We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tugboat Inn”
Review of Tugboat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tugboat Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Kearny, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tugboat Inn”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We travel to Boothbay every August during the first week and always stay at the Tugboat. This year it was exceptionally nice. We really enjoyed the beautiful weather and the addition of Keurig coffee machines. The rooms are always clean and comfortable, but they could use an update. We enjoyed the restaurant (we discovered wonderful macaroni and cheese) and the bar with Danny Beal on the piano. We always book early (months in advance) and request four rooms on the pier. This year we were not accommodated so that was a little disappointing.

Room Tip: We like rooms on one of the piers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Embo224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    164
    59
    16
    8
See reviews for
100
241
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
everett, ma
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

This was our first time in Boothbay Harbor and would definitely stay at the Tug Boat Inn again. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because of their restaurant. It was expensive and the food wasn't that great. But there are so many places around the area that it doesn't really matter. Perfect location!! We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Get the corner room on the 2nd floor with a private deck. A lot of the rooms have shared decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CatleenL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pawtucket
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed the weekend of Oct 4, 2013. I was so amazed when we drove into Boothbay Habor all the lil shops and eateries. We both were very intrigued with the Tugboat Inn, great hospitality from the receptionist at check in/out, the waitresses at the Tugboat restaurant. The room we chose overlooked the harbor and I must say was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed our boat ride around the harbor as well. We had such a great time and will definately do it again next year. The Kenny's

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, ct
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed Columbus Day weekend to enjoy our anniversary of 18 years. The room was clean, with coffee maker, ironing board, hairdryer and plenty of towels, shampoo, conditioner, ect... We visited the lounge on Saturday night and was amazed with the closeness and following of the locals. The locals were wonderful and soo much fun to be with. Kay, the pianoist and entertainer for the evening has such a great following. She was lovely. The locals joined in and sang with her and played guitar, the spoons and good old wash tub. We laughed and sang along. Even Elvis, aka Kevin, appeared to sing with Kay. The shops in Boothbay were filled with buzzing shoppers. We had such a great time. We even took a schooner cruise that was within walking distance from the Tug Boat. We will be back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank landover1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brunswick, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed here Columbus Day weekend to attend a charity event and were pleasantly surprised. Very nice accommodations which were clean and well stocked. Room had a Krieg Coffee maker with K-cups, iron with board, hair dyer, all amenities that would be needed . Right on the water, wonderful view of Booth Bay's working harbor. Although Columbus weekend is the closing weekend for Booth Bay it is still booming and lots of great sales to be had. Looking forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annolope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We decided at the last minute to visit Boothbay Harbor after visting family in Westbrook, ME for 3 days. We had picked up a trip info sheet at our local AAA office thinking we might travel north for a few days after spending time at soccer games & pumpkin picking with our grandchildren. When I called AAA the package they had with the Tugboat Inn had expired that day so I called the Tugboat Inn directly. They had a package that was similar & just what we were looking for. We arrived later in the evening in the pitch dark so we were very surprised & happy to see our beautiful harbor view the next morning!! Our room on the pier had a great view of the harbor, boats etc & was in walking distance of shops, harbor cruises & much more. The staff at Tugboat were helpful & friendly. Our room was nice but small - the view made up for it though.
The continental breakfast included with our room was convenient & good. I would have liked a few more choices. DInner was excellent with a great view. We really enjoyed the harbor cruise that came with our package - a little chilly but a great view of Boothbay, the lighthouses & islands. We would highly recommend taking a boat cruise. We definitely will go back again & stay at the Tugboat Inn. We didn't have time to visit the Maine Botanical Gardens & some of the other sites. I think we would like to try a different room maybe in the main building with a balcony.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topsham, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Once I was able to reach reservations (they were busy the first day I called and were suppose to call me back but never did; so I had to call back the next day), it was a great experience. The woman I spoke with was wonderful and very accommodating. Our room was beautiful with a lovely view of the harbor. The room could have been stocked with a few more towels. We didn't see a light continental breakfast as advertised but we wanted a full breakfast so we didn't really need it. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heidi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
474 reviews
0.9 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
360 reviews
1.4 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
879 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brown's Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugboat Inn

Property: Tugboat Inn
Address: 80 Commercial St, PO Box 267, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1770
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tugboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown waterfront location directly on the harbor. Modern comfortable guestrooms with balconies, air conditioning, cable tv with free movie channel, telephone with voice mail, hair dryer, Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and personal amenities. Rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free local phone calls. Complimentary computer with DSL in hotel lobby. Complimentary wi-fi in most locations. Full service restaurant, seasonal cocktail lounge with patio deck, and marina with slip and mooring rentals all on site. Waterfront hot tub available for guests. Music at the piano bar in season. Special vacation packages available. Open mid April to late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Tugboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugboat Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Tugboat Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing