We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay with good location”
Review of Brown's Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Brown's Wharf Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 September 2013

it was pretty close to what most of the reviews said about the place:clean friendly staff and accommodating,recently updated,but could see a potential problem if it was crowded b/c of the walls (thin) and balconies too close and open). would stay there again you do want to try and stay on the front or the sides close to the fron(12-about17) because if you too far down the view is not that good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TJH1191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
There are newer reviews for Brown's Wharf Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

259 - 265 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2013

We checked in for two nights. Service at the front desk was excellent. Our room was like brand new with all of the amenities of an upscale franchise hotel. Our view was not the best but was still adequate. The bathroom was large and well equipped. Heating and A/C were easily available and efficient. Being an older property, the walls were very thin as far as soundproofing goes but other guests retired early and were quiet. Overall a good place, well managed and maintained. Having the restaurant there is also a plus, but does not provide complementary breakfast, which we missed.

Stayed: September 2013
Thank tbennett444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights and found this hotel to be as described by others. It isn't luxury but more than adequate. Room was large and there is a flat screen tv. We were on third floor facing the side harbor toward the front of building. The balconies all overlook the harbor and you can watch the boats. It is about a 15 minute walk to town but there is a good sidewalk across the street and the foot bridge is a great connector. In terms of the east side of the harbor it is the furthest hotel but for those able to walk not a drawback at all. The room was clean and well maintained. The bed was on the hard side but still sleepable. They had an in room safe which is a good touch. It was quiet enough and although the balconies are all straight across it still felt private. The hotel was pretty full judging from the parking lot. They have a restaurant which had a wait on Sunday night. It stays open to 8:30 - but there are at least two outdoor lobster places next door. Boothbay harbor has lots of restaurants and shops and seems to be the place to get boat tours. We even found music on sat night at McSeaguls. Al in all this is a good value and worth the stay to enjoy his charming town.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank gratzparker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013 via mobile

We made an impromptu stop in Boothbay Harbor and decided to stay a few nights. We decided on waterfront so we went to a few different places and checked out the rooms....wow..most were tired at best. Then we checked out Brown's. Carol at the front desk was funny and personable and gave us the keys to the only rooms available to check out. We decided to stay for a few reasons...#1.. they were clean and not mildew smelling and they have a restaurant that the locals like and a great place to have a glass of wine and watch sunset. Even though we are from SW Florida...we love our sunsets. The food was pretty good and the staff was quite friendly especially for New England. Many of them are from all over the world and were happy to chat about their country. For a hotel on the water... we were very happy about our choice and met some other friendly guests. We didn't check out any B&B's so not comparing this to that type of place.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We wanted a hotel near the Coastal Maine Gardens and this was a great find. It is not fancy but very clean and comfortable. It is right on the harbor so that you can watch the lights come on in the ships and then see the ships come in and out. We would recommend it.

Room Tip: The third floor has a great view and the balcony is nice.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dkostrub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were so looking forward to a restful short vacation so we picked Maine. Great State but Browns Inn was not the best place to be. The staff was friendly but our water view room ended up to be a great view of the road, rocks and seaweed. We were in the side building 2nd floor, yes if you sat on the balcony you could see the water but any other place the trees and road is what you saw. The sheets on the bed did not fit and in the morning they were off the bed. I left a note each day and the same thing happened each night. The room was clean but every night we could hear the headboard in the room next door hit the wall.

Room Tip: Make sure you are guaranteed a room in the front building or go some place else.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We LOVE Brown's Wharf Inn and have been staying here since I was a kid. It's nothing fancy, just clean, comfortable and very basic, but OH those views from the porch! Nothing compares....perfect spot for relaxing!

Room Tip: Book a first floor Waterfront room for the absolute BEST VIEWS!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveAllThingsDisney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
0.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
507 reviews
1.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
290 reviews
1.1 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
379 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Wharf Inn

Address: 121 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#3 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £119 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown's Wharf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brown's Wharf Inn Hotel, Marina and Restaurant is located directly over the ocean on beautiful Boothbay Harbor. All rooms have balconies and a commanding view of the harbor, the ocean and boating activities. Cable TV, telephone, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, in-room safes, Wi-Fi, use of computer, park and lock parking. Restaurant has been owned and operated by the Brown Family for the past 74 years, offering a full menu but specializing in local fresh seafood. Inside-outside dining with beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Brown's Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Wharf Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Browns Wharf Hotel
Browns Wharf Motel
Browns Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing