We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great vista,lovely breakfasts and attention to detail,but drafty,small room.”
Review of Topside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Topside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 September 2013

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at the Topside Inn this Sept. We felt pampered with lovely details . The main inn building is a spacious place to relax-a fireplace inside and wraparound deck
Outside.This was fortunate because our room was very small and drafty.The breakfasts were tasty and artistically presented.The innkeepers were efficient and helpful. of course the view was to die for! close to perfect if not for the small drafty room.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10which is part of a group of 8rooms inan adjoining unit down slightly from the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

608 - 614 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2013

We were here the same time and never experienced "grumpy"..... On the contrary Brian was very helpful and breakfast was wonderful. Home made granola, French toast one morning then scrambled eggs to die for!
Read the other reviews about location and how easy to get around.
A great B&B!!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
Thank Skip T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Loved the Inn and The property was beautiful! Our room was very clean and comfortable with a great view of the harbor. Walking distance to town was great too! Only bad thing was grumpy innkeeper...we didn't feel real welcome and never had the breakfast. Sat and waited but never served so we had breakfast both mornings at Harborside which was great and everyone so friendly!!

Room Tip: Ask for water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Spectacular view of the harbor, island right in the room. I think we picked one of the best rooms in the property. The room was very clean and tastefully decorated. We felt very welcomed right from the time we checked in. Brian was gracious in showing us our room and the amenities associated with the inn. He also highlighted some dining options from the guide map. We can not thank him enough for recommending Ports of Italy-my husband has not stopped talking about PORCHETTA DI ARICCIA. In the mornings, we were greeted with fresh fruits & the most delicious granola as we helped ourselves to warm mugs to tea or coffee. That was such a nice touch and attention to detail! Breakfast would not be completed without the hot entrees that was beautifully plated and delectable at the same time! Thank you, Brian & Ed for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lscw67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

The Topside Inn is as close to perfect as you can get in a B&B. The home is beautiful and the location couldn't have been better for harbor views and an easy walk into town. The decor is more sophisticated than other B&B's that I've stayed at and it was lovely and warm. There were books and magazines everywhere you looked There is a counter in the breakfast room set up with all of the comforts of home including glassware, ice, ice buckets for byob, wine openers, tea, coffee and snacks. I was there for two nights and the breakfasts were delicious. Sweet potato waffles one morning and "green eggs and ham" the next. The afternoon cookies, made by Ed, were delicious and I made sure to pick one up on my way in or out. Our room, number 6, was big, it had a very comfortable bed with good quality linens and three windows including a great window seat overlooking Boothbay Harbor. Brian was helpful and offered to make reservations for me after assisting me with selecting a restaurant for dinner. I can't say enough good things about my experience at the Topside Inn. I will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Room number 6 on the 3rd floor was perfect for views and comfort. I peaked into other rooms and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vanessa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We arrived after a long drive late in the evening at "Topside Inn". Brian and Ed had us, as previously agreed upon, leave a message, we easily found our room No. 20 in the "Leeward House". This room was very clean, offered a wonderful view, was comfortable and large beds and even a fridge! However, the "Leeward House" is quite noisy and you get a good idea of ​​what to make the neighbors next to and above.

The breakfast in the very bright and stylish breakfast room with wonderful views of the coast, was delicious and varied. Also adjacent to the main house garden with spectacular views of the coast also invited to stay, this was much appreciated. The B & B is located not far from the port, so that one could be reached on foot within 3-5 minutes, for example, the "Whale-watching tours" or to find restaurants. All in all, a great B & B for relaxing and exploring the area. The Inn-keepers are both friendly and professional, if a bit "routine" in appearance. However, we can use the "Topside Inn", which looks more like a hotel than a classic, located in an old house Bed & Breakfast to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank datjent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Feels like we were guests in their home,.a very warm, beautiful home and they were good and gracious friends who could cook breakfast like none of my other friends. Brian and Ed showed care, concern and interest without being obtrusive or invasive. The beautiful site and facilities are ideally situated for the view and proximity to the village. Brian and Ed had helpful suggestions and/or advice on where to go and what to do. All of their referrals were worth our time and money. We wouldn't stay anywhere else in Boothbay Harbor; if their were no vacancy we'd change our travel dates to a time when a room was available.

Room Tip: not a bad room here but end rooms in guest houses are lighter due to extra windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mntcynic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Russell House B&B
Russell House B&B
#4 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
942 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topside Inn

Address: 60 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £116 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the top of the hill and enjoy our incredible views of Boothbay Harbor, Maine at Topside Inn! At our Bed and Breakfast set in a beautiful 19th-century sea captain's home and two summer guesthouses you'll find a warm welcome, comfort and style with modern amenities, fabulous breakfasts, and easy access to shopping, restaurants, boat excursions, botanical gardens, hiking trails and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topside Inn b&b
Topside Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Topside Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing