We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch”
Review of Topside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Topside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband & I stayed in Room 8, loved the decor & having the bottom level all to ourselves. The fridge and microwave was an added bonus. Breakfasts were wonderful, the homemade granola was awesome! Topside is very crisp & clean, peaceful setting with lovely views. I would definitely stay here again if I was in the Boothbay region.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Marilee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

598 - 604 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed several days at topside on our way to Nova Scotia and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. The rooms are comfortable and very clean with everything in working order, fans, hair dryer etc. The extra bonus is the view! Even on a cloudy, rainy day Boothbay Harbor does not disappoint. It still beautiful! Breakfast changes everyday, and there is always something hot and special coming from the kitchen. My personal favorite was the lemon wild blueberry pancakes. Along with the hot there are always plenty of cold choices, from muffins, to granola, fruit, bagels-plenty to eat. The owners couldn't be nicer or more accommodating-it's just a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mgl14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We enjoyed a last minute overnight stay at the Topside Inn and couldn't believe our luck. We stumbled onto a real gem!
These guys do it right on every front. The common area facilities are gorgeous. The room (#4) was spectacular. The views from every window terrific. The bed more comfortable than home.
The proprietors and staff are warm, friendly and appropriately conversational. They are proud of the work they do and they should be!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KeirKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A trip to Maine and Boothbay is always a treat. If that trip includes a stay at Topside you are twice blessed. Whether you are in the main house or one of the two other buildings you will love it. There has been a major renovation since our last visit that added a new reception area and enlarged the breakfast room. Our room on the second floor of the main house overlooked the harbor and was very comfortable. Breakfast is great and varies daily. There is nothing nicer than spending the day in town and then sitting on a porch rocker or a lawn chair with a book and some of the inn's cookies. In a town with numerous B&Bs this one sets the standard by which all others are measured.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank USAFret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I had a lovely stay at Topside. #14Windward has wonderful views of the bay and is decorated nicely. The room was spotless and had just enough room for both of us to relax. The walls are a little thin but neighboring guests were respectful and quiet most of the time. Brian and Ed think of everything - snacks for those of us heading out for a days adventure of hiking or exploring, lovely gas fireplace in a cozy reading room, or if you want to enjoy the crisp Maine air - blankets and bug spray for the rocking chairs or Adirondacks. Breakfasts were yummy - you must try their granola - fantastic. Location is great - just a really short walk down the hill and you're right in town center. We left after a weekend getaway happy and satisfied.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank surfsidemaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Comfortable accommodations with great care taken by the innkeepers to provide fine breakfast, many thoughtful amenities. Five minute walk to town. Stay in the main house if available. This review requires 200 characters, but I am a person of view words and don't see any value in being verbose.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 958Nancy718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

This was my 4th stay at the Topside Inn and was as pleased with everything as in the past - Brian's welcome, the room, view, atmosphere and breakfast. Wouldn't think of staying anywhere else in Boothbay Harbor!

Room Tip: Have stayed in all 3 buildings and never had a bad room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SSH32034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
470 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Russell House B&B
Russell House B&B
#4 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
70 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
942 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topside Inn

Address: 60 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £116 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the top of the hill and enjoy our incredible views of Boothbay Harbor, Maine at Topside Inn! At our Bed and Breakfast set in a beautiful 19th-century sea captain's home and two summer guesthouses you'll find a warm welcome, comfort and style with modern amenities, fabulous breakfasts, and easy access to shopping, restaurants, boat excursions, botanical gardens, hiking trails and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topside Inn b&b
Topside Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Topside Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing