We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one night stay in boothbay”
Review of Tugboat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tugboat Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed for 1 night in the main building on the 1st floor and found it to fit our needs perfectly travelling with 2 children. The room was clean and right in the downtown area of Boothbay Harbor. Comes with free breakfast buffet at a restaurant a short walk from the hotel.
We will stay here again if we return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brandon0072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (460)
There are newer reviews for Tugboat Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Wayward Wanderers (http://www.waywardwanderers.com) have stayed in quite a few places but none quite like this. This was PERFECT! Gorgeous views, walking distance to EVERYTHING and quiet at night!

The Tugboat part of this spot is charming and adds excitement for the whole family.

The hot tub right on the pier is a hidden treasure to this place and we were the only ones enjoying it during the Super Moon late in to the evening! It's one of the best hot tubs we've ever been in.

The accommodations were perfect for us 3 and the free parking can't was a convenient gem!

The next morning we enjoyed a complimentary buffet at their sister hotel and one last walk around to the shops in the harbor. Then headed out to our other destinations.

Tugboat Inn is conveniently close to the aquarium and railway. Only 3 miles to the aquarium and no need to fight back through the traffic on Commercial Street.

The next time we visit, we are going to stay here, without question.

Room Tip: Book it early and request a room on the second level.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Christina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

The Tugboat Inn is right in the downtown area of Boothbay Harbor which is why it gets a very good rating. The room however was old and the door did not seal causing wind to howl through the door at night. The nightclub had a fun piano player that played many requests and had a great local feel. $6.75 for a draft beer was a bit on the steep side however. I did enjoy getting up in the morning and walking around the town which was easily accessible from the Tugboat Inn.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have ill fitting doors causing noise in the room when the wind blows through the g...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EddieSander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My family and I lived in Boothbay Harbor for 12 years; during that time we dined at Tugboat's restaurant, booked 2 special occasion events with them, but of course, did not have the opportunity to stay as a hotel guest. We recently made a visit to the hotel as a guest, and feel that everyone should know that Tugboat Inn is superior! We just completed a second visit, and have a third already booked. First, I want to speak to the staff - they are superior in every way; concerned about guests, helpful, attentive, and go out of their way to see that everyone is comfortable. They made us feel at home! Next I will speak to the rooms themselves: they are more than I could have every imagined. Sparkling clean, well appointed, amenities including hairdryer, refrigerator (also sparkling clean) Keurig Coffee Maker, overhead fan, extra blankets, pillows and towels. The rooms are comfortable as well, and most have nice deck space (also meticulously maintained) with chairs to enjoy the location. Finally - there is free parking, and the downtown location can't be beat! Superior Inn... if you are in the area, this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BSS59, Manager at Tugboat Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Thank you Charlotte, so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Looking forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Though the weather was not ideal, my husband and I had a wonderful stay at the Tugboat. We had stayed here over ten years ago and couldn't wait to come back! Everything was perfect....the comfort of our room, the complimentary breakfast, and of course, the staff. I would recommend the Tugboat to anyone who was planning a trip to Maine!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank connie224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Outdated room decor yet clean and comfortable. Walking distance to everything, in fact we kept the car parked all weekend - with no additional parking fee. Staff very friendly and helpful. So many other places right around the Inn that I wish we would have researched for a couples weekend, especially for the $200/night. The Inn does attract a lot of boaters that either dock there or have moorings so it is perfect for visiting family / friends that may have a boat slip / dock or mooring close by.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Aimee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I have stayed at the Tugboat Inn 5 or 6 times over the past 10 years. The location in Boothbay Harbor and the gorgeous view are the strong points, along with the balconies. The hotel itself is very plain. It is furnished simply. There have been gradual upgrades over the years. The beds are reasonably comfortable. The WiFi is finally up to speed, although you need to log in every time that you use a wireless device. The bathrooms are plain, with one piece plastic shower/bath tub enclosures that place the shower heads at my eye level. The staff are very nice. This year, the included breakfast is now at the Fisherman's Wharf restaurant and is an improvement from previous offerings. The location is great, right in the middle of things. There is on site parking. It's a nice, comfortable place to base yourself when in Boothbay Harbor. One extra star for the location- this would be an average hotel anywhere else.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Joel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
507 reviews
0.9 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
539 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
378 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brown's Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugboat Inn

Address: 80 Commercial St, PO Box 267, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1770
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £96 - £168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tugboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown waterfront location directly on the harbor. Modern comfortable guestrooms with balconies, air conditioning, cable tv with free movie channel, telephone with voice mail, hair dryer, Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and personal amenities. Rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free local phone calls. Complimentary computer with DSL in hotel lobby. Complimentary wi-fi in most locations. Full service restaurant, seasonal cocktail lounge with patio deck, and marina with slip and mooring rentals all on site. Waterfront hot tub available for guests. Music at the piano bar in season. Special vacation packages available. Open mid April to late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your Tugboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugboat Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Tugboat Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing