We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast and dinners1”

The Thistle Inn Restaurant
Price range: US$7 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A piece of authentic Maine history, The Thistle Inn still stands as a place to gather and celebrate what makes life all the more worth living: great food, great company, and a home away from home. Originally built in 1861 for a prominent sea captain, our restaurant and Inn embody the unique period character of Maine’s past, with updated fixtures for modern comfort. From our seaside favorites to our world-class wine list, our menu is an exploration of classic coastal cuisine prepared with nature’s freshest ingredients. Guests looking to extend their visit will find six different lodging options at their fingertips, and the best of Boothbay Harbor just a short walk from their quarters. Whether it’s a meal that brings you to us, or an escape to our quaint Inn, we invite you to relax, stay awhile, and soak up some true downeast hospitality.
Fayetteville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent breakfast and dinners1”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Foodies will love this place - fresh and tasty seafood and for my allergic hubby, great steak and chicken dishes!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daryl F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    65
    17
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Major Disappointment”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We went to this restaurant the last night of our week stay in Booth Bay Harbor. It was to be a special night out. This was supposed to be the "best" restaurant in Booth Bay Harbor. What a disappointment. We made reservations and dressed appropriately. Our party of five was shown to a back room where a large party was just wrapping up. The 15 ladies seemed to be having a good time and the waitress was friendly and chatting with them. They were probably local...we were not. She finally gets around to our drink order and her attitude was so different. Really acted like we were a nuisance when my husband was asking for recommendations. She is probably busy. Back to the fun table, more laughing and chatting while she is picking up the 15 different checks that she provided to the table. Offering them more bread to take home in their leftover bags. Back to us to get our food order. I ask about vegetarian options. Apparently that is like asking somebody if they beat their kids because she was really put out and said what was on the menu were my only options. She couldn't even tell me what they were. That would be a pizza and a some kind of spaghetti squash entrée. Often a restaurant will let a vegetarian order several sides. Not sure if that is possible here. . She said she would come back. No! It was hard enough getting her attention. Everybody orders and I get the spaghetti squash. She never brings bread. Maybe you have to order it. As new diners come to the other tables that have now been set up following the large groups departure, they are offered bread. Maybe it will come with our meals. Nope, never offered any. I heard her tell the other table how it was made in house. How lovely for them. Would you like more "Oh, no, I can't stop eating this and won't have room for dinner" Hahahaha. Food arrives. Stacey never comes to see if we need anything else. The food was okay. Not great. My spaghetti squash was terrible. The Sherman Zwicker (a kind of pizza) was okay. Scallops, okay, haddock, okay. It was all edible but nobody had anything they raved about and nobody thought the restaurant was worth going back to. The service was terrible. The ambience was like an old pub. We like old pub. We like just about anything. But the attitude we can do without. The bill without tip was $130. The restaurant at the Newagen was 10 times better in both food and service.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dragonmom I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Mississippi
Level Contributor
162 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Outdoor Dining at its Best”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you enjoy sitting outside under magnificent trees, eating really good food, and experiencing friendly service, this is the place. On a cool evening in Boothbay, there is no better spot for outdoor fine dining and no place better for fine dining (period) than perhaps the Spruce Point Inn. We had baked Haddock, fresh salads, and just the right dessert to finish off the meal. More than worth the visit.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank southerntravelerms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
242 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Excellent Seafood and Service”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Enjoyed our dinner and being hosted by Sasha and Richard. Generous martinis, charred Caesar salad fresh raw oysters, a supple california chardonnay, and seared halibut dinner feature- all were delicious. Be back very soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank westlakeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A Year-Round Special Occasion Choice in Boothbay Harbor”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We always look forward to coming here. In the summer, the outdoor garden with the lights in the trees provide a magical atmosphere. Despite being so close to downtown, the garden is quiet and a wonderful place to enjoy a leisurely dining experience. In the winter, the bar is cozy, the dining rooms are full of people you know. There are always wonderful choices on the ever-changing menu. We think of The Thistle as a special-occasion place to be enjoyed often, like to celebrate - It's Friday!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CricketNut91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Thistle Inn Restaurant also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to The Thistle Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing