We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Classy & Delicious”
Review of Ports of Italy

Ports of Italy
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Come and explore the cuisine of the Ports of Italy from our cozy restaurant on the waterfront in Boothbay Harbor.
Glenwood, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Classy & Delicious”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Wonderful & innovative choices like squid ink pasta, served in a professional yet very friendly atmosphere.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Reggie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    689
    185
    59
    25
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Arkansas, United States
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian cuisine!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The restaurant was just a block from our hotel. It is located upstairs near the end of the business area. Service was fit for a king and queen! The maitre d was warm and friendly and gave us a choice of whether to sit outside or inside. Because it was a bit cool we sat inside. Our waitress was delightful! We enjoyed a wonderful appetizer of cheeses, salami, prosciutto and olives. For the entree I had CIOPPINO DI PESCE, a most wonderful bowl of scallops,shrimps, calamari, mussels and littleneck clams simmered in a white wine and tomato herb broth. It quite possibly was the best seafood dish I have ever eaten. Husband had TAGLIATELLE ALLA BOLOGNESE which was made with strips of fresh homemade pasta with a meat and tomato ragu. There was none left on his plate after eating. I so wish this place was not 1500 miles away!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in town”
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Excellent authentic Italian food, properly prepared and fresh. By far the best restaurant in Boothbay Harbor

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaS663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boothbay Harbor, Maine
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Never been disappointed”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We go there often during the summer and the owner makes sure that all his patrons are pleased with their food experience. He supervises all that goes on at every moment. Authentic Italian menu, all delicious!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“I really liked it!”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I didn't expect much from an Italian restaurant in Boothbay (even after reading reviews). But we went, we enjoyed, and I can still remember how fantastic the butternut squash ravioli was.

Helpful?
Thank txkristyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ports of Italy also viewed

Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
Boothbay Harbor, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Ports of Italy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing