We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A breath of fresh air compared to traditional commercial boats” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sail Muscongus Day Tours

Sail Muscongus Day Tours
Ranked #4 of 13 Tours in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Come sailing on Maine's last sailing wooden lobsterboat, the Sarah Mead! We will catch wind, laughter and maybe some lobster on your trip (it's called fishing for a reason). Seals, porpoise, lighthouses and other magnificent vessels around Boothbay Harbor are also typically visible.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Avon, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A breath of fresh air compared to traditional commercial boats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We sailed with Captain Nate today, and enjoyed a great sail. The wind was in our favor, and we were able to see the sights of Boothbay Harbor. We saw osprey, porpoises, cormorants, and other sea birds. Capt. Nate was very knowledgeable and we greatly enjoyed our time on the water!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolette P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    3
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun and Relaxing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I drove from Portland to Boothbay for the day. Two hours with Randy and his intern Sara was so interesting. They are both very personable and knowledgeable about sailing, lobstering and the area. We saw a seal, porpoises, and an eagles nest. The weather was clear and the scenery is gorgeous. It was a relaxing way to spend my time!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank gaye w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Loved Sailing the Sarah Mead!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We took an afternoon sail with Captain Nate and Captain Randy with our two boys, ages 8 and 12, while staying at the Spruce Point Inn. According to our boys, it was the highlight of their time in Boothbay Harbor and we could not agree more. Captain Nate and Randy are friendly and personable and have excellent local knowledge of the area and nature which they share with you during the trip. The intimate size of the boat (6 people plus the 2 captains) makes the sailing experience much more fun and interactive than the larger schooner trips offered in the area. Both Randy and Nate are great with kids and my boys loved helping with the sails and learning a bit about sailing during our 2 hour sail. Pulling up the lobster trap was super fun and interesting. Highly recommend this trip if you are in Boothbay Harbor and/or staying at Spruce Point Inn. Worth every penny!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marybeth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome Sail!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went out on the afternoon sail with both Nate and Randy. Both were extremely knowledgeable about sailing and the area. We passed by 2 of the lighthouse's and saw some wildlife in the form of birds. Nate did pull a lobster trap but had only caught a beautiful crab. But that was ok too. Very relaxed trip as they only take 6 people out at a time. Highly recommend this father and son team!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Nate is great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We had a lovely sail on the Sarah Mead with Captain Nate. He was very informative and we learned a lot about the Maine coast - it's people, lobstering and more. His boat was comfortable and quite unique. Nate is also great with kids. Our sail was followed by a crab race back on the dock! We would recommend taking this leisurely and fun cruise with a small group over large ferry cruises any day.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Chafffamilytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sail Muscongus Day Tours also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Sail Muscongus Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing