We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get there.”
Review of Tugboat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tugboat Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Showed up holiday weekend,,needed 3 rooms, and amazingly they had them! Great rooms w great, NO amazing views!!! Clean! No Odors. The front desk was so very helpful I believe her name was Cesseta? Please give this woman a raise !!! No matter,,was a great wonderful fine, and great price!!!! Safe beautiful place to rest you head.

Room Tip: Get there. Will return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lswan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 470 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2013

This is the second time my husband and I stayed with you and we love it! We brought along two other couples who have never been to Boothbay Harbor. One couple is from California and they flew out to cruise with us up the coast in our old '30's black cars. They have been wanting to stay on the coast of Maine for some time and they love the Tugboat at Boothbay Harbor. The rooms were clean and the view of the harbor with all the sailboats is wonderful. We also had lunch in the Tugboat restaurant which was delicious.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2013

Had a great time at the Tugboat Inn. The hotel building we stayed at was dog friendly. The room was clean, and had an awesome view of the harbor. Windjammer Day was great despite the poor weather. The parade went on during a rain storm and they marched and stopped by the restaurant as we dinned. Good service and the lobster bisque soup was to die for. WiFi needs to be updated. No service in room. I would go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcmjcm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Tugboat Inn in a "Small room, Great View" room. The room was okay, and we knew what we were getting. We spent four nights there for Windjammer Days. The Tugboat Inn's location, and our rooms in particular were perfect for that event. The room was clean, and the complimentary continental breakfast was adequate. What was NOT so good, was the dinner we had at the Tugboat restaurant. Service was very lacking, and poorly timed. We ordered, and never saw the waitress again until almost EVERYTHING came at once. The soup came with one dinner, which was missing the potato. The salad for the other dinner was forgotten, and arrived when dinner was almost finished. That dinner was baked shrimp, which were overcooked and arrived cold. I suggest staying at the Tugboat Inn, but eating elsewhere.

Room Tip: Rooms at the end of the wing have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnP13147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

Been going to Tugboat for over 5 years and enjoyed it every time. New owners have spruced up the rooms and amenities but the staff retains their small hotel personality. I stay in the main building in the center of the complex and have a patio with a great view. Already put a deposit on next year's stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

Took a trip using a AAA deal..upon arrival checked into room 316...ugh dirty was given or left used lotion. Screens in window broken..dust everywhere...check the ac filter more than a dryer lint filter.. room smelled.. spoke to front desk showed us 314. Same thing...we told front desk to call hotel manager...we went for a drive..got a call an hour later..new room on other side... clean but had tomove to other side of hotel...was offered help...was told manager never responded..and he had little Leeway in AAA deal...food yuck high priced and not appetizing...breakfast was the same..restaurant dirty...ewww. management has yet to contact me..I left numbers and details...Booth bay is gorgeous but stay somewhere else...dated green carpet and border paper....for the price...save your money.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandrajeannie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59, General Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2013

Thank you once again for your review and detailed comments. For some reason we have just seen this Trip Advisor review today. We did respond directly 2 days after the date of this review, and we have taken steps to rectify the issues mentioned here and on the guest comment card. We are very sorry that your experience was less than satisfactory, and we hope that you give us another chance to prove ourselves. We do have many satisfied guests, and we take pride in our product and the services that we offer. We know that we fell short in this instance, but we are certain that another visit would show that we can do better. We absolutely want to offer our guests a quality experience, and we know we are able to provide that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

This was the second year staying At the tugboat inn. What a beautiful location. Peaceful. The specials are well worth the money. New big screen tv. Restaurant has great good and the staff were friendly. We will go back again. The only thing missing is a pool.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donnadeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.9 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
516 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
941 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brown's Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf Resort
Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf R...
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugboat Inn

Address: 80 Commercial St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1770
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £104 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tugboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown waterfront location directly on the harbor. Modern comfortable guestrooms with balconies, air conditioning, cable tv with free movie channel, telephone with voice mail, hair dryer, Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and personal amenities. Rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free local phone calls. Complimentary computer with DSL in hotel lobby. Complimentary wi-fi in most locations. Full service restaurant, seasonal cocktail lounge with patio deck, and marina with slip and mooring rentals all on site. Waterfront hot tub available for guests. Music at the piano bar in season. Special vacation packages available. Open mid April to late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Tugboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugboat Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Tugboat Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing