We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Upscale Shore Dining Experience”
Review of Coastal Prime

Coastal Prime
Price range: US$9 - US$49
Description: Coastal Prime is Boothbay Harbor's newest restaurant offering locally sourced fresh seafood daily prepared with the finest of ingredients. Coastal Prime's restaurant and bar is the picture-perfect blend of sea and sun from all vantage points, with our indoor and outdoor dining spaces offering the best views in the harbor. Join us for skillfully composed meals that are aimed to please.
Restaurant details
Description: Coastal Prime is Boothbay Harbor's newest restaurant offering locally sourced fresh seafood daily prepared with the finest of ingredients. Coastal Prime's restaurant and bar is the picture-perfect blend of sea and sun from all vantage points, with our indoor and outdoor dining spaces offering the best views in the harbor. Join us for skillfully composed meals that are aimed to please.
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

I cannot say enough about our special evening. I had casually mentioned it was our anniversary while making the reservation the day before. I honestly did not even think the hostess heard me. However, upon arrival and being seated at a prime table with an exceptional view, the hostess wished us "Happy Anniversary", and it didn't stop there. Every staff member from server to bus boy to manager made sure to greet us on our special night. The food was spectacular. Menu choices include something for everyone. Our entrees included halibut and a tenderloin filet with a side of lobster mac and cheese that could feed a family. I think that mac and cheese contained the tail and claw meat of an entire lobster. Dessert arrived with a champagne toast and both the dessert and bubbly were comped by the manger. Even without the special attention the experience would have been outstanding. Looking forward to next year.

Thank laurieb249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBHOGR, Manager at Coastal Prime, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

We are so honored you came to celebrate your special occasion with us here at Coastal Prime and we are thrilled that you had a wonderful night. See you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

39 - 43 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

This oceanfront gem is a supreme place to dine. With elegant gas lamps and fire pits outside and super soft blankets available, every detail has been considered for ultimate oceanside comfort. The wedge salad is delicious and generously portioned, the wings have become a new craving and the bourbon bread pudding will have you coming back for days. Love this spot and the service was excellent.

Thank Hilary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBHOGR, Manager at Coastal Prime, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Thank you for coming to Coastal Prime. We are so glad you had a superb experience here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

Sunday evening at the bar for late dinner, bar menu & regular menu available. Poke Hawaiian Tuna was excellent, as was the coffe & kahlua. The carder salad was average size & tasty; 2 white anchovies were $3.00 & were not in addition to the standard anchovies. Tuesday evening is margarita night and during happy hour on the deck was the only drink at a special. The crab cakes were mediocre and pricey. Had a mimosa that was also mediocre. After 1st experience was very disappointed with 2nd.

Thank Jezcat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBHOGR, Manager at Coastal Prime, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

As a management team, consistency is always one of our highest goals. We wish your second night had been even better than your first. We appreciate this feedback as it helps us improve. We will continue to strive to make each repeat experience even better than the last for all of our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017

Our family rented their beautiful 37' Hinckley Picnic Boat twice recently and we had the best days of the season aboard this boat. The crew was knowledgeable about the area and served drinks and snacks and the trips could not have been any better. We later dined at Coastal Prime and the food was excellent and I rarely give any restaurant this rating. My wife and I have been back twice since and will continue as this is our new favorite number one in Boothbay Harbor.
Ron S J

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RonEB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBHOGR, Manager at Coastal Prime, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Dear Ron,
Thank you for this glowing review! We are thrilled you have enjoyed both our special yacht charters and Coastal Prime, as well. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

Went here not realizing the Vodka King of Boothbay had bought the place... loved it as the Rocktide. I'm veg and I've ALWAYS had alternatives here. Only thing I COULD order was a $25 DEEP FRIED EGG on a handful of asparagus tips. OMG what a ripoff. No thanks. Never coming back. Waitstaff was pleasant enough and the view is lovely but... no.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank IreneS1522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManagerBHOGR, Manager at Coastal Prime, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2017

Hi Irene,
Thank you for your feedback about our menu. We are always appreciative of information that helps us improve. We do have a vegetarian special on our menu daily but we are working to expand our offerings to accommodate vegetarian, vegan, gluten-free, and other diets. We do hope you will come try us again next season.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coastal Prime also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Coastal Prime? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing