The lobby offers complimentary coffee all day and a continental breakfast from 7-10:30 daily. Our on site Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in season. Hotel guests receive discounts on Caap'n Fish's Whale Watch, Puffin Watch and Sightseeing Cruises. The view is spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap`n Fish`s Waterfront Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing