We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Blue Heron Seaside Inn
Ranked #11 of 15 Boothbay Harbor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Lovely, well -appointed B & B located right on Boothbay Harbor and very short walk to the village, shops, restaurants and attractions. Owners, Laura and Phil, are delightful, accommodating and knowledgeable, both being from there or nearby. My husband particularly enjoyed conversation with Phil and our bed(Room 6) was so comfy! We will definitely recommend the Blue Heron!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 324ellene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaineSeabreeze, Owner at Blue Heron Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Blue Heron Seaside Inn. We appreciate your kind words, and are happy to know we met your expectations. It was our pleasure meeting you. Happy future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have stayed at several Inns and Hotels from around the world and find The Blue Heron Seaside Inn a hidden jewel. We found that the rooms were spotless and very tastefully decorated. We had plenty of room for our personal belongings in the closets, and bureaus. And our room #3 had a very spacious bathroom to include a hairdryer, tub-shower and vanity sink. We had a beautiful water-view from our bedroom and enjoyed soaking in the sun on the waterfront lawn. We enjoyed our afternoon treat of homemade cookies and afternoon tea on our deck and the breakfast in the morning was always such a treat. Especially the early morning coffee and homemade breads and muffins. The hosts Phil and Laura were very friendly and helped us with boat rides and our visit to the Botanical Gardens (a must see). FYI, as a guest, we were able to get special priced tickets to whale watch and Botanical Gardens. The location of the Blue Heron Inn is perfect for exploring the town as everything is just a short stroll away. Overall we were extremely satisfied with our experience and appreciated the attention to every detail. The flowers in the front were spectacular and the property was well attended at all times. We lacked nothing. We most certainly rate this Inn up there on our list of accommodations in Maine and recommend highly. We are looking forward to our next trip next year to the Blue Heron Inn.

Room Tip: Book in advance as the Inn fills up very quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaineSeabreeze, Owner at Blue Heron Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Blue Heron Seaside Inn. Our greatest pleasure is welcoming our guests who return year after year. We look forward to seeing you again this summer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have a lot of experience with high level inns and B&Bs, and also with lesser ones. This was one of the lesser. We stayed 3 nights, and will not be back. While our bedroom was well appointed, it did not have a dresser, but rather a fragile antique cabinet and a small closet for our belongings. The closet also held a small refrigerator, into which one could put some of the Bud Light beer that the host left out for guests. The eating area is small, and comfortable, just right for quiet intimate conversation in the morning until the host, Phil, intrudes. It is as if someone gave him a script to read, because it was unfailingly the same each morning. He did announce to guests that he gives "a little quiz" each morning, starting with: "What did you do last night?", followed by "Where did you eat?" followed by "What did you eat?" and rounding up with "What are you going to do today?". He did this with every guest/couple. If you enjoy being interrogated in the morning, this is the place for you. While it was clear that he thought that his inquisitive-ness was just part of his duties as host, we found it to be quite intrusive and rude, and he seemed never to get the hint when we were short with answers or just ignored him. He was just not very perceptive. As mentioned, it was as if someone told him: This is what hosts do. We were not the only ones who found him annoying, as people rolled their eyes when he left their area. Breakfast was subpar for the price of the room. On the other hand, the place was quite clean and convenient to the downtown.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank InnChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaineSeabreeze, Owner at Blue Heron Seaside Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Thank you for selecting Blue Heron Seaside inn for your October visit to Boothbay Harbor. We are happy to know you found your room well appointed, clean and conveniently located to town. Although you felt the inn was 'comfortable', we regret you were not completely satisfied with your stay.
Perhaps it was overlooked at your welcome briefing to explain all of our breakfast seating options. Besides the inside dining area with the individual tables and the group table, there are also takeaway trays for those who prefer to eat in the intimacy of their own room, or on their outside covered deck overlooking the bay. I can assure you the intention of your host was a warmhearted hospitality attempt to engage conversation amongst guests in sharing travel experiences. He sometimes adds a lobster story or two, which most find interesting and fun. If you felt bothered, we are truly sorry for that.
Our afternoon complimentary offerings while you were here included homemade cookies and tea, plus a variety of cold beverages. We hope you found something to enjoy.
We appreciate the time you took this busy time of year to review your stay. All comments are important to us, and they are used as an aid in improving our service. I'll use this opportunity to update our website with the shared micro/frig closet space clarification in room #2 Seabreeze for future travelers with large luggage, so they may select the room best suited for them. Our apology for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
We wish you peace and joy this holiday season, and always... happy future travels!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We recently stayed at Blue Heron in Booth Bay Harbor, Maine Oct. 21-22, 2013. I just want to express want a truly wonderful experience we had, Phil and Laura and Maria were simply great.
Wonderful breakfast in the morning along with great conversation and knowledge of area and attractions and fantastic restaurants. the Inn is beautiful and VERY comfortable and extremely neat, clean and tidy. We stayed in room #4, the bed was very comfortable, the room has a great view. I enjoyed watching the tide come in and out!
We are already planning a return visit.
Thank You,
Karen& Richard Greene
Diamondhead,Ms/New Orleans

Room Tip: room # 4 all rooms were beautiful! great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

This inn, located right on the water, offers spectacular views of the harbor from the deck. The breakfasts are excellent. And the owners and their daughters are very warm, inviting, and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. It is pricey, but well worth it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jack M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

This was our first trip to Boothbay harbor. We chose the Blue Heron for the proximity to town and because the rooms looked beautiful. We were not disappointed! The location is perfect and the room was so comfortable --- it's a wonder we were able to get out of that big comfy bed!

We enjoyed our mornings with Phil, Laura and Maria. Both Phil and Laura were quite helpful with tourist info. The breakfasts were adequate but not amazing. It might be worth adding a side dish to the serving --- just something a little extra like potatoes with the eggs? On our last morning we decided to venture out to the Blue Moon cafe for some pancakes and a view of the harbor.
The cookies were a nice touch in the afternoon and enjoyed the swing by the water. Suggest maybe adding a hammock or a few more adirondack chairs by the dock.

Overall, we loved our experience at the Blue Heron and will definitely return if we are ever again in Boothbay.

Room Tip: The rooms on the corners facing the harbor have more privacy and better views. We stayed on the thir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samry19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

A lovely location and beautiful clean, large and comfortable rooms make this place hard to beat! we had a wonderful two night stay with delightful home cooked breakfasts each day setting us up for exploring this gorgeous part of the country. The owners are helpful, friendly and genuinely welcoming, and we tried hard to think how we could improve the place... and failed! We are very sad to leave and determined to return.

Room Tip: the top floor rooms have best view and most private balcony choose number 6 if you can we think it i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfhmgusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
464 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
368 reviews
1.6 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfront
Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfr...
#8 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
284 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Ark Inn
Atlantic Ark Inn
#5 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
314 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#7 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Seaside Inn

Address: 65 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1843
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £188 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Heron Seaside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront, in-town Boothbay Harbor, the newly renovated 1880's Blue Heron Seaside Inn offers six luxury size rooms and suites all with harbor views, seaside decks and modern amenities. All rooms have king or queen beds, spacious sitting area, and A/C. Dock with kayaks are available exclusively for our guests. Park on site and enjoy the convenience of fine restaurants and boating activities at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Blue Heron Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Seaside Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing