We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Questionable accommodations”
Review of Flagship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Flagship Inn
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Boston, MA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Questionable accommodations”
Reviewed 9 July 2009

The flagship inn touts itself as a AAA travel destination but one thing they forget to mention is they will not provide a AAA discount. Now I can afford the extra $ but when I asked about the discount the manager on duty treated me like a leper and was incredibly rude.
I look at the other reviews here and wonder how they had such a good experience at such a mediocre place. I'm used to staying in all sorts of hotels and this one is closer to a motel than a hotel. No convenient places to get a drinks. The TV's are laughable and the accommodations sparse. To get a drink I could jump the fence to the pool get to the machine or go across the street to a gas station.

For a $109 I could have stayed at a more homey place closer to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank elegault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbarter, General Manager at Flagship Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2009
We are terribly sorry that this traveler had an unhappy experience. We pride ourselves on our well appointed rooms, and friendly staff.

We are AAA rated, however, to keep our everyday rates as low as we can, we have chosen not to discount the already low rates.

As you can see from our many other wonderful reviews, our guests have found our rates reasonable, and our hotel very likeable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    204
    57
    8
    4
See reviews for
195
206
32
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2009

All I can say is that Trip Advisor is unbeatable for unbiased reviews of hotel and motel properties. I selected the Flagship Inn from among a dozen or more properties in the area based in large part on the reviews that I found in Trip Advisor. We paid $99/nite June 21 - 22, 2009 and felt that we got a very good value for the price compared to the numerous other properties that I had contacted. The property is located along the main route into the harbor and is just a few short minutes drive from the downtown area. The property appeared reasonably new and well maintained. Our upstairs room was large, VERY neat, VERY clean, well maintained, and the decor was very pleasant and tastefully done. The furnishings and furniture were of quality materials in excellent condition and appeared fairly new, as did the carpet. The room and the linens smelled fresh and looked new. The bathroom was very good size for two people and was well stocked with supplies and clean fresh (fluffy) towels. Little amenities like a microwave, a large dorm fridge, hair dryer, and clothes iron clearly shows that the management pays attention to the little details. I'd expect all of that from the major hotel chains, but to find it in Boothbay Harbor for $99/nite was a very pleasant surprise. Vehicle parking is well off the street and is more than ample. The staff was friendly and very accommodating even when we had to change our original reservations due to a number of last-minute travel schedule conflicts. We stayed there two nights and both nights were quiet. The only "surprise" we had during our entire stay there was when we first walked into our room and saw how pleasant and welcoming the room was. It was one of those "Wow" moments. To be honest, we're very particular about our hotel and motel accomodations. Probably more particular than most people. But we found no fault with anything and we'd stay at the Flagship again without any hesitation. Although there is no shortage of accommodations in the area, you can certainly pay a lot more for a whole lot less someplace else. If you're looking for quality accommodations at a fair price, I highly recommend the Flagship Inn. BTW, while we were in Boothbay Harbor, we ate dinner both nights at the Lobster Dock based on a recommendation from the Flagship Inn staff. The Lobster Dock is very casual and unpretentious, but we had some of the best seafood and service there that we've had anywhere for a very reasonable price. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYroadside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2009

This is your standard hotel/motel. The rate and room was what you would expect for a standard hotel. Our room was clean. The location is just outside town but across the street from a grocery store which we found convenient. The staff was pleasant and the big black lab in the lobby was friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixystyx7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howland, ME
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Flagship Inn offered an enjoyable away from home experience. Room was nice, comfortable and clean and the staff made me feel welcome. I would stay again if in the area..

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClassyLassie25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, MA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 April 2009

Due to a mixup in our lodging arrangements, my partner and I found ourselves looking for a place to stay in the Boothbay area at 2 in the morning. A woman greeted us at the door in 1 minute, and had us and our 2 dogs in a room in 5 minutes. The room was clean, with good heat, nice bathroom, and available coffee in the morning. We met one of the owners who was quite personable and very interested in making sure our stay was everything we wanted. He was indeed as friendly as his LARGE laborador was, and that is saying a lot!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pianomanarlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
City, State Long Island,NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

The Flagship Inn is such a nice place and the front desk staff are so helpful. For a few years we stayed somewhere else, and because we booked early we got a "better rate," until one morning my husband was in the office, someone came in, and got the same rate we had paid, so we were getting no "early booking rate"at all. It soured us on that property, so we went to the Flagship Inn and have been going there now for years. We have took friends, sent neighbors there, and it was great.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emmasgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erie, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 March 2009

This Hotel was a pleasure to stay in. Every request I made was handled with fast and friendly people, willing to do anything to make my stay a great one. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businessman10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
0.9 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
454 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
281 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
368 reviews
2.1 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
364 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brown's Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flagship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flagship Inn

Property: Flagship Inn
Address: 200 Townsend Ave, Route 27, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1838
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#2 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#6 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Flagship Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the finest choice in Boothbay Harbor Maine accommodations. The Flagship Inn invites you to relax in some of the Boothbay Harbor Region's most comfortable and reasonable accommodations, all guaranteed by AAA and Mobil guide ratings. "Best Value" is how our guests describe us! We are locally owned and operated which allows us to offer the exceptional service of a small inn but the modern amenities of a chain hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Flagship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flagship Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Flagship Boothbay Harbor
Flagship Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing