We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“House, lake & area are all slices of heaven”
Welcome to Sunny Woods House. Bright and cheery. Private.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Sunny Woods House. Bright and cheery. Private.
Deck and patio added on off of the Sun and Media Room shown below. Maine sculpture is on view.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
Welcome to Sunny Woods House. Bright and cheery. Private.
Deck and patio added on off of the Sun and Media Room shown below.
Maine sculpture is on view.
Flowering trees and perennials are in the gardens. Great lawn for games and dogs.
Kayak and swim in West Harbor Pond from your private dock.
Contemporary living room viewed from the open kitchen.
Dining room has pass through to open kitchen. Huge windows on 3 sides with garden views.
Modern kitchen fully stocked. A dish washer!
Sun Room by day. Media room by night. Queen hide a bed and a futon make it i third bedroom.
Master bedroom has a queen bed and its own full bathroom.
Master bathroom with a shower.
A dedicated office for keeping in touch or full-time working remotely.
Second full bathroom in hallway for 2nd bedroom and Media Room if used as a 3rd bedroom.
Hallway shows master on right and 2nd bedroom, office and Sun/Media Room on left.
Red Fox in winter.
Prop Fish in winter.
Wind orchid in winter.
Being Whole in winter.
Now our guests can get in.
How many cars are they bringing? This is a big driveway.
Susan is 5 foot five. Quite the snowbank.
Ice formations on the lake. Good cross country skiing and snowshoeing.
Frozen waterfalls. Great skating.
Visiting the ice fishing huts.
Let's play hockey with a frozen fish?
Okay. I am Canadian...
Owners Susan Morris and Chip Newell in the summer.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
davidw138...
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“House, lake & area are all slices of heaven”
Reviewed 21 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

I have stayed at Sunny Woods House several times and can’t say enough good things about the house & location. It was the owners’ residence before they started renting it and is as fully equipped & maintained as you’d expect a top-notch home to be, and the fresh water lake (West Harbor Pond) is a slice of paradise. There are two short & easy routes into Boothbay Harbor itself: on one, past the turn towards the amazing botanical gardens, you go via the farmers’ market & past the YMCA, Hannaford’s (groc), Rite Aid, the movie theatre, etc. The other takes you to the heart of the town’s shops & restaurants. The owner Susan is extremely hands-on. With a call or text, she will quickly help with any questions or resources you might have or need.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2017
Thank you so much and we hope to see you again. It is beautiful all four seasons of the year. :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roam57500...
1 review
“Great pet-friendly location”
Reviewed 30 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

I booked a quick, last-minute stay at this property in early October. Directions provided were easy to follow and the property was just as beautiful in person as it was online. It was quiet and serene, yet close to town, restaurants, and shops. Best of all, the property is pet friendly and my two pups had a blast playing in the yard and walking down to the water. The owners were very helpful and responsive. I only wish I could have stayed longer! I would definitely consider a return visit to this property.

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frandan57
Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great place to relax and explore the mid-coast Maine region.”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed here for 2 weeks in late August/early September and loved it! The owners are great hosts and have truly thought of everything to make for a comfortable relaxing vacation. We had our dog with us and it was so nice to be able to walk her on the property without encountering cars, pedestrians, etc. It only takes a few minutes to get to all the shopping, restaurants, activities in Boothbay Harbor, but Sunny Woods House give you the privacy to relax in a beautiful natural setting without constant tourist traffic outside your door. We would definitely recommend it for anyone wanting to visit the area.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flutterby...
Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Secluded yet convenient ”
Reviewed 3 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had reviewed many Maine homes advertised as "pet friendly." Understandably, not all vacation home owners r anxious to welcome lil' furry ones.

Despite frequent claims of being "pet friendly," Sunny Woods is one of the very few homes which would welcome our old kitty. Despite her "95+" human yrs. she still feels most comfortable w/those who have cared for her 20+ yrs.

Set in a lovely private area of Maine Sunny Woods offers a brighter and much newer look than many of the traditional rental Maine cottages which could definitely benefit from extensive updating.

A bit of a stroll down the road in front of the cottage leads you to a beautiful private lake setting. The owners kindly offered their kayaks & canoes for their guests' enjoyment.

With no more than a 10 min. drive on a picturesque winding country road, you reach Boothbay Harbor w/its many restaurants, shopping, local tours, etc.

Sunny Woods House does indeed offer its guests quiet relaxation combined w/quick access to a popular tourist town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015 for a stay in October 2014

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DorvalDog
Dorval, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy and welcoming!”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We rented Lakeside Cottage for a week's holiday. It was a perfect location, with a beautiful lake at the front door, and the ocean behind us. Easy drive to town and in fact to all other locations for nice day trips. Cottage is equipped with everything you can think of for cooking and eating in - plus WiFi service and cable television. Access to forest trails just down the road from the cottage. Beautifully quiet location, clean and comfortable cottage and pet-friendly - a criteria for us and our big dog! Lots of little islands and coves to discover and explore.

Lots of great restaurants in Boothbay Harbor, East Boothbay, and in surrounding villages. Wide range of boat trips (e.g. whale watching, puffin watching). Friendly people, lovely stores, fresh seafood!

Susan went out of her way to welcome us before and during our visit, and checked in to see if we needed anything. She was also full of great ideas for things to do whatever the weather, and she is a warm and gracious host. We would recommend this rental to anyone, and hope to go back next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fully equipped cottage just a 3-minute drive from the village of Boothbay Harbor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodstock, Connecticut
Reviewed 2 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing