We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in town”
Review of Ports of Italy

Ports of Italy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Come and explore the cuisine of the Ports of Italy from our cozy restaurant on the waterfront in Boothbay Harbor.
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Excellent authentic Italian food, properly prepared and fresh. By far the best restaurant in Boothbay Harbor

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaS663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    689
    185
    59
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Never been disappointed”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We go there often during the summer and the owner makes sure that all his patrons are pleased with their food experience. He supervises all that goes on at every moment. Authentic Italian menu, all delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I really liked it!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I didn't expect much from an Italian restaurant in Boothbay (even after reading reviews). But we went, we enjoyed, and I can still remember how fantastic the butternut squash ravioli was.

Helpful?
Thank txkristyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Vermont
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian food, personable service and ocean views!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We were greeted cheerfully and seated at an inside table with a view of the harbor. Our waiter, Josh, was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. We began with an appetizer plate of prosciutto, salami, capicolla, goat cheese and olives, and that set the tone for the rest of the excellent meal. Each dish was beautifully presented, but unpretentious - as if a superb chef were preparing dinner for friends. This is not nose-in-the-air stuffy; the attitude is more "we're so glad you dropped in". We dined on rolled veal with sausage and porcini mushrooms in an Italian marsala reduction, and the Catch of the Day, which was branzino, boned tableside by the owner. The veal melted in your mouth and the fish was crisp on the outside, done to perfection and wonderfully flavorful. Ice cream and a lovely fruit tart finished the meal with something sweet, but light.
We visit Boothbay Harbor every summer, and it's easy to see why Ports of Italy rates #3 on Trip Advisor (with the coveted #1 spot going to the local homemade ice cream parlor).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VTOceanLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Ehhhhh”
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Maybe it was a bad night. All attitude from the moment we walked in and it never really got better. Owner and waiter acted like they were doing us a favor. Food was OK but couldn't get past the weird ambiance and lackluster waiter. Have had good experiences here before, but will not return. Disappointing overall, especially when you're spending that kind of money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TARCY2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ports of Italy also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Ports of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing