We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a find! Cozy pub w/inventive cocktails, great food, service”

The Thistle Inn Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Thistle Inn Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: A piece of authentic Maine history, The Thistle Inn still stands as a place to gather and celebrate what makes life all the more worth living: great food, great company, and a home away from home. Originally built in 1861 for a prominent sea captain, our restaurant and Inn embody the unique period character of Maine’s past, with updated fixtures for modern comfort. From our seaside favorites to our world-class wine list, our menu is an exploration of classic coastal cuisine prepared with nature’s freshest ingredients. Guests looking to extend their visit will find six different lodging options at their fingertips, and the best of Boothbay Harbor just a short walk from their quarters. Whether it’s a meal that brings you to us, or an escape to our quaint Inn, we invite you to relax, stay awhile, and soak up some true downeast hospitality.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“What a find! Cozy pub w/inventive cocktails, great food, service”
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Wow - we've been going to midcoast Maine for decades, but for some reason never ventured out to Boothbay Harbor. This past weekend, not much was open, but we ended a long walk here on Friday night in time for Happy Hour and were surprised to find a line forming before it even opened. Now we know why. Sascha is a great bartender and the cocktails are inventive (basil infused sugar rimming a glass!). We returned the next night for dinner and found the place packed again but were lucky to get a table and enjoyed the fabulous mussels and bistro steak with a great veg medley of beets, carrots and spinach. House made bread was excellent. Great wine list. Cozy atmosphere. Wonderful staff. We liked this place so much if we return we'll probably lodge here as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BostonElsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    63
    17
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bora Bora
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Favorite winter spot”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The winter menu is great for those of us who live here year round. We always go to the Thistle Inn for mussels and a spinach salad, or their blue cheese burger and sweet potato fries, both of which are great! We love to sit at the bar, if there's room, or in the booths by the wood stove. It's cozy and warm, and the service is usually pretty good. If we want a bigger meal, I always go for the tuna tartar dinner which is cooked to perfection. I've had good steaks here, too. The only trouble is, if they get busy, the staff cannot handle a full house and service gets slow. But go on a weeknight, or early evening, and you'll never be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tentontuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wish we went elsewhere...”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Nothing memorable about the food, the only thing I can remember is how slow service was, the obnoxious conversations happening around us, and looking outside the window thinking about all of the other places we should have gone.

Helpful?
Thank txkristyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We invested over two hours of time waiting for dinner to be served. The soup was room temperature and the steak dinner, although flavorful, lukewarm. I was not about to send the dinner back to be rewarmed after waiting two hours for its delivery. The waitress was inattentive even though we repeatedly requested additional beverages she failed to deliver them. However when we were presented with the check the beverages that we failed to receive were included in the balance. There are other restaurants in the Boothbay area that are better options.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim24601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraza
Level Contributor
287 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Nicest place in town”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We checked the limited open restaurants in town and settled on the "Thistle". A beautiful back-room, a nice bar and an ok front room make up the restaurant. The service was very friendly and efficient. The shocking thing was the prices of Lobster!! While I can get a 1 1/4 lb lobster in New York City for $25, they cost the same here in Boothbay Harbor, their place of origine! The one served with risotto was not even 1lb and stringy. The rest of the meal was ok but nothing was outstanding.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UbErich F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thistle Inn Restaurant also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Thistle Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing