We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great choice!”
Review of Topside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Topside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I am not a b&b fan envisioning someone's Grandmother's house turned inn so when I saw Topside offered crisp white sheets my decision was made and this attention to style and detail was mirrored throughout the property. Our room (25 with a balcony) was very comfortable, the bathroom had all amenities and was beyond clean. Breakfast was delicious - creative and healthy. Freshly baked cookies, coffee, and snacks, wine buckets and yes - corkscrews - were always out in the common area. Owners Brian and Ed were great and their un intrusive style made one feel quite at home. View was awesome and 2-3 min walk into the village.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 1,100 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Topside Inn, a great location in this small village. Everything was great from the tastefully decorated rooms to the hearty breakfasts to the personal assistance with places to eat "Lobstah" and things to do..oh, the afternoon cookies were great, too! There were lots of places to relax around the property including our balcony, the lawn, the porch, and living room/library. We explored the area by car, took a boat ride and even played golf at the challenging Boothbay Harbor course. Thanks to Brian and Ed for making our stay memorable!

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner 2nd floor unit in the smaller Eastward building. It is further away from the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diane e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We just returned from a 3 day trip to the Topside Inn and can't wait to go back. The staff, headed by Brian and Ed, were attentive, warm, and authentic. The buildings are situated with beautiful views of Boothbay Harbor and are decorated in a soothing modern, seaside style. Our hosts thought of every detail to make guests comfortable and taken care of: coffee, cookies, snacks throughout the day, dishes and glasses to be used in our rooms, delicious breakfasts. We loved sitting on our balcony with the harbor view in front of us, sipping wine, and then heading the one block to town for dinner. I even offered to work for the inn just so I didn't have to leave. Brian is thinking about it. See you next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish45-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We wanted to come to Maine for the Honeymoon and we enjoy more of the "local" flavor when we travel. Several people recomended we goto Bar Harbor, but a little research stated that it can be "tourist-y". We were thrilled with our stay mid-week at Boothbay. Our hosts were gracious, location was perfect walking distance from town and amazing views. Breakfast was fabulous!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teeteebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I visited the inn in mid-July of this year. The weather and temperature were perfect, thankfully! The emails in advance of our visit were appreciated and so helpful in preparation for our stay! Brian and Ed are an amazing duo as hosts and proprietors extraordinaire of this lovely inn! Talk about attention to detail!!! It is evident everywhere from their gorgeous landscaping to their own home made granola to their amazing knowledge of the area. No stone is left unturned. They already know what you are thinking before you do. You can sense the passion that they both have in running a truly top notch establishment. My wife and I spent some time getting to know Brian and Ed and were delighted to learn how they arrived in Booth Bay to create their magic.

We loved our room and bath. Both were extremely comfortable, efficient and well kept. The view from our room was spectacular by all measure. Seeing the dramatic view of the stars at night was particularly memorable. The view of Booth Bay Harbor was about as mesmerizing as it gets. Just beautiful!!!! We would highly recommend the Topside Inn. We cant wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: e were in one of the smaller rooms and it was sensational.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nedn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night on way to Acadia. Fabulous views from the porches and lawn. Location made for an easy walk to restsurants. Great breakfast as well as nice pantry stocked with snacks, wine glasses and corkscrew. ..everything you need. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

my husband and I stayed at this wonderful Inn for 3 nights Everything was top self. I did not want to leave. It is a little piece of heaven My husband loved it and he rarely says much about places we stay. The room, bed everything was so comfortable. The view is great. It is a 2 minute walk to town. It was so quite and peaceful and the owners and staff were great. I met so many nice people from all over the world and everyone talk about how wonderful the Inn was. I cant wait to go back

Room Tip: I stayed in room # 4 beautiful I would choose that next time however I had a chance to snoop around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirleykairis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
708 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
370 reviews
1.5 mi away
Russell House B&B
Russell House B&B
#4 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Thistle Inn
The Thistle Inn
#14 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
132 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
942 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Ark Inn
Atlantic Ark Inn
#5 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topside Inn

Address: 60 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £110 - £196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With panoramic views overlooking beautiful Boothbay Harbor on a quiet hilltop just steps from the center of town, Topside Inn is a chic coastal retreat designed to meet all of our guest’s needs and surpass their expectations. The original 1850’s sea captain’s home and two guesthouses and have been creatively redesigned for today’s traveler. Each room has unique features inspired by our beautiful surroundings. Choose from rooms with vaulted ceilings, private balconies, most with panoramic water views and more. All stays include our well known locally sourced gourmet breakfasts, on-site parking, wifi, 24-hour guest kitchen and all other amenities. Let Topside Inn be your home base as you explore our region and discover all that midcoast Maine has to offer. Our concierge service is here to help you plan the perfect stay ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topside Inn b&b
Topside Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Topside Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing