We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good, works for me!”
Review of Tugboat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tugboat Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Medford, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Very Good, works for me!”
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We travel from Boston, up to Boothbay Harbor a few times a year, and usually stay at the Tugboat. Its nothing oppulent, but we always have a clean and comfortable stay. This last visit, August 2011, we had room 136, which is at the very end on the upper floor, with the best view of the entire Harbor. Sitting on the deck, with a glass of wine, just watching the boat traffic in this great little "busy" harbor town, is so relaxing. Room 136 is a small corner room with queen bed, and large walk in shower only, no tub. But that works for us. The included continental breakfast is simple, just good hot coffee, juices, granola and other cereals, muffins and such. If you want to eat a big blueberry pancake or egg omlett breakfast, just walk 50 yards up the road to the Ebb Tide, or Blue Moon restaurants, both have really good "full" breakfasts. There are some other really nice hotels / motels in Boothbay Harbor, some are certainly nicer (and some more expensive) but the Tugboat has a great location for intown walking, and its just a good value in my oppinion. The dinner in the Tugboat restaurant is a good value as well. Always has good Maine lobster, seafood dishes and steaks, priced well.
We''ll be back, the Tugboat Inn is OK with me.

Room Tip: ask for upper level, room 136 is small with perfect end deck location overlooking entire Harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ben795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59U, Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. The end rooms are the best! Small room, large view as we like to say. We are glad that you enjoyed the Tugboat Restaurant as well. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    164
    59
    16
    8
See reviews for
100
241
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We arrived at 12:45 pm check is not till 3:00 pm we were told our room was not ready we were in room 406 5 years in a row so we went to check it out screen door was open about 3 inches so we checked back at 2:30 pm the door was in the same position so I checked and they said the head housekeeper had not checked it yet.so I asked if she could check it so she finally contacted her she went in the room for 30 seconds and said it was ready. She could have done this at 12:45 and we would have been happy.5 years in a row 3 nights each time but they don't seem to care.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edcando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59U, Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are very sorry for any inconvenience caused at check in. We do advise that our check in time is 3pm and the order in which the clean rooms become available for incoming guests does vary from day to day. The head housekeeper does check all rooms and periodically updates the front desk staff. We apologize that you had to wait for a room that was obviously ready. Our housekeepers cover a lot of ground and updates are not always immediate. We thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention, and we hope that overall you did enjoy your visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brentwood, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

My husband and I had room 107 directly on the water. This section of the Inn is built on the dock. Our views of the harbor were fantastic with almost 2 whole walls of windows. Our "neighbors" were 10 feet away in marina slips. The room was a good size, The sink area is separate from the toilet/shower area which is small with a pocket door. Everything was clean and there was no sign of mold that others had reported. Those who complain about price (192 per night) have to consider the location...you can't get much better than this. The inn is in the center of activity so you can park your car and leave it. Walking everywhere is so easy. There's also a local trolley for free/with tip that stops at many of the hotels. One drawback is there is no pool; they are rare in Boothbay Harbor.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mommert5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59U, Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Thank you very much for your positive review of our Inn. We are glad you enjoyed your accommodations and the view can't be beat! Come and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

This review confirms what many others have said. We had a room right on the pier over the water, looking out at the entrance to the harbor. The owners take advantage of that great view to charge a lot ($170) for a very average room. The room itself was quite small, barely big enough to squeeze in two queen beds. The beds are not very comfortable, in fact the worst we had out of six motels during our trip to Maine. The AC worked fine and we did not notice any smells. It seemed acceptably clean. The continental breakfast was fairly limited in its choice of foods. You're really paying for the location, just a block from the center of town, and for the waterfront view. As long as that is your priority, this motel is a good choice although there are several other waterfront motels in Boothbay to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutch Brother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59U, Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed your room location right out over the water. We do have some great view rooms that are small , but we also have other rooms that are larger and have great views in some of our other buildings. We hope you enjoyed your stay and will perhaps come back and see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2011

My husband and I took advantage of an AAA Drive Vacation, a package which included 2 nights at the Tugboat Inn, continental breakfasts, a dinner, harbor cruise and tickets to the botanical gardens. Everything was perfect. The hotel staff were friendly and personable. The hotel was right on the harbor, very clean and had everything we needed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rose d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59U, Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed the AAA Drive Vacation package. We appreciate your positive feedback, and look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

This hotel was a huge disappointment. My husband and I stayed here for three nights as part of a much anticipated vacation trip. The room was moldy, and although the gentleman at the desk put us in a different room, it was moldy too, just not as bad. This is probably because the hotel is on the harbor -- which is lovely -- and the AC does NOT work at all effectively so none of the moisture is removed from the room. We travel to Maine every year, and there is generally little need for AC unless you have this type of situation with mold.

The continental breakfast was perfunctory -- clearly not offered to enhance your enjoyment but only because they felt like they needed to do so. There was cold cereal in little single serving packets, english muffins and rolls you could buy at the grocery store, and sometimes bagels like those you would buy from the grocery. Given the wonderful baked goods we always find in the area, it seems like a ridiculous offering. There was no protein or fresh fruit, which you can find even at the cheap hotels and this hotel was not cheap by any standards!

The beds were very uncomfortable, the mattresses thin and old, and the sheets were very scratchy. I was glad not to sleep on them another night.

The MOST irritating thing of all is that there was NO wireless internet, even in the hotel office. When we asked about it, we were told that it cannot be guaranteed in the rooms, and we should come to the office, which we did. One of the nights even that didn't work.

Bottom line -- this hotel was a huge disappointment at any price, much less the 200/night charge. I can't believe people get away with this.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat_Fans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59U, Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that your visit did not meet expectations. We will certainly take note of your concerns, and we very much appreciate the detailed information regarding your accommodations and our continental breakfast. Also please accept our apologies for the difficulty with the wi-fi during your stay. Although we do not guarantee service in every guestroom due to the expansive layout of our property, most of the time our office is a reliable location. However, due to severe weather on one of those days, we had problems with our entire service. Thankfully it was a temporary situation and we are sorry for any inconvenience caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southwest Harbor, Maine
1 review
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My wife and I stayed three nights at the Tugboat. we changed rooms the first night because our initial room smelled moldy/musty. our second room smelled better, but both rooms had a barely functioning AC unit. The biggest issue on top of the other things was the "wifi" it was not to be found. On two nights, my wife and I actually went up to the office for a beter wifi connection, but either got intermittent connections to theminterenet, or nothing. I think the thing that really upset me was, they know it. As we complained about this fact on our departure, we got a number of excuses, but no apology . the fact is, The Tugboat advertises having free wifi, but they don't really have it, and they know it, and they don
T care. Thats a deal breaker for me because I was willing to actually walk around their hotel for wifi...something that isn't there.

Room Tip: I advise staying somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bookartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59U, Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are sorry that your accommodations were less than satisfactory, and we have noted your concerns regarding your guestroom and the A/C unit. Also please accept our apologies for the difficulty with the wi-fi service during your stay. Due to bad weather we did have problems with our service throughout the entire property. Thankfully it was a temporary situation and we sincerely apologize for the the inconvenience caused. We do care if our service is not as it should be, and for those things within our control we make every effort to correct anything brought to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
472 reviews
0.9 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
359 reviews
1.4 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
875 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brown's Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugboat Inn

Property: Tugboat Inn
Address: 80 Commercial St, PO Box 267, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1770
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tugboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown waterfront location directly on the harbor. Modern comfortable guestrooms with balconies, air conditioning, cable tv with free movie channel, telephone with voice mail, hair dryer, Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and personal amenities. Rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free local phone calls. Complimentary computer with DSL in hotel lobby. Complimentary wi-fi in most locations. Full service restaurant, seasonal cocktail lounge with patio deck, and marina with slip and mooring rentals all on site. Waterfront hot tub available for guests. Music at the piano bar in season. Special vacation packages available. Open mid April to late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Tugboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugboat Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Tugboat Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing