We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Awesome Innkeeper”
Review of The Thistle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Thistle Inn
Ranked #13 of 15 Boothbay Harbor B&B and Inns
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and Awesome Innkeeper”
Reviewed 31 October 2009

My wife and I stayed here for 2 days. The innkeeper/bartender/cook Anya was absolutely awesome and might be one of the hardest working people I have met. The restaurant was fantastic, there was a nice (and crowded) happy hour daily in the pub, and the breakfast each morning was superb. I was even surprised to at the vast content from DirectTV in my room.

If I had any small knock, it is that the bathrooms are not all the same size and the American Eagle bathroom is exceptionally small. I would stay in the Sherman Zwicker room instead.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rocky_Mntn_High
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    28
    12
    9
    3
See reviews for
14
75
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2009

Great bed and breakfast in boothbay. My fiancee and I were in town scouting locations for our friends and family to stay when we marry next labor day. Thistle Inn was not only a quality inn with up to date amenities, it was conveniently located in the heart of town. Now, you do NOT get a view of the harbor from here, but it's well worth it. The inn keeper was great. She was very attentive, but gave us our space at the same time. The room was nice, clean and classy. I've stayed at a lot of 4 and 5 star hotels and this place adds the same kind of quality in furnishing and comfort. Of course, its not the Four Seasons, but it is a nice place and I can only speak for the room in which we stayed. We stayed in the American Eagle room. Great sleigh bed, very nice leather club chair and a small desk. They could update the tv to a flat screen and I would've liked a nightstand, other than that, it was great.

The breakfast was wonderful. Afterwards, the inn keeper showed us around the restaurant which had a very cool feel and a nice, upscale wine list (i love wine).

One downside...there was no real common area where you could unwind in front of a fire with a glass of wine or coffee.

All in all, a great stay, highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fjsuarez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

we spent 3 days in this wonderful hotel, the room large, clean, bright, one of the best that I have stayed. Perfect location for trips in the area, the town center is within walking distance. There is no elevator and stairs are a bit tight if you have mobility problems I suggest you ask for rooms on the ground floor.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ciuffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

We happened by this place on our way back to NJ from UMaine drop off, and stopped in to eat. We stayed overnight in the Inn. Fantastic food for dinner and breakfast. Anya the innkeeper is delightful and very accommodating. The room had the charm of a 1800's Sea Captain's home, but with all the current-day comforts. We'll definitely be back!

Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mamabirdNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We had a great time at The Thistle Inn. Our room was big and so comfortable. We loved the pub and the restaurant. It was a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksmMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Thistle Inn in Boothbay Harbor for two nights during our annual fall getaway. We have stayed at many inns and the price of the Thistle Inn was well below other prices we had paid, so we were unsure of the quality of the inn. Needless to say, it exceeded our expectations. My boyfriend thought the room, The Sherman Zwicker, was one of the nicest he has ever been in. The room was large, comfortable and airy. The bathroom appeared brand new and was very large and comfortable. The inn is also within walking distance of everything downtown. The reviews of this inn are lower than others because the breakfast is served more continental syle, but the host accomodated us and served an earlier meal than usual as we were taking the early ferry to Monhegan Island. And the breakfast more than satisfied us, with plenty of fruit, cereal and bakery items to choose from. We didn't have dinner at the inn, but we did stop in the pub which was very warm and welcoming. We thought this inn was great and Boothbay Harbor is a must see if you are spending any extended time in Maine.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank mjbeckett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2008

We did not stay at the Inn, but we did have the chance to dine there for dinner.
We both ordered from the dining room menu.
My girlfriend had a surf and turf special. She wanted to have the saffron rice instead of potatoes, and fresh beans instead of the asparagus. She also asked for her sauces on the side.
The server was great and the kitchen prepared her meal just as she had asked. The presentation was great and she loved everything about it.
I had a steak that was cooked perfectly and the sides that came with it were outstanding.
I also had the individual blueberry pie that was baked to order and it was so, so good.
My girlfriends raspberry creme brulee was also flawless.
We just enjoyed our dinner very, very much and we would reccomend it to those who happen to be in the area.

  • Liked — Very professional service and the kitchen's flexibility and culinary skills.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bms2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.4 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
435 reviews
0.3 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#3 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
353 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
659 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Thistle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Thistle Inn

Property: The Thistle Inn
Address: 55 Oak St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1818
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thistle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Thistle Inn is a historic sea captains home that offers 5 elegantly appointed rooms in addition to a fine dining restaurant, pub and wine store. A continental breakfast starts out your day of exploring the beautiful coast line and town of Boothbay Harbor. The Thistle Inn is for those that enjoy the convenience of an on site restaurant, elegant rooms and a perfect homebase for your vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Thistle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Thistle Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing