We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tugboat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tugboat Inn
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
346 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 293 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Our room was spotless and the bed extremely comfortable. Staff are helpful and friendly. If only the weather had not been so miserable during our brief stay, this would have been a perfect mini-break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    152
    57
    14
    8
See reviews for
97
226
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was our third time staying at the Inn. We can honestly say it is one of the nicest, cleanest, friendliest most accommodating places we have stayed. The view from our room was fabulous. I would recommend this Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Arkansas, United States
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We checked in on Monday night with no reservation. We had called and the receptionist was on another line and promised to call right back. After a few minutes of waiting, we drove on down to the hotel in hopes of getting a room Front desk was apologetic and gave us a manager's discount because she wasn't able to return the call! She was so helpful in getting us a room with two fabulous views! We even lucked out on the arrival of home-made cookies someone had just delivered. Our part of the hotel was built on piers over the water. We could sit in bed and look out over the harbor. The room was spotless, clean crisp sheets and a comfortable bed. Our deck was covered which was nice since there were a few sprinkles that week. We loved it so much was asked to spend a second night. We were fortunate that it was a few days before Memorial Day weekend before the crowds. I would tell you the room number but I don't want to have it "taken" when we return.lol The provided breakfast was down the street at another hotel. Odd, but tasty, with eggs, sausage, fruit, pastries, etc. and a great harbour view. Definitely a place we will return to!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

My friend and I checked in Saturday for one night. Room was a bit small but was clean and comfortable, with crisp sheets and a spotless bathroom. In any case, we spent very little time in the room. Having a balcony with the best view of the harbor was icing on the cake.

On check-out, I left my cell phone SIM cards in the room. 400 miles away, I realized this, called them, and they not only had found them but promised to mail them to me the following day. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

Room Tip: Go ocean side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hvidovre, Denmark
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at this inn for a couple of nights during "The Fishermanns Festival" - what a treat. Our rooms overlooked the outer harbour.They were roomy, modern and clean. Breakfast with eggs and bacon and all the usual motel stuff. The restaurant was OK, especially the Lobster bisque, the whole lobster was a bit la la.

Room Tip: We stayed on the Pier on the top floor - all rooms looked good but the two rooms at the end of the P...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HenrikVangPoulsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkinton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

My family and I spent a fabulous weekend in Boothbay Harbor for the annual Fisherman's Festival. The Tugboat Inn served as command central for our four families. Built on a peer over the water we couldn't have gotten much closer to the water and all downtown activites. Our rooms faced either the harbor or the bay providing us with spectacular views of the various activites common to an active fishing community.
The rooms were cozy and comfortable. Mike and I enjoyed sitting on the deck watching the birds and boats come and go.The adjoining restaurant provided us with a complimentary breakfast each morning and exquisite dining throught the day. Again, the view of the Harbor enhanced each entre. Service at the Inn and restaraunt was friendly and helpful. It was a great getaway! Can't wait to go again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank carolynhall49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springvale
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Over 30 years ago when my wife and I first got together we took a trip downeast. I had never been north of Freeport. The Tugboat Inn was one of our stops. It has changed since the last time we were there. Had a balcony and nice view of the harbor. Not many places were open. I really wish these seasonal businesses (restaurants in particular) would post on their websites "Closed for the Season". We saw a few interesting restaurants and looking at their websites you would think that they were open.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59, General Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thanks for coming back to see us. We are open April to November and love to see guests in the off season. Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.9 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
1.4 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Boothbay Harbor Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugboat Inn

Property: Tugboat Inn
Address: 80 Commercial St, PO Box 267, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1770
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Tugboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown waterfront location directly on the harbor. Modern comfortable guestrooms with balconies, air conditioning, cable tv with free movie channel, telephone with voice mail, hair dryer, Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and personal amenities. Rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free local phone calls. Complimentary computer with DSL in hotel lobby. Complimentary wi-fi in most locations. Full service restaurant, seasonal cocktail lounge with patio deck, and marina with slip and mooring rentals all on site. Waterfront hot tub available for guests. Music at the piano bar in season. Special vacation packages available. Open mid April to late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Tugboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugboat Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Tugboat Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing