We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tops in Boothbay Harbour”
Review of Topside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Topside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
North Kingstown, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tops in Boothbay Harbour”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Room #3 has a super view of the harbor, looking out to sea. Over our four day stay, we paused many times just to take in this special sight. The room is very comfortable, but the bathroom is a cut above. It's huge. The shower area is very roomy. It has a built in heater (it was a little cool Memorial Day weekend and this took the chill off), and of course an exhaust fan. The dresser is in the bathroom and there is a convenient bench for your suitcase. The room decor is very attractive.
The breakfasts were very good. In addition to fresh fruit cup, yogurt (with granola if you like), breads and toppings, there was a main hot dish each day - blueberry lemon pancakes, eggs/cheese with spinach, and sweet potato Belgian waffle were the entree our three mornings. Each was accompanied by a different breakfast meat .
Brian, one of the innkeepers, was the very gracious host, while Ed cooked the breakfasts. Each served as needed.
There were cookies or brownies available in the afternoon, snacks and coffee/tea available at all times. And other items available if needed included umbrellas, beach towels, sunscreen, card games, etc.
As with every inn in which we have stayed, there is some sound transfer from room above at the Topside, but it did not affect our sleep.
We have stayed at various motels and inns in Boothbay Harbour over the roughly 15 years we have vacationed there. The Topside Inn, with all its features, is just about the best we have found.

Room Tip: Check the description of the room for the features you like. For us, the view was important, and me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chet k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    62
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
113
678
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
silver spring, md
Level Contributor
584 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Returned to Maine after an absence of six months and made a special trip to Boothbay Harbor just to stay at this fine inn. Each room is immaculate and each is unique. The breakfasts are simply wonderful. The owners, Brian and Ed, are very competent and helpful, and they make you feel right at home. The main house has lots of comfortable space to sit and read, dine, have a glass of wine, coffee or tea, or just relax and get to know the other visitors. The porch and grounds are spacious with wonderful views of the harbor. It's worth a special trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IAP65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joelton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I love Boothbay Harbor and have been there several times. This was our first time to stay at the Topside Inn, and we loved it. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful, and the property itself was beautiful and very well kept. We stayed on the 3rd floor and had a really great view of the harbor from our bay window (with a perfect little window seat--complete with reading pillows). The inn is within walking distance to town, and that makes it really easy to walk to dinner or visit the shops. The breakfasts were also delicious! Coffee, fruit, cereal, bread, granola, and yogurt were served every day, but the best part about breakfast was the different hot entree served every morning. From lemon blueberry pancakes to delicious omelets, everything we had was delicious and beautifully presented. We also liked that each guest is able to sit at his/her own table and isn't forced to sit with others (not always the case at B&B's).

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor have gorgeous harbor views, but just know that there isn't an elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

My boyfriend and I loved this B&B! It is in a gorgeous location with beautiful rooms and views. There were tons of books and perfect little reading nooks. The breakfast was delicious and the owners for super friendly.

There isn't a ton to do in Boothbay Harbor, but I would definitely recommend staying a night or two here. It is the perfect quintessential Maine B&B that you read about in books.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikki A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Boothbay Harbor its a beautiful place and the Topside Inn is the best place to stay. The houses are beautiful and they have the best food ever. You wont regret staying with them. I will be back for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Montserrat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We visited Topside Inn as part of our honeymoon at the start of October. We stayed 2 nights and could not have been happier there. Our room had the most incredible views over the bay from two aspects, a lovely balcony, was spotless and very comfortable. The hosts were friendly and welcoming and sitting on the porch in a rocking chair looking out on the sunset over the bay was such a treat. The breakfast was delicious and plentiful and all the facilities provided make you feel welcome and pampered. We stayed two nights but would happily have stayed much longer.

We would highly recommend Topside Inn to anyone in the area - it is a wonderful place to stay.

Room Tip: The Windward guesthouse rooms overlooking the water are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tamsin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed here two nights in early October. The guys who are in charge of the hotel (Brian and Ed) seem like real professionals who understand the hospitality business and the needs of the traveler.

Our room was absolutely spotless. The overlook to the harbor from our room made each morning memorable----especially if you can be up at sunrise. My wife loved the library inside the main house and the diverse collection of books and reading materials. Now all I hear is "why can't you build one like that in OUR house? etc etc.

The breakfast is worth getting up for....all fresh, and specially made. Excellent granola as well as hot food. The breakfast room is also equipped for Wi-Fi so you can read your local news if you wish.

Boothbay Harbor itself is worth the journey, especially if you like the rugged Maine coast and the charming homes that decorate the coast.

I would highly recommend staying here if you find yourself in Boothbay Harbor.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view. I'm not sure if every room has one, but it's worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pdxjeff1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topside Inn

Property: Topside Inn
Address: 60 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the top of the hill and enjoy our incredible views of Boothbay Harbor, Maine at Topside Inn! At our Bed and Breakfast set in a beautiful 19th-century sea captain's home and two summer guesthouses you'll find a warm welcome, comfort and style with modern amenities, fabulous breakfasts, and easy access to shopping, restaurants, boat excursions, botanical gardens, hiking trails and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topside Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Topside Inn b&b
Topside Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing