We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fisherman's Wharf”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2012

The Inn is very convenient and the staff was very helpful, particularly the valet service personnel.The free breakfast makes it a very good value. The rooms are very clean. Mine had a good view overlooking the harbor. The only downside is that the rooms are largely functional as opposed to having any real charm. The other problem is that the walls are ceilings are thin and the noise can be an issue if your neighbors are loud or et up earlier than you.

Room Tip: Third Floor is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelwiseNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2012

One concern I have with booking a room at a seasonal property along the coast is whether the room will be musty smelling. My concern was heightened in this case because the hotel is built on pilings over the harbor. As it turned out, there was not the slightest problem. Our room was on the 2nd floor was airy and ample in size. Though the furnishings were a bit dated, the room was well maintained and clean. We had ample closet and space in a nightstand for our week’s worth of clothes. The bathroom was functional though there was not sufficient space for our toiletries. Our mini deck overlooking a working dock with a partial view of the harbor was perfect for enjoying a morning coffee or glass of wine before dinner.

Included in our rate was a 1.5 hour harbor cruise on the whale watch vessel and an expanded breakfast buffet (see separate reviews). Both should not be missed so plan accordingly if you are only staying for one night. Overall we felt Fisherman’s Wharf Inn offered good value, a convenient location to downtown at a fair rate so we plan on returning next year.

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank westie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

The Fisherman's Wharf Inn is, in may ways, a trip back in time to simpler days. It is the classic beach hotel. The rooms are simply furnished and on the small side but, in most cases, with a million dollar view. We were lucky and had room 230 which has a great view, a king bed and the hotel's first really modern bathroom with double sinks, "marble" counters and a giant shower with a rainfall head. The valet parking runs smoothly and the staff are all extremely helpful and friendly. Others here have described the buffet breakfast which we found to be excellent.

We ate two dinners at the hotel, one of which was the super bargain lobsters. We found the wait staff (largely university students) to be efficient and enthusiastic with none of the long waits some previous guests have complained about. The hotel throws in an hour long harbour cruise for free,

Would we come back again. Not a doubt!

Room Tip: Try to get room 230 with its modern bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fr. George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

After checking-in, the valet assisted us with our luggage. Our room on the 2nd floor offered a view of a docked whale watch boat plus a partial view of the patio. The room itself was a bit dated, but very clean and served our purposes. The bed provided good support and there enough closet and draw space to handle our clothes. We found the hotel and dining staff to be very pleasant. The location is hard to beat as it is in town. We plan on staying/dining here in the future.

We stayed at the inn so on our first night in town we decided to dine in the restaurant. I stopped by earlier in the day and made a reservation for an outside table at 6:30PM. Either inside or out, each table has a wonderful view of the harbor area. We shared a very modest spinach salad that included 4 slices of crisp bacon, an egg cut in half and about a dozen baby spinach leaves – way overpriced at $9. My wife ordered the farm raised salmon entrée that included a pair of tasty crab and potato cakes plus tempura asparagus (she swears they were green beans). I ordered sole stuffed, two filets stuffed with house made smoked salmon accompanied by mashed potatoes and sautéed (frozen) spinach. Both dishes were pretty good, but short of outstanding.

On the next day I noticed a sign outside the Inn advertising a lobster special: 1 for $10, 2 for $15 and 3 for $20. I inquired if the special was available in the dining room and was told yes so I booked us again for a table on the outside patio for the day following. We each ordered twin lobsters plus and shared 3 sides; baked potato, smashed red potatoes and a boring coleslaw. The lobsters were very good as was the service. I was able to use a restaurant.com gift certificate for both of dinners which brought the menu prices down to bargain basement levels.


Since we were staying at the inn with a complimentary expanded breakfast buffet included, we dined there 3 mornings. Over the course of our stay we sampled cook to order easy over eggs, spinach and cheese omelets and make your own waffles with whipped cream and strawberries. Other dishes we tried included baked ham, breakfast potatoes, bacon, fresh fruit salad with yogurt, and one pastry. Everything was decent, but it is best to arrive early because turnover for many of the choices was very slow. Service was exceptionally slow to non existent.

Room Tip: Purchase a restaurant.com gift certificate if you plan on dining in the restaurant. Also, make a re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDeskManager_FWI, General Manager at Fisherman's Wharf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We hope to see you again in the near future- we are now serving a full breakfast menu, included in the price of your stay at the Fisherman's Wharf Inn. We anticipate running the same lobster special this summer, and would love for you to sample this year's menus. See you soon on the coast of Maine!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

Food was very good. Room simple but clean. Hotel is within walking distance to everything. We stayed in rm. 106. Great until 9:00PM across the way a band played until 1:15 in the morning. Both Friday and Sat. night. It was like it was in the bed room. Could not sleep both nights. Finally called the front desk Sat. night. Totally unacceptable. I wished they would of told us about the problem.

Room Tip: Ask about the noise problem before you book!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDeskManager_FWI, Front Office Manager at Fisherman's Wharf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent experience at the Fisherman's Wharf Inn. I am truly sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations. The noise for our neighbors across the channel can be a real problem on certain nights, and I am truly sorry that were not able to rectify the situation. It is our routine to inform the local police when there are noise complaints; they are the ones who enforce the local noise ordinance. Should you decide to give us another chance, I would be happy to work with you to find a more comfortable room in a quieter portion of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

The hotel has been purchased by someone new. we have been staying here for years, but this year the service was poor. the room was way over priced and under sized. it was less than you would expect for a cheap roadside motel. poorly laid out and very worn furnishings. We won't be returning!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ted S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDeskManager_FWI, Front Office Manager at Fisherman's Wharf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your last visit to the Fisherman's Wharf Inn. I am incredibly sorry that your stay with us failed to meet your expectations. We have always appreciated your loyalty to us, and truly hope that you will give us another chance to prove ourselves to you. I ensure you the entire staff here is working hard towards the goal of providing a wonderful experience for our guests; we will continue to update and modernize our guest rooms, so as to better provide a positive lodging experience, and I truly hope that you will decide to visit again so that I may personally show you some of the updates that are sure to come. Thank you again for your time, and please accept my profound apology.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We had a great stay. Our room, 103, had a really great view of the harbor from our private balcony. The staff let us check in early and stow our bags while we went out to the Cabbage Island lobster experience which departed just steps from the Inn. The complimentary breakfast was delicious. We were given a late check-out at noon which completed out our fabulous 24 hours!

Room Tip: Rooms 101, 102, and 103 all have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FrontDeskManager_FWI, General Manager at Fisherman's Wharf Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you for your kind words, and we look forward to your next visit with us. Cabbage Island opens June 25th, and we offering a great package this year. Hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
0.1 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
474 reviews
0.8 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
549 reviews
0.8 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ocean Gate Resort
Ocean Gate Resort
#1 of 3 in Southport
376 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Boothbay Harbor Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf Resort
Boothbay Harbor Oceanside Golf R...
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fisherman's Wharf Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fisherman's Wharf Inn

Address: 22 Commercial St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1822
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
#8 Family Hotel in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £117 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fisherman's Wharf Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Boothbay Harbor, the Fisherman's Wharf Inn has been a Maine summer tradition since 1946. We offer 54 guest rooms with harbor views, exquisite waterfront dining, and a central location convenient to all the harbor's shopping, dining and excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fisherman's Wharf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel Boothbay Harbor
Fishermans Wharf Hotel
Fisherman's Wharf Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing