We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but the piano player needs work”

Windows on the Harbor at The Boothbay Harbor Inn
Price range: US$5 - US$26
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Reservations
Cosby, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
550 reviews
446 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Good food, but the piano player needs work”
Reviewed 27 September 2011

This was our first visit to this restaurant although we visit Boothbay Harbor every September.

We were seated at a window seat overlooking the harbor activity at 6:00 PM. Kitty, our server, was excellent. The food was good, but not great. My wife had the Lobster Fra Diavlo and I tried the Fish and Chips. The taste of the sweet lobster was overshadowed by the medium hot spices in the recipe. My Fish and Chips, served as fried haddock and French fries was simplistic as expected. I have not found many places in the US where you get real chips as you might in the UK.

The place caters to bus tours that stay at the Inn which was the case when we were in attendance. They had hired a piano player that needed a few more lessons before being let loose on the general public. The old folks with the bus tour just turned down their hearing aids.

We probably will not be back with the vast amount of good restaurants in Boothbay Harbor. See my other reviews for our better suggestions.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    21
    7
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor Locks, Ct
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great dinner, but a little hard to find.”
Reviewed 24 September 2011

If you drive by their driveway, or turn in the wrong one, no sweat because everybody does.
Arrived Friday Sept 16th, a little later, 8:15pm and they stop serving at 8:30pm. The hostess seated us promptly. As we enjoyed a cocktail and read the menu, the view out the windows of Boothbay Harbor is magnificent. Across the water the town lights and the boats at their moorings. The meals we had were very well prepared, cooked perfect, and piping hot. A very relaxing, pleasant evening. It's worth the effort to find their driveway in.
Enjoy.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jbissett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
2 reviews
“Wonderful dinner!”
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We went to The Windows on the Harbor restaurant because we saw them listed in the Boothbay Harbor restaurant week ad. Everything was just great.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
1,110 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,664 helpful votes
“Delightfully Quaint with Sunset over the Harbor!”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Everybody loves to treat themselves to restaurants while on vacation. Most of us gravitate toward fancy decor and celebrity chefs, but sometimes a quiet place across the harbor can be just as good. It is so with Windows on the Harbor, a restaurant on the main floor of the Boothbay Harbor Inn.

The room is simply decorated with blue awnings outside which are raised as the sun sets. A small bar sits at one end of the room and only nautical paintings distract from the real star here....the incredible food. On my last visit, I enjoyed a perfectly made bone-dry martini with two olives. The drink was about four ounces which didn't all fit in the glass. A small carafe was provided for the backup...nice touch. I ordered a baked seafood trio with a salad and steamers to start. The seafood trio was well-prepared and topped with buttered panko crumbs that gave the dish nice crunch. The shrimp, scallops, and haddock were delicately cooked and tastes were each easy to savor. Steamers were succulent and nicely served. One of my companions got the lobster fritters for a starter. They looked great.

Kevin at the piano is another reason to dine here. His medley of show and movie tunes were delightfully retro. He took the time to table hop and get requests. Nice guy and a credit to the restaurant.

The restaurant is very pleasant without a dress code. Wait staff couldn't be nicer...and the food is classic with a twist. So walk across the footbridge to the Boothbay Harbor Inn and try this place. I highly recommend.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank redeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food - you need to check it out.”
Reviewed 9 July 2011

If you haven't checked out the Boothbay Harbor Inn Windows on the Harbor Restaurant then you don't know what you're missing. The BEST jerk chicken skewers ever and the seafood fettucini was perfect - not too heavy and a lot of seafood. Great sunset, nice and quiet, tucked away on the east side. We will definitely go again!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BSS59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Windows on the Harbor at The Boothbay Harbor Inn also viewed

 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Windows on the Harbor at The Boothbay Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing