We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”
Review of Tugboat Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tugboat Inn
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 October 2010

we have dined at tugboat many times before but this place has gone way downhill. food was bland and tasteless. my wife had lobster bisque that had NO lobster in it, just broth.my friend has some kind of fish that was nearly cold and no more than 4 ounces. next time it will be back to rocktide for a super meal.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lobsterloverAuburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (459)
There are newer reviews for Tugboat Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

428 - 434 of 459 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2010

this room was terrible... it needs to be updated and the size of this room was awful iwas told this had a queen size bed it was not... ,,, my husband and i have stayed at many hotels all over and the hotels in midtown manhatten are larger than that room.. first we were told they werent sold out for that night ... went to our room and saw how horrible it was went to the front desk and she couldnt do any thing about it not very friendly or helpful at the front desk... isnt the customer usually right???... wouldnt help us at all. stay clear of that hotel.....

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hyacinth2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 28 August 2010

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our rooms have either 1 king, 1 queen or 2 queen beds. We try to be very descriptive with our 21 different room types in 9 different price categories housed in 5 different buildings, especially when it comes to our 7 rooms at the end of the pier that we book as tiny room large view. We do hope that you will try us again in the future, I think you would enjoy one of our much larger guest rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

We had plans to stay two nights but the location: on the pier in the harbor, was so good we booked an extra night. Lovely breakfast: "take some with you if you want!" Nice people, Absolutely a gem!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank berty167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

We had a horrible experience with another hotel in Boothbay Harbor and just took a chance on calling the Tugboat Inn. Adam was great in ensuring he'd have rooms for us when we arrived and he in fact gave us keys to several rooms so we could pick the perfect view, etc. Thanks to Adam who went out of his way to help us... Great view, good nights sleep, etc. We will definitely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wearytraveler1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Having stayed at the Tugboat Inn several times we continue to enjoy the hotel.

Very good location on the waterfront, the room was clean and the service was good.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disstar10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We stayed at the Tugboat Inn in Boothbay Harbor for two nights with our teenage daughters. We had stayed at the Tugboat 20 years prior and loved the location. They have added on extensively over the last two decades and still have the best location on the harbor. All rooms have ocean/harbor views. Full service diningm pub, marina etc. Rooms are nice size but the bathrooms are only as large as you would find on a cruise ship. They failed to install any privacy barriers on the balconies, making it rather uncomfortable to sit out and enjoy the view with all your neighbors. Stay for two nights max, anything more and you will become disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2,103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2009

Pros: Beautiful location, nice views, clean rooms, short walk to area restaurants.
Cons:
Not set up for business travellers at all. The only wireless or Internet access offered was in the lobby, and there was no business centre or table to work on, so I had to set up on a chair in their tiny (and busy) lobby just to get some work done. No restrooms in the lobby meant that everytime I had to go, I had to pack up my laptop and all my work and head back to my room. Very inconvenient.

Breakfast was disappointing - just coffee, juice, bagels and pastries (no protein, not even peanut butter or yogurt.)

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TNCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
0.1 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
504 reviews
0.9 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#9 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
376 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
369 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brown's Wharf Inn
Brown's Wharf Inn
#3 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tugboat Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tugboat Inn

Address: 80 Commercial St, PO Box 267, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1770
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#5 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £96 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tugboat Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown waterfront location directly on the harbor. Modern comfortable guestrooms with balconies, air conditioning, cable tv with free movie channel, telephone with voice mail, hair dryer, Keurig coffee maker, refrigerator and personal amenities. Rates include continental breakfast, free parking and free local phone calls. Complimentary computer with DSL in hotel lobby. Complimentary wi-fi in most locations. Full service restaurant, seasonal cocktail lounge with patio deck, and marina with slip and mooring rentals all on site. Waterfront hot tub available for guests. Music at the piano bar in season. Special vacation packages available. Open mid April to late October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Tugboat Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tugboat Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Tugboat Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing