We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Piece of Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Blue Heron Seaside Inn
Ranked #11 of 15 Boothbay Harbor B&B and Inns
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Piece of Paradise”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I were looking for something quaint for a quick overnight visit while in the area. He located Blue Heron and discovered there was a 2-night minimum stay. He contacted the owners and they were gracious to let us stay just 1 night. The place was just perfect!! Laura & Phil, the owners, along with Alice, their helper, were so helpful making sure we saw everything we could possibly see with our limited time. The Inn is beautiful. Our room was very nicely appointed, with all the amenities we needed. We enjoyed sitting on the porch watching the birds and the tides come in and out. The breeze was so nice coming through, too. The breakfast was delicious! We are looking forward to returning next year for at LEAST 2 nights!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room #2. Very nice location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rae W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    15
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
118
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

While we generally stay in Boothbay Harbor over the 4th of July, we decided to try a beautiful Bed and Breakfast we have always walked by near the downtown area. We were in luck, as they had a room. It was even better than we had anticipated. Stunning views, comfortable bed and incredible breakfasts, this B&B exceeded all of our expectations. The hosts were wonderful, the flowers were in full bloom and even thought it was raining, we had an excellent time. We would highly recommend this place to anyone who wants to get away.

Room Tip: Room 6 is exquisite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Have you ever wondered what it would be like to live in an old people's home? Then this is the place for you. Horrible, musty smell in the rooms. Flower patterns everywhere. Extremely unfriendly staff. The only good thing about Boothbay is the Lobster Dock on the other side of the bridge. Otherwise, please avoid. If they were a little friendlier, if the rooms had a little more attention to detail and they were to modernise, the place may not be so bad. Please - if you don't like running a B & B - don't.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brid49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaineSeabreeze, Owner at Blue Heron Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you for choosing Blue Heron Seaside Inn for your recent visit to Boothbay Harbor.

It's unfortunate that upon your arrival of your two day reservation you had the news to leave a day early to meet friends out of the area. We do our best, but when we're unable to fill last minute cancellations for reservations made well in advance such as yours, we regret we are unable to give refunds.

I was happy to have helped you to your room with your luggage, and to see that you seemed to have enjoyed relaxing on the waterfront lawn. However, we're sorry Boothbay Harbor and Blue Heron Seaside Inn did not fully meet your expectations.

Many wishes for happy future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We recently returned from our week long stay at the Blue Heron and we absolutely loved it! The room that we stayed in (#4) was clean, spacious, and well decorated with a great view and comfortable bed. My husband loved the recliner as well. Breakfast was always a highlight and the food was wonderful. Our hosts Phil and Laura were great and Alice was wonderful as well. They were so friendly and knowledgeable about the area and made us feel right at home. We enjoyed hearing stories about the area and greatly appreciated any and all advice regarding places to go, things to do, and where to eat. We enjoyed every minute of our stay and cannot wait to return next year!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sd2245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaineSeabreeze, Owner at Blue Heron Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
We enjoyed sharing stories with you! Thank you for sharing your comments. Have a great year and, happy future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Lovely, well -appointed B & B located right on Boothbay Harbor and very short walk to the village, shops, restaurants and attractions. Owners, Laura and Phil, are delightful, accommodating and knowledgeable, both being from there or nearby. My husband particularly enjoyed conversation with Phil and our bed(Room 6) was so comfy! We will definitely recommend the Blue Heron!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 324ellene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaineSeabreeze, Owner at Blue Heron Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Blue Heron Seaside Inn. We appreciate your kind words, and are happy to know we met your expectations. It was our pleasure meeting you. Happy future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We have stayed at several Inns and Hotels from around the world and find The Blue Heron Seaside Inn a hidden jewel. We found that the rooms were spotless and very tastefully decorated. We had plenty of room for our personal belongings in the closets, and bureaus. And our room #3 had a very spacious bathroom to include a hairdryer, tub-shower and vanity sink. We had a beautiful water-view from our bedroom and enjoyed soaking in the sun on the waterfront lawn. We enjoyed our afternoon treat of homemade cookies and afternoon tea on our deck and the breakfast in the morning was always such a treat. Especially the early morning coffee and homemade breads and muffins. The hosts Phil and Laura were very friendly and helped us with boat rides and our visit to the Botanical Gardens (a must see). FYI, as a guest, we were able to get special priced tickets to whale watch and Botanical Gardens. The location of the Blue Heron Inn is perfect for exploring the town as everything is just a short stroll away. Overall we were extremely satisfied with our experience and appreciated the attention to every detail. The flowers in the front were spectacular and the property was well attended at all times. We lacked nothing. We most certainly rate this Inn up there on our list of accommodations in Maine and recommend highly. We are looking forward to our next trip next year to the Blue Heron Inn.

Room Tip: Book in advance as the Inn fills up very quickly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaineSeabreeze, Owner at Blue Heron Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay at Blue Heron Seaside Inn. Our greatest pleasure is welcoming our guests who return year after year. We look forward to seeing you again this summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeast
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We have a lot of experience with high level inns and B&Bs, and also with lesser ones. This was one of the lesser. We stayed 3 nights, and will not be back. While our bedroom was well appointed, it did not have a dresser, but rather a fragile antique cabinet and a small closet for our belongings. The closet also held a small refrigerator, into which one could put some of the Bud Light beer that the host left out for guests. The eating area is small, and comfortable, just right for quiet intimate conversation in the morning until the host, Phil, intrudes. It is as if someone gave him a script to read, because it was unfailingly the same each morning. He did announce to guests that he gives "a little quiz" each morning, starting with: "What did you do last night?", followed by "Where did you eat?" followed by "What did you eat?" and rounding up with "What are you going to do today?". He did this with every guest/couple. If you enjoy being interrogated in the morning, this is the place for you. While it was clear that he thought that his inquisitive-ness was just part of his duties as host, we found it to be quite intrusive and rude, and he seemed never to get the hint when we were short with answers or just ignored him. He was just not very perceptive. As mentioned, it was as if someone told him: This is what hosts do. We were not the only ones who found him annoying, as people rolled their eyes when he left their area. Breakfast was subpar for the price of the room. On the other hand, the place was quite clean and convenient to the downtown.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InnChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaineSeabreeze, Owner at Blue Heron Seaside Inn, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Thank you for selecting Blue Heron Seaside inn for your October visit to Boothbay Harbor. We are happy to know you found your room well appointed, clean and conveniently located to town. Although you felt the inn was 'comfortable', we regret you were not completely satisfied with your stay.
Perhaps it was overlooked at your welcome briefing to explain all of our breakfast seating options. Besides the inside dining area with the individual tables and the group table, there are also takeaway trays for those who prefer to eat in the intimacy of their own room, or on their outside covered deck overlooking the bay. I can assure you the intention of your host was a warmhearted hospitality attempt to engage conversation amongst guests in sharing travel experiences. He sometimes adds a lobster story or two, which most find interesting and fun. If you felt bothered, we are truly sorry for that.
Our afternoon complimentary offerings while you were here included homemade cookies and tea, plus a variety of cold beverages. We hope you found something to enjoy.
We appreciate the time you took this busy time of year to review your stay. All comments are important to us, and they are used as an aid in improving our service. I'll use this opportunity to update our website with the shared micro/frig closet space clarification in room #2 Seabreeze for future travelers with large luggage, so they may select the room best suited for them. Our apology for any inconvenience this may have caused you.
We wish you peace and joy this holiday season, and always... happy future travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
488 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
453 reviews
0.0 mi away
Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfront
Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfr...
#8 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
#5 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
354 reviews
1.6 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
895 reviews
0.3 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf Resort
Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf R...
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Heron Seaside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Heron Seaside Inn

Property: Blue Heron Seaside Inn
Address: 65 Townsend Ave, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1843
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Heron Seaside Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the waterfront, in-town Boothbay Harbor, the newly renovated 1880's Blue Heron Seaside Inn offers six luxury size rooms and suites all with harbor views, seaside decks and modern amenities. All rooms have king or queen beds, spacious sitting area, and A/C. Dock with kayaks are available exclusively for our guests. Park on site and enjoy the convenience of fine restaurants and boating activities at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Heron Seaside Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Heron Seaside Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing