We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Day On The Water” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sail Muscongus Day Tours

Sail Muscongus Day Tours
Ranked #4 of 13 Tours in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Come sailing on Maine's last sailing wooden lobsterboat, the Sarah Mead! We will catch wind, laughter and maybe some lobster on your trip (it's called fishing for a reason). Seals, porpoise, lighthouses and other magnificent vessels around Boothbay Harbor are also typically visible.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
boston
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome Day On The Water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Took my family out w/ Captain Nate in early summer '14. Had planned on going on one of the bigger the harbor boats, but found this tour at the last minute -- the best decision we could have made. Captain Nate gave us our own personal tour of the harbor, showed us islands, lighthouses, and porpoises (right under the boat). Provided honest tourist info (we just moved into the area and are trying to figure out things to do), and checked out his lobster traps. Even though we only caught an eel, it was still really fun. Will definitely be back for another round.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank lincoln572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great sail, great boat, great crew”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

Sail Muscongus is a great contrast to the large tour boat operators in Boothbay Harbor. This seems to be a labor of love, not a business. As proof of that, I emailed Nate to make a reservation. We traded emails and set a time. That was it, no deposit, no credit card, just "see you at noon on Sunday."

Capt Nate and his dad restored their boat, and the maximum number of guests for a sail is 6, so you recieve a personalized trip. Nate knows a lot about the area, a lot about sailing and a lot about lobster fishing and he loves to share his knowledge.

A real bonus is that Nate also is a lobster fisherman, checking traps from a sailboat. This is a real art, and very interesting to see done so close up. Great experience for all ages and highly recommended. This was the highlight of our time in Boothbay Harbor.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JEG633
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great sail for a great price from some great guys.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

These guys are a top notch, small family business who have restored a fantastic boat and share it with the world. It is a great sail around Boothbay Harbor, and very personal. If you wonder what it'd be like to have a scoot about the harbor in your own 32' boat, this is it.

The newly installed electric motor makes this the quietest boat ride you will ever take. Extremely peaceful, and no diesel stink. Much, much better than a tour on the cattle boats hauling two dozen people around.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of my favorite activities on our trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

Captain Nate is very knowledgeable about the area (as well as sailing). First sail ever and I would definitely do it again. Max passenger count is 6 so it's a relaxing and custom experience vs. the larger ships with huge crowds. We saw seals, lighthouses, they hauled in a lobster trap so we saw lobster. Authentic experience on an authentically restored friendship sloop.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank 73194
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new orleans, la
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Sailing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

We went on the sunset sail tour. It was a perfect day wind just right. Captain Nate and Randy were great. Very informed about the area and it's landmarks. Checking the lobster traps was a great experience even though we had no keepers. Thanks Nate you made our trip very memorable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Chien1465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sail Muscongus Day Tours also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Sail Muscongus Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing