We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Details!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Topside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Topside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Details!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Beautifully appointed home with a million dollar view a short walk to the downtown/waterfront! We stayed in one of the outbuildings which perfectly suited what we were looking for...private outdoor sitting space with a water view. The room was very clean and decorated tastefully. We did however, take a peek at Room1 in the main house and both decided we would have enjoyed that room as well! The hosts covered all of the details, from wine glasses and openers, to fleece blankets and bug spray by the outdoor rocking chairs, to cookies, fruit snacks and coffee available at all times. The breakfasts also were delicious and beautifully presented. We would recommend a stay here and would love to come back some day!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kare1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    62
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
112
675
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I am not a b&b fan envisioning someone's Grandmother's house turned inn so when I saw Topside offered crisp white sheets my decision was made and this attention to style and detail was mirrored throughout the property. Our room (25 with a balcony) was very comfortable, the bathroom had all amenities and was beyond clean. Breakfast was delicious - creative and healthy. Freshly baked cookies, coffee, and snacks, wine buckets and yes - corkscrews - were always out in the common area. Owners Brian and Ed were great and their un intrusive style made one feel quite at home. View was awesome and 2-3 min walk into the village.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We recently stayed at the Topside Inn, a great location in this small village. Everything was great from the tastefully decorated rooms to the hearty breakfasts to the personal assistance with places to eat "Lobstah" and things to do..oh, the afternoon cookies were great, too! There were lots of places to relax around the property including our balcony, the lawn, the porch, and living room/library. We explored the area by car, took a boat ride and even played golf at the challenging Boothbay Harbor course. Thanks to Brian and Ed for making our stay memorable!

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner 2nd floor unit in the smaller Eastward building. It is further away from the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diane e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martha's Vineyard, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We just returned from a 3 day trip to the Topside Inn and can't wait to go back. The staff, headed by Brian and Ed, were attentive, warm, and authentic. The buildings are situated with beautiful views of Boothbay Harbor and are decorated in a soothing modern, seaside style. Our hosts thought of every detail to make guests comfortable and taken care of: coffee, cookies, snacks throughout the day, dishes and glasses to be used in our rooms, delicious breakfasts. We loved sitting on our balcony with the harbor view in front of us, sipping wine, and then heading the one block to town for dinner. I even offered to work for the inn just so I didn't have to leave. Brian is thinking about it. See you next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish45-12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gaylord, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

We wanted to come to Maine for the Honeymoon and we enjoy more of the "local" flavor when we travel. Several people recomended we goto Bar Harbor, but a little research stated that it can be "tourist-y". We were thrilled with our stay mid-week at Boothbay. Our hosts were gracious, location was perfect walking distance from town and amazing views. Breakfast was fabulous!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teeteebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Greenwich, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I visited the inn in mid-July of this year. The weather and temperature were perfect, thankfully! The emails in advance of our visit were appreciated and so helpful in preparation for our stay! Brian and Ed are an amazing duo as hosts and proprietors extraordinaire of this lovely inn! Talk about attention to detail!!! It is evident everywhere from their gorgeous landscaping to their own home made granola to their amazing knowledge of the area. No stone is left unturned. They already know what you are thinking before you do. You can sense the passion that they both have in running a truly top notch establishment. My wife and I spent some time getting to know Brian and Ed and were delighted to learn how they arrived in Booth Bay to create their magic.

We loved our room and bath. Both were extremely comfortable, efficient and well kept. The view from our room was spectacular by all measure. Seeing the dramatic view of the stars at night was particularly memorable. The view of Booth Bay Harbor was about as mesmerizing as it gets. Just beautiful!!!! We would highly recommend the Topside Inn. We cant wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: e were in one of the smaller rooms and it was sensational.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nedn2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night on way to Acadia. Fabulous views from the porches and lawn. Location made for an easy walk to restsurants. Great breakfast as well as nice pantry stocked with snacks, wine glasses and corkscrew. ..everything you need. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaRee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topside Inn

Property: Topside Inn
Address: 60 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the top of the hill and enjoy our incredible views of Boothbay Harbor, Maine at Topside Inn! At our Bed and Breakfast set in a beautiful 19th-century sea captain's home and two summer guesthouses you'll find a warm welcome, comfort and style with modern amenities, fabulous breakfasts, and easy access to shopping, restaurants, boat excursions, botanical gardens, hiking trails and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topside Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Topside Inn b&b
Topside Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing