We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magical place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Enchantments

Enchantments
Ranked #6 of 17 Shopping in Boothbay Harbor
Attraction details
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A magical place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

There is something very special about this store. Go when you have a little time to absorb it all. I always get something very special when I go. Its truly magical!!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    4
    0
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Love this store!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I could spend hours here exploring all the nooks and crannies filled with interesting stuff! One of the most interesting stores in Boothbay Harbor! The aisles are tight but it's all part of the experience, plan on taking your time and explore the cool items here!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“incredible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2012

you could spend the who;e vacation here just checking out all the wild stuff. I think the proprioter was or is an actor-singer at the old theater. Anyway, there is a ton of interesting stuff to bring home

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank mudger343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pevely, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unique gifts galore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Not your average gift shop! Lots of unique affordable gift options with very helpful staff. When I was walking in a customer walking out said, 'so much great stuff you'll stay in there for a long time'.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Big Store HUGE Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Shopping on 06/17/12—it’s true that this store has a huge inventory of new age products for sale, but, a combination of higher prices, bad store layout/displays/lighting, and, signs warning customers of what the owner really thinks of them, makes it a disappointing shopping experience, and, caused me to leave as quickly as I had arrived.

The store is located in Boothbay Harbor, a tourist hot spot in Maine. As a Maine resident, I often visit Boothbay Harbor once tourist season ends, and, buy clothing and other products (usually made in China) with prices slashed as much as 90%--a clear indication of how products in tourist spots are grossly inflated. Similarly, pricing that I saw in Enchantments compared to those seen elsewhere for new age products that I typically buy, was really high.

The store’s aisles are TIGHT—making you feel claustrophobic—worried that you might knock something over and break it. Watch your footing, there are sometimes single steps that without proper warning (be aware of lower light levels), find you abruptly.

Customers have no sense of how products are categorically arranged on the floor, making the shopping experience confusing—and, certainly not easy. Aisles are also not straight-forward, reminding you of a maze. Many displays on glass shelves are ill-kept, some dusty. Pricing for products is purposefully hidden, causing you to TRY looking UP at a price often found on the product’s bottom, IF you can see it at all. Many times, I found a spotlight in my eyes, trying to look-up—so, I just gave-up. I assume the owner hides his pricing so that customers must call him for help in unlocking a glass case—perhaps pressuring the customer to buy while he stands there looking at them. I would not give him that satisfaction.

The owner has many black marker on cardboard signs displayed throughout his store: “You break it, you buy it; Remember, you’re on camera; Do not touch,” etc. Although I can appreciate that he apparently has shoplifting issues, this owner needs to realize that intimidating ALL his customers with such signage is not an effective way for increasing his sales.

On his website, the owner writes how he came to create his store. However, what Enchantments has forgotten is that “New Age” is at its heart a search for harmony and balance—not darkness, confusion and intimidation--which, this shopowner enjoys festering. I suggest to all potential shoppers that this store is neither welcoming or worth shopping—giving it a 5 thumbs-down rating.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank BearWillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Enchantments also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Enchantments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing