We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great service”
Review of Mine Oyster

Mine Oyster
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
York, PA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

Been to Boothbay many times, now our new favorite restaurant. Food was perfectly prepared, always attentive and friendly knowledgeable staff.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SteveYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    153
    58
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
USAFret
Level Contributor
244 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Good place”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We went here on the recommendation of our B&B. Neither one of us likes oysters or sushi but we looked at the menu before we went in and decided to try it. The place is large with a typical seaside decor. It has a nice harbor view. The wait staff was very friendly and very helpful. We had an appetizer of mussels that was excellent. My wife had a clam plate and I had grilled sausages both of which were very good. If you are an oyster fan I am sure this is heaven but even of you are not it is a good dinner and an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank USAFret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

This place has the freshest oysters you would hope to find. We discovered types of oysters we don't get back in Australia and kept going back for more. The place looks a little la little ramshackled inside but don't let that deter you. The food is very good Andrew reasonably priced. We also had the oyster 'rock a fella' stew which was really a creamy soup with oysters which was so delicious, I had to go back the next day to have it again! The view over the harbor is great and the service, given it was the end of the season was friendly and efficient. Pretty much everything will shut down here after Columbus Day, according to the locals but definitely try this place when you can.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BeanaMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Sushi and Oysters! Gluten free friendly!”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Wandered into this place not knowing what to expect without reading any reviews. Pub like atmosphere with great harbor views. My husband wanted oysters which was the reason we came in the door. He was impressed with quality. I am gluten free and wanted the sushi but was reluctant as ordering sushi can be tricky sometimes. The sushi chef (Harrison) came over and introduced himself. He completely understood gluten free. He brought me over gluten free soy sauce and made me two amazing rolls after asking me what I liked. The lobster, avocado, cucumber, mango roll with crumbles of fried shallots was the BEST roll I have ever had! Definitely will come here again. Very impressed!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hadley, New York
Level Contributor
247 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Great Oyster selection”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stopped in for just a cocktail - after seeing the menu decided to induldge in a few oysters. Selection was great! Service was good. They have a lot on their menu including sushi. I asked the waitress if they had rice or soy paper instead of nori. She apologized and said no. After ordering oysters and a Ginger salad (which was excellent) I reviewed the menu further and noticed that there were a few roll options that were made with rice paper. Really? I would have ordered rolls with rice paper too had I known. Oh well, her loss for increasing our bill.

Overall great place -sat on the deck as it was a gorgeous day. Service is good. Probably will return

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BellaGinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mine Oyster also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Mine Oyster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing