We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above Average and Pleasant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Above Average and Pleasant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

We've stayed at many places in Boothbay over the years, and this was our first experience at the Capn's. Overall, it was comfortable, clean and mostly quiet. We slept well. Unfortunately, we were given a room next to a wooden staircase and could hear folks as they used them. The view is mostly good but you have to look across the parking lot. The "continental" breakfast was rather weak, consisting of doughnuts and two cold cereals. We like some protein for breakfast. There is however, a tasty and reasonably priced little grill on the property that serves breakfast and lunch that we would recommend.
It's not fancy and therefore would recommend it with reservations

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawkster2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    113
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
76
131
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Runnemede, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2010

It is a great place to stay everybody is nice and friendly. I've been going to cap'n fish for years and we really miss Bob Fish A real nice guy and captain. Every time I go up to stay at the inn and go on the boat I can still hear him saying it is a good day for a boat ride. I cannot wait until July of 2011 to go back up their. Nice and relaxing vacation. See you soon.......

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Monsterstriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

Found this by chance and it turned out to be ideal and very reasonable price. A lovely stroll across the the footbridge takes you into the 'hub' of Boothbay, which is very nice but this is the best side to be for peace and views. All the staff very friendly(in fact everyone we met were great).We were only going to stay for four nights but didn't want to leave and stayed for another three. Could sit on the balcony looking at the harbour view all day. For eats can't fault Lobster Dock or McSeagulls.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MOWGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2010

My husband and I love to stay at Cap'n Fish Waterfront Inn. We come up every year. Sometimes twice a year. The price is fair and the people are the greatest. I call it my second home. I love everyone that works in Cap'n Fish. They always do their best to make sure your comfortable. It's the friendliest place in Boothbay Harbor.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lingeo29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2010

I thoroughly enjoyed my visit to Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn. The rooms were comfortable and clean. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. There was plenty of common space in which to sit and relax and enjoy the beautiful sunsets. The inn was on the quiet side of the harbor which helped to ensure a peaceful stay and afforded a magnificent view of the shops and eateries across the harbor. Access to the shops was easy...either a short walk on a footbridge across the harbor or a hop on the free trolley which takes you all around town. There was a continental breakfast offered but for the heartier appetite there was a restaurant with friendly staff and the same great view right on premises serving breakfast and lunch. The innkeepers also own a tour boat company offering many trips such as whale watches and puffin cruises. Hotel guests can sign up at the front desk and enjoy a discounted fee. I loved my stay in Boothbay Harbor and my time at Cap'n Fish's!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beth33067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nh
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

We just returned from our 3rd stay this summer at Cap'n Fish's.........we're lucky to be only 2 1/2 hours away and try to go once a month from May to October. Years ago we always stayed at Boothbay Harbor Inn once a year, but several years ago there was "no room at the Inn" for us, (they accommodate large bus tours), so we tried Cap'n Fish's just a little bit further up the avenue. LUCKY FOR US !!!! We found a gem by accident, and it is the only place we ever stay in Boothbay Harbor now. It's a beautiful spot, right on the Harbor. The staff is all so friendly and helpful and Steve, (the maintenance manager) is great also. The cleaning staff is excellent....the rooms are always spotless. Every year they have made improvements....new carpeting, new table and chairs this Spring, new tv in our room this time. They offer coffee in the lobby and also a coffeemaker in your room and a simple continental breakfast is included every day (donuts, cereal, milk and juices). The sunsets over the town are beautiful from the Inn. The location is GREAT......you can park your car when you arrive and never have to drive to get to town. A nice walk by a lovely footbridge will get you into town within 5 to 10 minutes. Alot of lovely shops, nice restaurants..... Mc Seagulls is our favorite, (nice food, great drinks). There are also 2 Wharf-type restaurants on either side of Cap'n Fish's where you can sit outside and enjoy the scenery......lobster boats, yachts and everything in between. Cap'n Fish's also offers many, many types of boat tours from Whale Watches, seal watches, puffin nature cruises to Kennebec River tours. We've done them all and they are all wonderful AND if you stay at Cap'n Fish's they offer their guests a discount when you take a tour on one of their boats. It's a GREAT place to be. ENJOY !

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank easyriderNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Mass.
Level Contributor
82 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2010

We got an oceanfront efficiency--it was extremely roomy! Had a great, spacious, porch! Room was nothing fancy, but completely CLEAN. We all (family of 4) slept well. The people who work here, especially Sheila, were extremely friendly & helpful. Plenty of parking, & an easy walk to anything in Boothbay Harbor. We walked twice or 3x/day over the footbridge to the busy section of the town for shopping, kayaking, boat trips, restaurants, etc. You can't beat the price or the view!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelerCentralMass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
1.1 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rocktide Inn
Rocktide Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Boothbay Harbor Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn

Property: Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Address: 65 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2131
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#9 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn offers comfortable, clean accommodations at a very reasonable price. Many rooms have a water view. All rooms are air conditioned and offer free wi-fi, Flat screen cable tv, in room coffee makers, Refrigerators hairdryers, irons/ironing boards. The lobby offers complimentary coffee all day and a continental breakfast from 7-10:30 daily. Our on site Cafe serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in season. Hotel guests receive discounts on Caap'n Fish's Whale Watch, Puffin Watch and Sightseeing Cruises. The view is spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HRS so you can book your Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap`n Fish`s Waterfront Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing