We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Topside Inn
Nearby Hotels
Fisherman's Wharf Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$142
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boothbay Harbor Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flagship Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$217
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tugboat Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$283
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Ark Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Thistle Inn(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$174
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast(Boothbay Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,106)
Filter reviews
1,106 results
Traveller rating
1,024
68
8
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,024
68
8
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main housegranolaowners markguest housebug spraygnocchideviled eggshighest pointwindow seatadirondack chairsfront lawncookieshill overlookingback porchthought of everythingwonderful hostsfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
567 - 572 of 1,106 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Where to begin...we gave stayed in other B&Bs in Boothbay Harbor 3 times and enjoyed each visit, however, the Topside Inn "TOPS" them all. From the time we arrived we were amazed by the VIEW, the friendly staff, the accommodations, the location, and the breakfasts were incredible. We loved everything about the Topside Inn and hope to return next season.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank willimonj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have come here for two years in a row now and are eagerly anticipating booking another trip. Having spent much of my childhood in Boothbay, I know the area and what it takes to truly make the most of this beautiful place. The Inn itself is impeccably furnished with all of the comforts of a beachside home. The grounds are peaceful and inviting, with an air of privacy that many of us are seeking when we want a getaway. We always stay in Room 6 which is on the top floor (I find that important when staying in an inn or B&B not necessarily built with modern soundproofing!) and the view and cross breezes are second to none. The breakfast is always delicious and clearly made with care. The innkeepers are professional and not intrusive, which might come across to some as distant, but we have always appreciated their approach. In my opinion, there is no other place to stay besides the Topside.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank exeter95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I usually look primarily at location and reputed cleanliness when I book a B&B. Charm is a bonus, and when it is combined with good food and a great view, the Inn deserves a commendation. Topside Inn hits the top level in all categories. Located just a few uphill blocks from downtown Boothbay Harbor, its hilltop location gives guests spectacular views across the harbor. The third floors are best if views are what you desire. The August gardens were also gorgeous, and the innkeepers have a great sense of style in their decor of the public spaces. The rooms are more straightforward, but they were well maintained and spotless. The public spaces were stocked with amenities -- binoculars, books, maps and pamphlets, and there were nice touches like oatmeal cookies in the afternoon. Breakfasts were far beyond ordinary. We stayed three nights and had a different and well prepared hot entree each morning (Frittata with or without bacon, gourmet French Toast, and green eggs with ham -- a spinach/chives/cheddar scrambled dish). The coffee was also first-rate and there was fresh fruit every morning.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank temeraire53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

By all means choose Topside Inn to be pampered. You'll enjoy bright, clean rooms, spectular views, and a wonderful breakfast. It's an easy walk to town, yet removed enough so it's quiet and restful. The guys are great. You'll hate to leave Boothbay Harbor!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Gary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We returned to the Topside Inn for two nights this week. It was again, phenomenal. The hosts are wonderful--very attentive--and think of everything you might need for a memorable stay. The breakfast is outstanding, and I love that the coffee is ready at 7 a.m. with ceramic mugs (not paper) and cream (not powder). So many little things at this Inn amount to a lot of pampering. The city of Boothbay Harbor is our favorite, and we've travelled to many other places in Maine. Less pretentious and definitely more affordable. We moved onto Kennebunkport after Boothbay Harbor, and although beautiful, we loved Boothbay Harbor more: the accommodations, the residents, and the opportunities. We had our 12 year old daughter with us, and she voted Boothbay Harbor as her favorite "because they have the most reasonable shopping, most affordable water opportunities, and best food choices." We're returning in another eight weeks for more fun. Can't wait.

Room Tip: Each room at the Topside is unique. Their online booking system shows you the rooms in detail, and it's so helpful to know what view you have and the bed size. Three buildings to choose from, all beautiful.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clare n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews