We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a pleasure”
Review of Topside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Topside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
LEXINGTON
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Always a pleasure”
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Always a pleasure to spend a few days at Topside Inn. Relaxing, gorgeous view, within 5 minutes walk to town restaurants and stores yet feels like you are far away while sitting in the adirondack chairs reading looking over the Boothbay Harbor. Brian and Ed are great! We have now been at least 4 times over the past few summers! If interested in shopping Freeport, Maine outlets are on the way :>)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ec73Lexington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    930
    64
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
116
707
19
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
adgrocket
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2010

Enjoyed our night and morning at Topside. The location is the best in Boothbay Harbor--overlooking the water and in the center of everything in town. Wonderful breakfast and friendly, helpful innkeepers.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adgrocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, NY
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

After reading all the glowing reviews we were sure we'd enjoy our stay at Topside and we most certainly did. The grounds and the rooms are immaculate, everything is very clean. We encountered one rainy day but kept busy on the grounds playing the games and doing a puzzle that they have available to their guests.

Breakfast is amazing. Every morning there was fresh fruit, orange juice, homemade granola (I want the recipe), yogurt, coffee/tea and a main course. Over the three days we enjoyed the following main courses: gingerbread waffles with a side of bacon, scrambled eggs with a side of corned beef hash and "green eggs and ham" (eggs with spinach and cheese with a side of ham). In addition, there are always snacks available, chocolates and homemade cookies in the afternoon!

We stayed in room 14 and were so happy with it. We had a beautiful breeze in the evening. The view of the harbor was beautiful. The shower pressure was great.

Ed and Brian were wonderful hosts, recommending things to do upon request and sharing history of Topside. The gardens are beautiful and I loved the adirondack chairs.

The inn is within a two minute (or so) walk into the shopping area of Boothbay Harbor. Do keep in mind there is quite a steep hill. Parking, unless you are lucky to get a free 2-hour spot, is expensive in the village so walking is a good choice if you are up for it!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msjcfink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklinville, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Brain and Ed are great hosts. The buildings are spotless the grounds are well kept. We have stayed there at least three times over the last few years and each time we found everything perfect. Ed and brian make a great breakfast. Each day something different and the home made granola is the best. Also while you are there try the whale watch. We saw three whales and a 40 foot shark.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pasquale068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2010

Absolutely beautiful B & B perched on a hill top overlooking Boothbay Harbor and town. Lovingly restored historic home without the cutesy "countrification" you see with most small town B & B's. The Inn is very elegant and sophisticated without being stuffy. The inn keepers provide excellent service but seem to keep to themselves, which can be welcome in most instances. The room comes with a phenomenal breakfast alternating between sweet and savory and also includes the standard house made granola that is superb, juices, fresh fruit bowls, breads, yogurts, and a fine selection of upscale teas and coffees. I went for business but will go back for pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric007Maryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottetown, PEI
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

I hope heaven is like this...

Checkout was at 11:00 am - we checked out at 10:57 - we were ready to leave at 10:00 but hung out on the deck admiring the view - which is fabulous.. We left, knowing we would be back.

This is a fabulous spot for couples but also a great spot for a mother-daughter trip. Lots of craft stores to explore and sailing on schooners would be fun - unfortunately the weather did not co-operate so we didn't get to go sailing when we were there which is why we have to return.

We were so relaxed - sitting out on the deck, daughter reading a book, I - sipping on wine, playing online poker - yes free wi-fi.

and Breakfast - oh my - oh my - we stayed two nights - first morning breakfast was banana flambé french toast - you have no idea - it was the most glorious breakfast I have ever had.

Next morning - tiny orange pineapple muffins that melted in your mouth - and a fabulous quiche. Now daughter (fussy) did not like this fancy cuisine - gawd - but she loved the fresh fruit bowls done up all fancy, homemade granola, yogurt and toast. Coffee was soooooooooo good....

Ed is responsible for all this fabulous food and Brian I believe is the details guy. The inn was all booked up for Windjammer days but everyone was well looked after by these 2 fabulous hosts. The place oozes of relaxation, style and cosiness. We met so many fabulous people from all over.

Love, love this place and we will be back....

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juanita_PEI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We arrived on a Friday afternoon to the quaint town of Boothbay Harbor. We were pleasantly surprised by the charm of the Top Side Inn. Our room was in one of the outer buildings and was not connected to the main house. The room was a bit small, but clean and well furnished. However, the bathroom was tiny and the water pressure left a bit to be desired.
Brian and Ed were wonderful hosts, and were quick to help us in day trip planning and provide excellent restaurant reviews. The breakfast was different each day, with one hot entrée option each morning (the blueberry pancakes were our favorite). There was a full supply of coffee and tea throughout the day and homemade cookies in the afternoon.
I would recommend this Inn to anyone looking for a quite relaxing long weekend, but I would suggest asking for a room in the main house, as the bathrooms are bigger.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EaaBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
447 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
473 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
671 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
876 reviews
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topside Inn

Property: Topside Inn
Address: 60 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the top of the hill and enjoy our incredible views of Boothbay Harbor, Maine at Topside Inn! At our Bed and Breakfast set in a beautiful 19th-century sea captain's home and two summer guesthouses you'll find a warm welcome, comfort and style with modern amenities, fabulous breakfasts, and easy access to shopping, restaurants, boat excursions, botanical gardens, hiking trails and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topside Inn b&b
Topside Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Topside Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing