We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inn by the Harbor”
Review of Tugboat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tugboat Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Inn by the Harbor”
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Been going to Tugboat for over 5 years and enjoyed it every time. New owners have spruced up the rooms and amenities but the staff retains their small hotel personality. I stay in the main building in the center of the complex and have a patio with a great view. Already put a deposit on next year's stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    164
    59
    16
    8
See reviews for
100
241
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Took a trip using a AAA deal..upon arrival checked into room 316...ugh dirty was given or left used lotion. Screens in window broken..dust everywhere...check the ac filter more than a dryer lint filter.. room smelled.. spoke to front desk showed us 314. Same thing...we told front desk to call hotel manager...we went for a drive..got a call an hour later..new room on other side... clean but had tomove to other side of hotel...was offered help...was told manager never responded..and he had little Leeway in AAA deal...food yuck high priced and not appetizing...breakfast was the same..restaurant dirty...ewww. management has yet to contact me..I left numbers and details...Booth bay is gorgeous but stay somewhere else...dated green carpet and border paper....for the price...save your money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandrajeannie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59, General Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Thank you once again for your review and detailed comments. For some reason we have just seen this Trip Advisor review today. We did respond directly 2 days after the date of this review, and we have taken steps to rectify the issues mentioned here and on the guest comment card. We are very sorry that your experience was less than satisfactory, and we hope that you give us another chance to prove ourselves. We do have many satisfied guests, and we take pride in our product and the services that we offer. We know that we fell short in this instance, but we are certain that another visit would show that we can do better. We absolutely want to offer our guests a quality experience, and we know we are able to provide that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This was the second year staying At the tugboat inn. What a beautiful location. Peaceful. The specials are well worth the money. New big screen tv. Restaurant has great good and the staff were friendly. We will go back again. The only thing missing is a pool.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnadeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We booked one of the end rooms onthe Tugboat Pier, 105, it had an awesome view and breeze. It is small but we didn't care it was just for sleeping usually gone exploring town. The best part is the boat channel is about 30 feet from the windows and we enjoyed passing greetings with the boaters, while sitting around. (note if your wondering...this is not a nighttime problem, boats stop after sundown). We decided to stay a second nite and due to our waiting to long...ended up moving to the other corner room 107 which is a little bigger and just as much of a view. Staff was awesome, as well as facilities, easy walking distance to town. Wifes only complaint was little limmited on continental breakfast fruit.

Room Tip: Take the Tugboat Pier end corners if you love the water and boats, seagulls, seals, geese and ducks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelStG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Destin, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Tugboat inn is a great place to stay. It is central to shops and bot trips. You can just park your car and not need to use it the whole stay. Breakfast here was very good. The view was great and the room very clean! The main office people were so pleasant and helpful! We walked to the shops nd many restaurants and boat excursions. We will definitely come and stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathyruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The Tugboat Inn is in the heart of town in all the best ways. It is within walking distance to boat trips and shops, but away from the traffic of the main street. Our room was over the water with a shared balcony and classic views of the outer harbor. The interior was clean and comfortable with and a new flat-screen TV and bathroom vanity. We had no trouble with Verizon cell reception, though the Wi-Fi was spotty. The staff was friendly and genuine. Boothbay Harbor is a great Maine coastal town, fun but not fancy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2013

We stayed for one night before the season kicked in. We had a room with 2 beds. One of the beds had it's own bedroom. The bedroom had it's own door to the private balcony. The bathroom was nice as well. The staff was friendly too. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
472 reviews
0.9 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
527 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
359 reviews
1.4 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
875 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brown's Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugboat Inn

Property: Tugboat Inn
Address: 80 Commercial St, PO Box 267, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1770
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tugboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown waterfront location directly on the harbor. Modern comfortable guestrooms with balconies, air conditioning, cable tv with free movie channel, telephone with voice mail, hair dryer, Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and personal amenities. Rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free local phone calls. Complimentary computer with DSL in hotel lobby. Complimentary wi-fi in most locations. Full service restaurant, seasonal cocktail lounge with patio deck, and marina with slip and mooring rentals all on site. Waterfront hot tub available for guests. Music at the piano bar in season. Special vacation packages available. Open mid April to late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Tugboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugboat Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Tugboat Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing