We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maine Coast”
Review of The Thistle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Thistle Inn
Ranked #14 of 15 Boothbay Harbor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Heritage room roomy but on 3rd floor up 2 flights of steep stairs (only for the fit & healthy). Can't say enough about the breakfasts & evening dine. Excellent service, high quality food, great variety & good wine. Outside dining area is very pleasant. DS, LMD

Room Tip: Stairs are very steep here but otherwise a fine place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DS_LMD1521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the Timberwind room--the separate entrance enticed me. The room was large and clean and well-decorated, not at all gaudy and overrun with loud florals like so many B&Bs. We were right above the restaurant but couldn't hear a peep, although parking was slightly challenging when the restaurant patrons were there. When we had an issue with our key, the staff in the restaurant helped us without hesitation as the inn owners were not available. Breakfast was AMAZING, tons of choices and absolutely superb. We were lucky to eat on the gorgeous patio on a quiet September morning. It was perfect. The restaurant is open for breakfast so you can choose whatever you want (and how much you want!) off the menu for free. (And that includes lobster on your eggs Benedict!) I will definitely stay here again if I am in the area. Loved it!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tgmaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2012

Based on previous reviews we decided to stay at The Thistle Inn during our stay at Boothbay Harbor.The location is perfect, just a short walk to town after a world class breakfast .The rooms were large and nicely equipped. Our favorite was the restaurant and Dory Bar. Friendly staff with the best food in Boothbay. Don't leave without having dessert.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Americandiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We took a gamble after reading all of the postings in this forum about what to do in BBH for a whole week. This Inn (The Sherman Zwicker Room) was PERFECT for such a visit. Very quiet. and Yes, you can believe everything you read about their breakfasts. FANTASTIC! My wife actually took pictures of all of them for her facebook page. Jen was not around much, but Max was always ready with suggestions. He is obviously spending a lot of time with the new upper scale restaurant that is beginning to catch on with the community.

Room Tip: If you have bad knees, stay on the ground floor.... but if you have bad knees you don't want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ValpoInd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This is a very convenient property for enjoying downtown Boothbay. The Inn is old, but well renovated, and the rooms are comfortable. We stayed in two of them during our 4-night stay. As others have said the breakfasts are really good, and staff attentive. The restaurant is top class, and there are 2 menus - the expensive one, and a second one with more modest dishes and prices.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DJC20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We are a family of 4 and we stayed in the Timberwind room. It was tight, but worked for us. The breakfasts make this place amazing, and the service is first rate. We stayed for a whole week, and the only thing I would mention is that on the weekends, sometimes you hear a bit too much car noise from the Timberwind room, but it didn't really disturb out sleeping just the same.

Room Tip: The only room which is big enough for our family was the Timberwind room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RawDesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The whole establishment is well kept. The decor is a bit dated, but that didn't bother us a bit. It felt very homey and comfortable. We loved the close proximity to the downtown area and the quiet room. The breakfasts offered in the morning were excellent. The service in the morning was prompt and courteous. We also enjoyed drinks in the aptly named "Dory Pub". The actual dory bar was beautiful. We did not have dinner at the restaurant because of the prices and brevity of our stay. It would have been nice to receive some sort of discount as guests of the B&B. We would definitely stay again and will recommend it to friends and family.

Room Tip: The American Eagle room does not have a bathtub, but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magpie118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
0.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Boothbay Harbor Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
334 reviews
1.7 mi away
Five Gables Inn
Five Gables Inn
#1 of 3 in East Boothbay
214 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#7 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thistle Inn

Address: 55 Oak St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1818
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £83 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thistle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thistle Inn is a historic sea captains home that offers 5 elegantly appointed rooms in addition to a fine dining restaurant, pub and wine store. A continental breakfast starts out your day of exploring the beautiful coast line and town of Boothbay Harbor. The Thistle Inn is for those that enjoy the convenience of an on site restaurant, elegant rooms and a perfect homebase for your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Thistle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thistle Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing