We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay, but spoiled by smokers”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Flagship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Flagship Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Great stay, but spoiled by smokers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had a very comfortable stay here, but unfortunately spoiled by smokers. Yes, we did have a non-smoking room on the Southern upstairs wing, but our neighbours ignored the no smoking signs and, with their friends sat around the balcony outside our room smoking their heads off! Unfortunately, that's where the room air con intakes are. And, well, you can work out the rest.

Otherwise, the beds and pillows were great, room was clean with excellent amenities. Strong, hot water flows from the shower.

Each morning breakfast is served in a barn-like building at the back of the property. Very substantial breakfast too, with good choices of cereal, breads etc. We also had a great night next door at the Carousel Music Theatre - a lot of fun.

We were unlucky that we had such inconsiderate neighbours, otherwise it would have given this hotel a 5 out of 5.

Room Tip: If you are a smoker, please be considerate and understanding of reformed smokers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L&M_from_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    181
    54
    8
    4
See reviews for
172
188
30
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
greenfield
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Have stayed at the Flagship for many years. Always good....with friendly and helpful staff, close to town,(trolley service at the door) and well cared for, attractive property. Always a good stay! Oh! If you're lucky enough to see and meet her, the owner's dog is a quiet joy!

Room Tip: Quieter on second floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreenfieldVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We visited Boothbay area for a winter R&R. Flagship Inn offered us a clean room, comfortable bed, and cordial staff. A continental breakfast included yogurts, juices, clementines, toast, bagels, cold cereal, instant oatmeal, and more. Of course, coffee and tea. This is not a luxury resort, but was just right for us during our three night stay (third night was free!). Although the room was pretty cold when we arrived, it heated up quickly and maintained a comfortable temperature, even while it was frigid outside. We appreciated the mini frig, microwave, and coffee maker. We enjoyed the comfortable upholstered chair, flat screen TV, and a desk.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

This hotel was a comfortable, clean, quiet place to stay at a reasonable price. We were there in the off season, so it wasn't real busy in general in that area, but it was just minutes from the quaint shopping and eating of the actual harbor, with a Hannafords grocery store within walking distance. Also within walking distance was a small shopping plaza with movie theater, gas station, other places to eat.
We enjoyed the complimentary breakfast and though the choices were not extremely varied, there was fruit, yogurt, several juices, great coffee, cereals, toast, bagels, muffins, trail mix, boiled eggs, and my favorite, piping hot sausage gravy with yummy biscuits! A co-worker of my husband's said he and his wife stayed there for part of their honeymoon-47 years ago!
In the four days we were in the area we went to Portland, Bath, Freeport, and other smaller delightful towns.
Super nice people, when my husband made reservations they added a nice complimentary bottle of wine and some chocolates, I guess to seal they deal. I appreciated how they respected our privacy when we put up a "do not disturb" sign. We did have a coffee maker with supplies, microwave and fridge in our room. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walingford CT
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We spent 3 nights here and were very happy with the cleanliness of the room and bathroom. The continental breakfast was good, but the same every day. Restaurant across the parking lot was handy and decent. Plus: fridge in room. Minus: no coffee/tea making facilities in room, no microwave in room, and poor water pressure in shower.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KBK951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
599 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

If what you are looking for is a simple clean and affordable room near Booths Bay then Flagship Inn may fit the bill.

Even in off season rates are at least double at many of the places less than a mile or so away.

This is a decent property with friendly staff and staying here will save you money to pay for your lobster meal on the water in Booth's Bay.

Room was comfortable and clean with good Wi-Fi. Rooms on backside of property maybe a little more quiet as property is just off main street.

Interestingly, my room did not have the normal safety chain on the door that most hotels offer. I found this odd but did not necessarily feel unsafe.

There is a gas station and convenience store across from Flagship Inn and you can almost walk into town which is about a mile away.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMBTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Great value, very clean, very comfortable, block out curtains & close to Harbor.
Friendly reception.
Restaurant on site if you want to use it (we ambled downtown - a delightful place to explore)
The only draw back for us was no coffee making facility in the room.

Room Tip: Rooms are set back from the road so traffic noise not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
1.0 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
2.2 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flagship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flagship Inn

Property: Flagship Inn
Address: 200 Townsend Ave, Route 27, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1838
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#2 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flagship Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the finest choice in Boothbay Harbor Maine accommodations. The Flagship Inn invites you to relax in some of the Boothbay Harbor Region's most comfortable and reasonable accommodations, all guaranteed by AAA and Mobil guide ratings. "Best Value" is how our guests describe us! We are locally owned and operated which allows us to offer the exceptional service of a small inn but the modern amenities of a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Flagship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagship Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Flagship Boothbay Harbor
Flagship Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing