We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch at Topside Inn”
Review of Topside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Topside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 May 2009

For a couple who've never stayed at a B&B this was the PERFECT first experience. The inn is immaculate. Our room had a view of the harbor from every window! Our linens and towels smelled incredible! Our breakfast the following morning at the inn was phenomenal. I only wish we were able to stay for more than 1 night - next time we will plan for a longer getaway. If you're going to be in Boothbay Harbor, ME and are looking for a place to stay - The Topside Inn is far and away the place to stay!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johni14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,098)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,006 - 1,012 of 1,098 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2008

Beautiful location, a charming property with great views and a relaxed atmosphere. Very helpful Inn Keeper and delicioius breakfast. What more could you want?

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
Thank dsheane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2008

I can only reiterate what other reviewers have had to say. Just excellent in every way. Just sad we could only spend 2 days there.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trickydicky43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2008

We fell in love with the Topside Inn, and will surely stay there again on our next visit to Maine. Ed and Brian are the perfect hosts and keep their Inn immaculate and updated. What a wonderful location and property they have on the top of the hill. Every attention to detail is evident. They were always around to help when you needed reservations, or had questions.

We booked the 3rd floor, Room 6, in the main house, which had a window seat and fantastic view of the harbor. Just outside our door at the top of the stairs was a nice cozy lounge chair and a shelf full of books, also with a harbor view out the window. The bed and linens were great, very relaxing to rest there. We were looking for a retreat where we could read, enjoy the views and get away from the corporate world. It was very quiet and peaceful during our stay in Oct.

After the first breakfast, we could hardly wait for the next one the following morning. Thought we might get eggs again, but were treated to Banana's Foster French Toast. The granola is everything, and more, what people have been writing about, excellent with the vanilla yogurt. All items on the buffets were superb.

We will recommend the Topside to any of our friends heading to Maine. The value for the price is unbelievable. Maine is our favorite NE state to visit in the fall, and now we have a favorite Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CAnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2008

We just returned from a great stay at the Topside Inn. The two owners really pay a lot of attention to detail. The place is beautifully decorated and very clean. The Inn sits on top of a hill overlooking the harbor. It is very relaxing to sit outside and enjoy the beautiful view.

The breakfast in the morning is delicious. The homemade granola is just too good to describe. Don't eat it if you are on a diet!

We would definitely return to this Inn again.

Eileen and Mike Beard

  • Stayed: August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ebeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

We have just returned from a one week stay at the Topside Inn in Boothbay Harbor, ME. It was a wonderful vacation with everything, at the Topside Inn, that we needed. Ed & Brian have just done over all the bathrooms in the out building. The room we have was plenty big enough for our party of three adults. They are very fussy about keeping the rooms clean and neat. Do not worry about bugs here! Housekeeping is excellent.

Each morning they provided a gourmet breakfast and never repeated the fare twice. For starters there is fresh cut fruit of every kind along with Brian's own special gronola. They have a variety of breads, cereal, coffee & tea. The entree is different everyday. We had french toast, eggs bendict, Maine blueberry pancakes and more. All the meals were very good and a nice start to our day.

Sights abound with incredible views of the harbor. The village of Boothbay Harbor has a variety of small shops and plenty of restrauants. Ed or Brian have a great knowledge of the area and will help you find whatever adventure you would like. We worked out a four mile walk around the harbor that we would do every morning. Of course the sea air in Maine is very clear and adds to our walk. If you like to be active outdoors, this is the place.

We have already booked for next year.

Don & Bridget
August 2008

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Irishtraveler2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2008

Stayed at the Topside Inn for two nights towards the end of our Canada/New England vacation. We booked the place via their excellent website.
We just had an outstanding stay at the Topside. The place has three buildings: The orginal house, and two more modern outbuildings. We stayed in room 14, which is one of 8 rooms found in one of the outbuildings. As indicated from their website, Room 14 has amazing views of Boothbay harbor. It's a clean, well-apportioned room with windows all over the place. Decks out the front and back.
The operation is both professional and comfortable. Brian and Ed were very accomodating. They know everything about the Boothbay area, and were gracious and helpful with our questions.
The Topside was full both nights we stayed, but we never got the feeling that we were crowded or had to wait for anything. Breakfast was outstanding and held in a beautful sunroom looking over the harbor. We loved sitting on the adirondacks on the front lawn and watching the boats. The other guests were polite and interesting people. The place was very quiet and peaceful at night, we both slept great. The first night was foggy and we could hear the foghorn for the harbor gently going off in the distance...you can't get more "Maine seacoast" than that!
The town of Boothbay Harbor has lots of shps, galleries and restaurants. It's an easy walk down the hill ftom the Topside. We had a great meal at the Tugboat Restaurant. There's also a nice scenic drive you can take out to the oceanfront....Brian and Ed can tell you how to access it.
One downside aspect to our visit, and it has nothing to do with the Topside. Our weekend coincided with a motorcycle rally at Boothbay called "Stoney's Run". What this means is that a hundred or so motorcyclists show up and hang out for awhile. I get the idea this was considered sorta quaint a few years ago, but it has now grown to be a bunch of riders, some of whom drink it up and then scream their noisy bikes all over town. To say this event doesn't fit the culture of Boothbay Harbor is an understatement. The storeowners whose stores we were in were not happy about it at all....maybe the barowners are, who knows? I think the town council or whatever runs Boothbay Harbor may want to see if "Stoney's Run" can run somewhere else.
But, again that is not in any way a negative about the Topside. Indeed, it sits up on hill overlooking the town, so it is quiet and
removed from the downtown area...and yet just quick walk to get to it.
We will gladly stay at the Topside again, this is simply one of the finest, most confortable B+B Inns we have ever experienced.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank NortheastUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
468 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
939 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Ark Inn
Atlantic Ark Inn
#5 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
315 reviews
1.5 mi away
Russell House B&B
Russell House B&B
#4 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topside Inn

Address: 60 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £117 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the top of the hill and enjoy our incredible views of Boothbay Harbor, Maine at Topside Inn! At our Bed and Breakfast set in a beautiful 19th-century sea captain's home and two summer guesthouses you'll find a warm welcome, comfort and style with modern amenities, fabulous breakfasts, and easy access to shopping, restaurants, boat excursions, botanical gardens, hiking trails and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topside Inn b&b
Topside Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Topside Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing