We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home-but better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Harbor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harbor House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Agoura Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt like home-but better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at Tom and Monica's B&B, in lovely Booth Bay Harbor. I booked it on the strength of the reviews on this site and am so glad I did! The Inn is in a residential neighborhood, minutes from the main area of the town. The nights are wonderfully quiet. There is a view of the town from one side of the Inn and the water (and boats) on the other. Monica is an excellent cook and for a small place, she gives a wide variety of breakfast foods to choose from. Tom and Monica are charming hosts and we enjoyed chatting with them each day. And they really know their stuff - been at it for 16 years! Did you know the exteriors for the movie "Carousel" were filmed in Booth Bay? You will really enjoy your stay here!

Room Tip: I highly recommend the 3rd floor. The rooms are bigger and have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
183
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

This B & B is at the top of a hill with a partial view of Boothbay that would be lovely on a clear day! Nice, clean rooms Joe and Monica were wonderful hosts. Great breakfast! Good location to downtown shops I recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zzzvvv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2012

My wife and I recently stayed for 2 nights in Boothbay Harbor at the Harbor House Inn. Tom and Monica took great care of us, from a fantastic breakfast of Blueberry Pancakes and delicious homemade muffins to local attraction reccomendations. Not only was Harbor House Inn more affordable than most other B&Bs in the area, I can't imagine that there is a nicer place to stay in Boothbay! Monica gave us directions to a little known beach for fantastic sea glass hunting that did not dissapoint! We stayed in Room 4 which has a fantastic view and wonderful clawfoot soaking tub in the private detached bath. We will definitly be back to Boothbay and, next time, we won't think twice about where we will be staying!

Room Tip: The B&B sits on the tip of the hill on McKown Street with panoramic views of the town and harbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
B, MA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stayed at Harbor House Inn on the advise of owners of the B&B we normally stay at, but it has recently closed. Tom and Monica Churchill, owners, have a lovely Inn. Our room had wonderful views of the Harbor, out to the ocean and of the Bounty, in dry dock several blocks from the Inn. The Inn is in walking distance to the shops and restaurants of the harbor, but far enough that you don't hear traffic or the crowds. Tom and Monica provided great suggestions on things to do, sail on the Lazy Jack, and places to eat, Ports of Italy being a real winner and close to the Inn. We will be staying here on our next visit to the area and get to know Tom and Monica better.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

lovely property in great location for all amenities of town and harbour. Probably the biggest bedroom we have ever stayed in, in a B and B, with spectacular views from all 4 windows. Very big bathroom too. Very welcoming innkeepers, lovely buffet breakfast, and coffee and home made cookies available at all time. Great to sit out and relax on the wrap around porch.

Room Tip: Loadsa Room is stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday186560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milltown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2012

I dont think there is a better Inn around. The hosts were very knowledgeable about the area. they had many sugestions for dinner and things to do on our adventure. It was a pleasure to stay there and we would go back whenever we return to visit the area in Maine

Room Tip: the rooms were spotless and well kept. the views for some of the rooms was better than others. overa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2012

Our short visit to the Harbor House Inn from NYC was a real treat. Tom and Monica are truly wonderful hosts, and the Inn is very beautiful. It's situated atop a hill overlooking the bay which affords great views and is a short walk to the bay and shops, etc. Tom was so welcoming upon our arrival, yet didn't crowd us in the least. The breakfast buffet was great. We stayed in the 'Which Room' and it was really nice. The house is old but well maintained and not at all 'creaky' like some older homes can be, so you don;t have to worry about hearing every move the other guests make. We can truly recommend the Harbor House Inn without reservation.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadowby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Ark Inn
Atlantic Ark Inn
#4 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House Inn

Property: Harbor House Inn
Address: 80 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From atop of McKown Hill in the heart of Boothbay Harbor, enjoy watching boating activity on the Bay in our quite, relaxed setting while being only a short walk from the docks, shops and restaurants. Six large rooms with private baths and king or queen beds are available. Each morning a hearty buffet breakfast is served with house specialties. Children and some pets are welcome. Ask about packages and specials rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing