We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to like?”
Review of Dunton's Doghouse

Dunton's Doghouse
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
146 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“What's not to like?”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Whether you want a cheeseburger, hot dog, fried clams, whoopie pie......whatever......it's all good. This little shack has been there for decades owned and operated by the same fellow. I've never heard a complaint from anyone. It's a must see, must eat at BBH institution.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank 3tonkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    21
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Dogs & Burgs”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Been there twice for lunch as his dogs and hamburgers are quite a cut above all others..Curly fries are also good but I must draw a line when I pay a lot of money for a large onion ring order and wonder about what the small one looks like...It's only onion and the batter being 70% of the weight does not factor such a high price?? All in all what We ate was great and we will just never order rings again !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Akapol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Local food”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This is where the locals go for the best lobster rolls, clam chowder etc. It,s just a short walk to Sea Street and definitely worth it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotia, New York
Level Contributor
88 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“A nice change”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

OK....we have the room with a great view and a balcony 50 feet from the water. We don't want to "clean up" and drive far and hassle with parking and we're hungry and a bit tired of seafood (so much we're growing gills!). Solution....go to Duntons, park in front, place order and a few minutes later, a big container or two full of dogs, cheeseburgers, etc. is handed to us. Back to the motel and dinner on the balcony. Sometimes it just doesn't get any better than that! Good food, pleasant owner who works at his own business. Reasonable prices.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVL
2 reviews
“Mighty fine...”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have ate here before and the cheeseburgers are great.
5 stars to Dunton. the wife and i call it a must do when we stay in Boothbay Harbor.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank misbehaving1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dunton's Doghouse also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Dunton's Doghouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing