We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow what a view!”
Review of Topside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Topside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Warm greeting, a stunning view, comfy bed and well appointed room with enough outlets to charge everything and a fabulous breakfast to boot. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat. And if the marvelous room can't contain you, consider one of the many other places, both inside and out, to sit with a glass of wine or a cup of coffee.

Room Tip: Room 14 had an endless view
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank millede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,058)
There are newer reviews for Topside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 1,058 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

This was our first time back in 5 years and it was just as good as we remembered, with some smart upgrades. Room #14 is still the best: corner top level room with perfect views of the harbor. The room felt fresher, and we loved the addition of the charging station/shelf - every hotel room should have this!

The main house mini renovation is also smart, with the main desk office at the back so people can walk directly to it from the parking lot. They also renovated some of the kitchen and dining area, and there is now an outdoor deck with a few pub tables and chairs.

The hospitality is still great; Brian is very welcoming and friendly. And breakfast is top notch, no need to go in to town when you have have a great meal here: great coffee, granola, fresh fruit, and yummy hot meals (sweet potato waffles with sausage? Yes please).

They also have wifi now, didn't work in our room but worked very well in the main house. I was actually fine with it not working in our room, made me disconnect for a bit and just enjoy the view.

Room Tip: Room #14 has the best view. Top floor, corner room/at the end of the second level closest to the ha...
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The excellent reviews are spot on. We stayed for two nights in Room 8 and loved it. Quiet, private and spacious. Breakfasts and service were wonderful. While the inn is located within walking distance to the water, the walk back up the hill was too steep for us oldsters. Thanks Brian and Ed - we loved it.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank doloresandjeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

This was our second stay and everything was just as good as the first time. We arrived by motorcycle and as we were parking, Ed, one of the owners, came out to give us kickstand plates because they have a gravel parking lot. So thoughtful!

Ed and Brian have thought of everything to make your stay perfect. Stemware to enjoy a glass of wine on the porch overlooking the bay, books and umbrellas for a rainy day, and a wonderful breakfast every morning. This time was fresh fruit, homemade granola and scones and scrambled eggs on a herb biscuit with roasted red pepper hollandaise sauce.

Our weekend stay absolutely perfect! We will definitely go back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmmjreil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Yet another outstanding stay at Topside Inn ! Brian and Ed manage this place so well and are the perfect hosts. The rooms are immaculate, service outstanding and the breakfasts delicious. We love the new look reception area - improves an already perfect experience ! Counting the days until we go back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentishTourists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

...that's what my husband said as he was picking up a coffee mug from the warming tray on the coffee bar. And warm coffee mugs are just the beginning. When we needed paper and pencil to score our game of Gin, there they were, right where you would hope they would be. Black washcloths embroidered with the word "Makeup" so female guests don't soil the white towels. A basket of blankets and bug spray by the rockers on the wraparound porch. The best homemade toasted granola I've ever eaten...sweet potato waffles...scrambled eggs beautifully plated to please even the most persnickety foodie...and don't get me started on the warm, perfectly soft cookies Ed makes every afternoon. No, there's nothing missing from Topside Inn. Nothing at all. Most noticably, the picture-perfect view over the harbor from every nook and cranny of the main house. Our bed was crazy comfortable (room #3), and the bathroom was enormous. We've enjoyed two unforgettable stays at Topside and look forward to many, many more!! They think of everything before you even know you need it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelHound_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Brian and Ed are the most wonderful hosts of the most wonderful Inn, with the most wonderful location in all of Boothbay Harbor! The rooms are beautiful and so well maintained and clean. The views from all around the Inn are unparalleled given that it sits at arguably the highest elevation in town. Ed cooks a mean breakfast and Brian's attention to service, detail & design are outstanding. Our teenaged daughters loved the afternoon cookies! We will definitely be making the 6 hour trek back to the Topside Inn sometime in the near future!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AJandJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
459 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
505 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
686 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
920 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#7 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topside Inn

Address: 60 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £115 - £204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the top of the hill and enjoy our incredible views of Boothbay Harbor, Maine at Topside Inn! At our Bed and Breakfast set in a beautiful 19th-century sea captain's home and two summer guesthouses you'll find a warm welcome, comfort and style with modern amenities, fabulous breakfasts, and easy access to shopping, restaurants, boat excursions, botanical gardens, hiking trails and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topside Inn b&b
Topside Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Topside Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing