We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”
Review of The Thistle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Thistle Inn
Ranked #14 of 15 Boothbay Harbor B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Great bed and breakfast in boothbay. My fiancee and I were in town scouting locations for our friends and family to stay when we marry next labor day. Thistle Inn was not only a quality inn with up to date amenities, it was conveniently located in the heart of town. Now, you do NOT get a view of the harbor from here, but it's well worth it. The inn keeper was great. She was very attentive, but gave us our space at the same time. The room was nice, clean and classy. I've stayed at a lot of 4 and 5 star hotels and this place adds the same kind of quality in furnishing and comfort. Of course, its not the Four Seasons, but it is a nice place and I can only speak for the room in which we stayed. We stayed in the American Eagle room. Great sleigh bed, very nice leather club chair and a small desk. They could update the tv to a flat screen and I would've liked a nightstand, other than that, it was great.

The breakfast was wonderful. Afterwards, the inn keeper showed us around the restaurant which had a very cool feel and a nice, upscale wine list (i love wine).

One downside...there was no real common area where you could unwind in front of a fire with a glass of wine or coffee.

All in all, a great stay, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fjsuarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2009

we spent 3 days in this wonderful hotel, the room large, clean, bright, one of the best that I have stayed. Perfect location for trips in the area, the town center is within walking distance. There is no elevator and stairs are a bit tight if you have mobility problems I suggest you ask for rooms on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

We happened by this place on our way back to NJ from UMaine drop off, and stopped in to eat. We stayed overnight in the Inn. Fantastic food for dinner and breakfast. Anya the innkeeper is delightful and very accommodating. The room had the charm of a 1800's Sea Captain's home, but with all the current-day comforts. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank mamabirdNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We had a great time at The Thistle Inn. Our room was big and so comfortable. We loved the pub and the restaurant. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksmMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Thistle Inn in Boothbay Harbor for two nights during our annual fall getaway. We have stayed at many inns and the price of the Thistle Inn was well below other prices we had paid, so we were unsure of the quality of the inn. Needless to say, it exceeded our expectations. My boyfriend thought the room, The Sherman Zwicker, was one of the nicest he has ever been in. The room was large, comfortable and airy. The bathroom appeared brand new and was very large and comfortable. The inn is also within walking distance of everything downtown. The reviews of this inn are lower than others because the breakfast is served more continental syle, but the host accomodated us and served an earlier meal than usual as we were taking the early ferry to Monhegan Island. And the breakfast more than satisfied us, with plenty of fruit, cereal and bakery items to choose from. We didn't have dinner at the inn, but we did stop in the pub which was very warm and welcoming. We thought this inn was great and Boothbay Harbor is a must see if you are spending any extended time in Maine.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mjbeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2008

We did not stay at the Inn, but we did have the chance to dine there for dinner.
We both ordered from the dining room menu.
My girlfriend had a surf and turf special. She wanted to have the saffron rice instead of potatoes, and fresh beans instead of the asparagus. She also asked for her sauces on the side.
The server was great and the kitchen prepared her meal just as she had asked. The presentation was great and she loved everything about it.
I had a steak that was cooked perfectly and the sides that came with it were outstanding.
I also had the individual blueberry pie that was baked to order and it was so, so good.
My girlfriends raspberry creme brulee was also flawless.
We just enjoyed our dinner very, very much and we would reccomend it to those who happen to be in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bms2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2008

Just returned from a few days in BBH...what a neat town. It has all the elements one expects in a very pictoresque Maine coastal village but also has the feel of a place where real people live and work. There is plenty to do for visitors and it is easy to find oneself thinking of living in this interesting community. The Thistle Inn was a very good find. It is a convenient stroll from/to the center of the town and port area. The rooms are charming...there are six and I managed to get a look at most of them as we are hoping to use it as a base for a family event later in the year. Four of the rooms have huge bath/dressing areas...plenty of room to spread out luggage and still have a generous space (almost like another room!)for the bath. One of the rooms has its own private entrance! The service is low-key but excellent--things are very clean and there are many "green" products and environmentally friendly policies in place. With only six rooms, it feels more like staying at someone's very convenient, very well appointed, historic home. (Warning: if you are looking for lace doilies, afternoon tea, and knicknacks, this isn't the place for you--furnishings are sophistocated and casually elegant--a great surprise!) I had read an earlier review on this site about problems with the third floor rooms...actually, I found them charming and very roomy although if climbing stairs is a problem, I would suggest you try for the newly established Victory Chimes king room on the first floor. I rated my overall experience as "excellent"--partly because this is such a good price performer. The rates are very reasonable and include a bountiful breakfast with homemade baked goods, cereals(including homemade granola), endless juice and coffee, fresh fruit plates and, on weekends, a choice of a sweet or savory dish. As an added bonus, there is a unique and very fine restaurant and pub on the first floor--as well as a very pleasant deck for outdoor dining. The excellent executive chef is featuring many local products on the menu. The restaurant itself is worth a trip and is very different from anything else you'll find in the more touristy, high-volume port area. If there is a downside, it might be that the Inn itself does not have common areas/public space suitable for young children or teens...no ping-pong or video games, no pool or hot tub... but for most adult travelers, this could be viewed as yet another perk! If you go, don't miss the short walk to the town footbridge and the classic harbor views!

Stayed: July 2008
Thank MSEsprit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.5 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
549 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
474 reviews
1.2 mi away
Russell House B&B
Russell House B&B
#3 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Ark Inn
Atlantic Ark Inn
#5 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bayside Inn Bed and Breakfast
Bayside Inn Bed and Breakfast
#9 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thistle Inn

Address: 55 Oak St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1818
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £72 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thistle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thistle Inn is a historic sea captain's home that offers 6 nicely appointed rooms with private bathrooms. Breakfast is only served from Memorial Day to Labor Day. The Thistle Inn is for those that enjoy the convenience of an on site restaurant, elegant rooms and a perfect homebase for your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Thistle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thistle Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing