We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for walking around the harbor area”
Review of The Thistle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Thistle Inn
Ranked #13 of 15 Boothbay Harbor B&B and Inns
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location for walking around the harbor area”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This inn is located a few blocks from the shops and restaurants in the harbor area. The room was good size but on the third floor with very steep stairs! Others may not be able to maneuver them but the quiet room with a nice private bath was good for a one night stay. The television was confusing to us to use as it had a DVR attached. Many choices were unavailable. Directions for use were not provided.
The breakfast was superb with three choices of entrees and outside patio seating. We chose to eat dinner in town but there was quite a crowd eating for a Sunday night when we returned.
Very laid back help.

Room Tip: Third floor is a hike but quiet and spacious for a B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phyllis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    28
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
14
75
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

The Thistle Inn is a historic inn located in beautiful Boothbay Habor Maine. The bed was very hard even for my husband who likes a firm mattress.
The breakfast was gourmet but a bit too greasy for me.
The service was great the people who own it and work there are wonderful.
Dinners are great especially in the outdoor deck!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LpoolDogLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kittery, Maine
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Room was musty and worn. Towels, linens and covers unchanged for quite a while or stored in a musty place. Furnishings outdated, worn and in need of replacement. The "Timberwood" room is a loft with exposed beams and ceiling fan that may have been new in the late 1980's but is in dire need of overhaul, with street traffic constantly present post 10 PM. The exterior fared no better with pain peeling everywhere, missing rain gutters, rotting wood and exterior trim and the restaurant was sub-par with dim lighting that didn't quite hide the (again) worn out furnishings. Parking is hit or miss, inasmuch as you have to either dine there or lose your guest parking spot and potentially get towed for street parking. I had to remind the lady who opened to us for the wifi password, the details on hours of checkout, amenities and the parking situation. I recommend that you choose another place, unless there is a dramatic change of both quality and service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThistleInn, Owner at The Thistle Inn, responded to this review, 30 May 2013
We are sorry that you caught us in during our spring time maintenance activities. Power washing the railings to then paint can create quite a mess. We've only had a few sunny days to work with recently and painting has been delayed a bit but now well underway now that we are in a sunny stretch. Our building is dated back to 1865 and the maintenance is on going and constant. We are very sorry that you were not pleased with the decor and full Thistle experience.

The musty towels will be attended to. We are going to replace all towels for the season.

We will take your feedback and commit to improvements. We value your feedback. Parking dedicated to inn guests is now provided across from The Thistle.

Thank you,
Jen and Max Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
155 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We have visited Boothbay several times and decided to try the Thistle Inn. We reserved the Heritage Room on the 3rd floor. The room was very quiet but there were some things that needed attention. The carpeting throughout is in need of a good cleaning; the dust ruffle on the bed needs to be replaced; light bulb missing in the bathroom; the mattress sagged in the middle etc. The price was right and these things didn't really take away from our stay. We had heard the tavern/restaurant was great~it took us 3 tries to get a table so it really is popular! We shared a pizza and salad which were great but the other offerings on the menu looked super too.

We would eat again at the Thistle but likely stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: The Heritage is on the 3rd floor with 2 sets of steep stairs. Very quiet if you don't mind the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tashapVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spring tx
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

The Thistle Inn for me was a true delight. It is so fun to visit New England and see fall foilage, eat lobsters, and stay in B and Bs. This one was no exception.

It was a house so the parlor is now a guest room and the other ist floor room is a dining room. There is no official registration as it is all ready and you are greeted and shown to your room. My husband and I had the Szwicker room and it was wonderful--lots of natural light, comfortable bed, sheets, and pillow, and a large bathroom complete with upscale amenities. We had a small TV so all we watched was news and weather for a short time.

In the evening we went to the tavern at the Inn and had beer and a cheese plate that was only $14 large enough to feed 4. We ventured out in the cold for dinner at an Italian restauirant in town--- Also quite good.

In the morning we were served breakfast in the tavern dining room--so much food--omelettes, toast, jam, coffee, fruit and pots of hot coffee. We didn't even have lunch that day.

I highly recommend The Thistle Inn--I did peek into the other rooms with doors open and all look fine. On the 3rd level is the Appledore room lartge in size, but short in height. My husband would have hit his head on the ceiling in the room and the bathroom--it is part of the attic--charming, but not for a tall person.

The price is good for a room, tavern in house, and a wonderful breakfast--I would definitely stay in here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn48SpringTx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

As noted in most previous reviews, a great location and a well appointed B&B. However we've stayed in a number of B&Bs over the years and the Thistle doesn't rank in the better half for the same or less cost. The shower for both me and my wife was intermittent with hot and cold water (the hot water was dangerously hot!), the TV remote had dead batteries upon arrival. Went to find the innkeeper to get fresh batteries and waited in the lobby are for a number of minutes with no-one from the staff to be found. Used my batteries from my trusty flashlight to remedy the problem. Again, other options were available and we wish we'd taken those instead of the Thistle.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank memjfm1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The Timberwind room was very nice, plenty of space and a comfy bed. The private entrance was nice too. We were always greeted with a smile by the staff. And the food! Loved the cinnamon french toast, eggs benedict and couldn't wait each morning for the toasted white bread! Thanks for everything, we hope to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank murrayduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
434 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thistle Inn

Property: The Thistle Inn
Address: 55 Oak St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1818
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thistle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thistle Inn is a historic sea captains home that offers 5 elegantly appointed rooms in addition to a fine dining restaurant, pub and wine store. A continental breakfast starts out your day of exploring the beautiful coast line and town of Boothbay Harbor. The Thistle Inn is for those that enjoy the convenience of an on site restaurant, elegant rooms and a perfect homebase for your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Thistle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thistle Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing