We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's All About the View”
Review of Brown's Wharf Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Brown's Wharf Inn
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Go to Brown's for the view - it's spectacular and overlooks Boothbay Harbor. As long as you don't mind sharing the long balcony, you'll be glad you opted for this place. The only divider on the balcony, between rooms, is a single 2x4 so you don't have any privacy sitting out there - at all!

The room itself is OK - an average, older, motel room with lots of storage and room to move. My pet peeve is when there's only one comfy chair and a desk chair. Brown's had two comfy chairs and a table, plus a desk and chair. YEA! Fairly quiet A/C.

We opted for the third floor, facing the harbor - an extra charge for being on that side of the building, but worth it.

The bathroom is small with the shower/tub and toilet together in a tiny stall. The tiny sink is outside the bath. No storage for toiletries, etc.

The bed was comfy and the cleaning staff very friendly. They did a great job the four days we were there.

Brown's also offers breakfast and dinner. Breakfast is separate from the price of the room and for two cost us about $30. Go elsewhere. There are lots of good restaurants in the Harbor. At Brown's I had the most tasteless blueberry muffin ever. Definitely not worth the cost.

We did have a very good dinner the first night with melt-in-your-mouth scallops. Yum! But we opted to eat at other restaurants the rest of the time. Nice view from the restaurant, though.

So, all in all, given the expansive view from our room, especially during Windjammer Days, it was a good place to stay, just not fancy or modern.

Room Tip: Stay on the third floor so you don't have anyone walking around over your head. A room facing t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2014

The harbor views from the room were awesome with great decks and chairs to sit and watch the action. Though the rooms were nothing special, it met all the needs we had...for sleeping. They were clean and served their purpose. The restaurant was great for breakfast (not included when we were there) and dinner was nice too.

The weather was wonderful while we were there and that certainly makes a difference. The only things I missed (and this wasn't the hotel's fault) was the ocean waves and a beach. It would also be nice to have a pool, but the property is ON the water, so there likely isn't room for it. I would recommend this hotel to others.

Beware of your upstairs neighbors--you can hear every footstep and creak

Room Tip: harbor view side; any floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 65KathyC522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

While the views of the harbor were nice, the hotel is sadly outdated for the price. Sleeping was not and option because of smoked privacy windows right next the entrance door. During the night the lights left on for security reasons left the room lit up so much it was impossible to sleep. This is for sure a tourist trap hotel and the out of state tourists can have it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had a lovely stay in one of the Inn's apartments. It was beautifully remodelled with a gorgeous view of the harbor. The complimentary breakfast was delicious and the staff were so friendly and helpful. We can't wait to come back to beautiful Boothbay and stay at Brown's Wharf Inn. Thanks for a great visit, Ron and Joanne

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed at Brown's Wharf last weekend and already want to return. Every room has such a great view! They provide chairs and a nice size deck! It was very easy to move around the property and breakfast comes with the room. The restaurant was not open yet for this season, however the town is stocked with great places...all with a view. Any room would be a great choice and they are clean and quaint. We plan on staying longer next time!

Room Tip: Any room has a great view!!! Amazing location!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kabulkathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Browns Wharf Inn was a lovely location overlooking the floats and harbor directly from our 2nd floor room with a little deck with chairs/table. It wasn't terribly warm so we didn't sit out but great to have. It was great to have the elevator for moving in and out plus there was a luggage dolly which also helped. The staff were very helpful with requests for help with turning on fridge, wireless access, and very polite and friendly. The breakfast which was included in the price of the room at this time of year was a full breakfast-fantastic! Our party had two rooms joining and it worked out perfectly. the Inn is close to town's shops and studios, Maine Botanical Gardens etc. and good restaurants close at hand also.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here over Memorial Day weekend, 2014.........off season rates were still in effect. The venue was clean, well maintained and the staff very accommodating and friendly. The included off season breakfast was definitely a step above most hotels with a dining room that looks out on to the scenic harbor (breakfast not included in season). All rooms have a balcony and while the inner harbor room where we stayed had more of a limited view, it was fine overall considering that we were out and about most of the time anyway. We like to walk but be advised that you are on the quiet side of Boothbay and it is a bit of a hike (not terrible) to the center of town. There you will find shops, amusements, restaurants, boat trips, etc Two scenic laid back restaurants within easy walking distance on the right nearby are the Lobster Wharf and Lobster Deck (both very casual with counter service pickup). A half mile walk from the hotel up Lobster Cove Road takes you to a local park overlooking the water....nice little diversion. A bit out of town gives you access to the harbor movie theater, hiking trails and live stage productions.We will be back........highly recommended.

Room Tip: Inner harbor rooms offer the best value but you will sacrifice view.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJT117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
0.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
470 reviews
1.2 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
548 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
385 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
1 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brown's Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brown's Wharf Inn

Address: 121 Atlantic Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-2221
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#3 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £67 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brown's Wharf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brown's Wharf Inn Hotel, Marina and Restaurant is located directly over the ocean on beautiful Boothbay Harbor. All rooms have balconies and a commanding view of the harbor, the ocean and boating activities. Cable TV, telephone, refrigerators, coffee makers, irons, in-room safes, Wi-Fi, use of computer, park and lock parking. Restaurant has been owned and operated by the Brown Family for the past 74 years, offering a full menu but specializing in local fresh seafood. Inside-outside dining with beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Brown's Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brown`s Wharf Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Browns Wharf Hotel
Browns Wharf Motel
Browns Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing