We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was a perfect first night in Maine” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Topside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Topside Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Waverly, Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This was a perfect first night in Maine”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

We loved our stay at the Topside Inn, despite the foggy weather. Our hosts went out of their way to answer all our questions and make sure we had everything we needed to enjoy their little bit of Maine. The accommodations were comfortable and the breakfast was very very nice. Our granddaughter had her first lobster roll and loved it! Boothbay Barbor is not so crowded as points further north but has all the attractions.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grammat_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

962 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    62
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
112
675
18
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Ga.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

If you are headed to Boothbay, this is the place to stay. Your hosts, Brian and Ed are warm and welcoming and do everything they can to make your stay perfect. The breakfast is outstanding with lots of choices and variety, the rooms are spacious, modern and clean. Coffee, tea and snacks are always available -- with fresh baked cookies every day. Every room has a microwave (handy to warm those fresh cookies) and a frig. They even provide postcards to send to your friends. We can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmj19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albion, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2010

My wife and I went to the Topside Inn for the fourth of July weekend. The Inn is clean, comfortable, well furnished, and well decorated. The owners on premises made it obvious that they took pride in their Inn.

On the outside, the atmosphere was very peaceful and relaxing. The Adirondack chairs on the lawn provided a great place to just relax and enjoy the harbor view. A bonus for this weekend was that the lawn was also a perfect vantage point to watch the fireworks over the harbor.

The breakfasts they provided were delicious. They had a different menu both mornings, with coffee, juice, fruit, granola and yogurt being provided both mornings. (Their homemade granola can be addictive.)

Overall, a great place to stay. We plan on returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhnest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2010

I read TripAdvisor's comments on Topside before my visit but the place really exceeded my expectations from those reviews. A clean, cheerful room with a great harbor view was but one aspect of our visit. The breakfast is absolutely superior to any I have had in scores of B & Bs, both U.S. and foreign. And Brian and Ed were excellent and most friendly in their recommendations for restaurants and for finding a place to take a dip on a very hot 4th of July. This place is a real gem.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PandLNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2010

A beautiful place oozing relaxation. Brian & Ed are attentive hosts and helpful with things to do in the area. Superb attention to detail. A must stay!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jchewh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEXINGTON
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2010

Always a pleasure to spend a few days at Topside Inn. Relaxing, gorgeous view, within 5 minutes walk to town restaurants and stores yet feels like you are far away while sitting in the adirondack chairs reading looking over the Boothbay Harbor. Brian and Ed are great! We have now been at least 4 times over the past few summers! If interested in shopping Freeport, Maine outlets are on the way :>)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ec73Lexington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adgrocket
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2010

Enjoyed our night and morning at Topside. The location is the best in Boothbay Harbor--overlooking the water and in the center of everything in town. Wonderful breakfast and friendly, helpful innkeepers.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adgrocket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Topside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Topside Inn

Property: Topside Inn
Address: 60 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come to the top of the hill and enjoy our incredible views of Boothbay Harbor, Maine at Topside Inn! At our Bed and Breakfast set in a beautiful 19th-century sea captain's home and two summer guesthouses you'll find a warm welcome, comfort and style with modern amenities, fabulous breakfasts, and easy access to shopping, restaurants, boat excursions, botanical gardens, hiking trails and much more. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Topside Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Topside Inn b&b
Topside Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing