We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome experience!”

Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch
Ranked #2 of 15 Tours in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cap'n Fish's offers daily cruises to whale feeding grounds.expert narration,full galley, temp controlled and fast modern ships. In addition to Whale Watching, we offer many other sightseeing cruises, including our PUFFIN WATCH cruises (narrated by the National Audubon), our Kennebec River Cruises,lobster trap hauling cruises, lighthouses, seals, harbor cruises. A FEW REASONS TO CHOOSE US FOR THE FINEST WHALE WATCHING EXPERIENCE: Cap'n Fish's in the ORIGINAL Whale Watch in the Mid Coast Maine region, and have the most knowledge of whale feeding grounds, whale movement during different times of the season, and where to go for the BEST Whale Watch Experience In Maine. Founded over 80 Years Ago, we have been whale watching far longer than anyone on the midcoast. VESSEL SPEED: Cap'n Fish's has the fastest vessels in the region which provides more time to visit the whales at the feeding grounds. PASSENGER COMFORT: We have the largest and most comfortable Main Salon in the region with individual padded seats. You can relax with food and a drink in our temperature controlled main salon, which also features a 360 degree view of the outside. Our upper deck which features individual cushioned seats, and the best, and largest, top deck in the region for whale watching. CAPTAINS & CREW: Cap'n Fish's onboard marine biologists and naturalists have a vast knowledge of the marine life found on the gulf of Maine, and provide expert narration. If no whales are seen the day you go, you will be issued a standby pass good for not only another whale watch, but it may also be used on any of our other sightseeing cruises such as 3 hour Kennebec River Cruise, National Audubon Puffin Nature Cruise, Capt'n Combo and many more. So, if no whales are seen your options are many here not just to on another whale watch, it's your choice!
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The whale watch was so much fun! We did end up seeing 3 whales, which was great. We had a great time standing on the front of the boat and enjoying the scenery.

Thank smahan6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainewhales, Public Relations Manager at Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

hello samahan6,thank you for joining us at capn fishs whale watch,and thank you for taking time to write this nice review of us,its customers like you that make our day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (782)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

723 - 727 of 782 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2011

While staying in Boothbay my friend and I decided we wanted to take a tour of some light houses. We took a tour that was around 3 hours. We got to see some beautiful light houses and some great nature! The day was perfect for a boat ride, plenty of sun, a cool breeze and calm water! The Captain and crew were very friendly and gave lots of information as we went! I cant wait to come back to take some more tours!

1  Thank edw165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This is was our second time on the Cap’n Fishes whale watch, as we had gotten rain checks since we did not see any whales on our first trip. If you have these rain checks, they make you wait on the dock until 10 minutes before the boat leaves incase it is sold out. We were lucky and were able to get on the boat. We did see a whale on this trip out in one of their common feeding grounds. We only saw the tail as it went underwater, the boat waited for the whale to come back up for about 10 minutes and then we were told that we had to head back. We did see harbor porpoises and a few seals, which was a bonus. I would take this trip for what it is, a nice boat ride, but not a thrilling whale adventure. We said the tail of the whale dip underwater and that was it, pretty uneventful. I think part of the problem is that it takes so long to get to their known feeding grounds, you don’t have a lot of time to stay there to see the whales, even though the boat captain and the narrator say you can see whales at any point during the trip. I am in no way faulting the tour company for the lack of whale sightings, as they are wild animals, just don’t expect to see whales left and right!

2  Thank NLOhiotrvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We enjoyed our trip and did see a single Finback and a few Minke whales. Also saw seals in the water and on the rocks. The naturalist was very good at pointing out the whales and explaining the timing of the dives. For whale watching in Boothbay, I was happy. Our boat seemed to be the first one to see the Finback, so kudos to the captain. Bought tickets online and got a discount. Small children are free, which was also great.

It was a little rough on the seas and our 4 year old got seasick, though she was the only one on the boat to get sick. Boat had blankets to use and it was quite chilly! We were on the top deck, but it seemed the best place to sit was the bow on the lower deck. We didn't go there because that area also rocks and bobs the most. The indoor cabin I'd only recommend for those with very strong stomachs!

On the top deck, my comments to the operator are that it was a bit frustrating that the front of the boat was roped off. I understand the captain needs to see, but whenever a whale was spotted, the boat would immediately be turned toward the whale, so that often when the whale came up again, it was in front of the boat and not easily visible to the passengers on the 2nd deck. We had to move around a lot to see the whales and I could see where if it were really crowded, it would be very hard to do that. It was not really possible to see the whales without standing and crowding around the chains at the bow.

1  Thank zorkon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We went on the Kennebunk/Bath river cruise. I wasn't too sure since I get extreme motion sickness and it was a gray weather day. The lady who sold the ticket was extremely pleasant and talked over which trip would be good for me, since I wanted to see some wildlife. We had a wonderful captain, sorry I don't remember his name. He was thorough in pointing out the sights we expected to see, but went above and beyond showing things we would probably not have spotted on our own...like the deer swimming or the bald eagles. He was so enthusiastic, wanting all to share in the experience. Thank you, Cap'n Fish's for making this unforgettable.

Thank MaryH690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mainewhales, Public Relations Manager at Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2011

hello and thank you for this great review of capn fishs.great sightings on all our cruises,glad our vessel provided the smooth ride you wanted and fulfilled your expectations.thank you for supporting capn fishs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Cap'n Fish's Whale Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing