We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Bed & Breakfast Inn”
Review of Harbor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harbor House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We recently visited Boothbay Harbor with our 2 yo son and the Harbor House was perfect for us. Tom and Monica warmly welcomed us and were more than accommodating during our 2 night stay in the Other Room on the ground floor. The room was large enough for our son's pack & play and we enjoyed the deck each night while he was settling down to sleep. The mattress on the king size bed was not super comfortable but this IS a bed & breakfast, not the Westin. The inn is a very short walk to the restaurants and dining along the harbor. We would definitely recommend the Harbor House to any of our friends visiting the Region and will most likely stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Melanie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Room had nice view, very comfortable, good furnishings. Breakfast was much more than a continental breakfast, with cooked omelets, cereals, yogurts, fresh fruit and choice of inside or outside dining. The proprietors couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. As we stayed only two days, we didn't have to worry about the room being cleaned daily, and we were able to keep things the way we wanted. Plus it was right next to the town, so everything was in walking distance. A wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay with Monica and Tom at the Harbor House Inn. They made our family of 5 feel very comfortable in Lotsaroom and the kids enjoyed the tree swing while we sat on the porch & looked out to sea. Monica's breakfasts were delightful & we looked forward to a baked treat at the end of our sightseeing. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pcmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My husband and I traveled to Booth Bay for the first time and had the pleasure of staying at the Harbor House Inn for just one night. Unfortunately, the weather did not cooperate with us, but we were able to catch a glimpse of the gorgeous views from the Inn - they were really beautiful. The Inn keepers were so pleasant and helpful, friendly and informative.

The room itself was also nice - enough space for the 2 of us. The bathroom is a little tight, but I was aware of this when we booked the room. The one thing that I did not realize (which was not too much of an issue) was that there was no AC unit in the room. There is a fan, so it was still comfortable but it could have been an issue on a hotter day.

Breakfast the next morning was great - so delicious and filling. We really enjoyed our short stay at the Inn and would definitely come back for another trip!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank admistry81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Tom and Monica are more than welcoming and giving us all the information needed to enjoy the area. We had a room in the extension called the "other room" which was comfortable and quiet. The breakfast was very good with a nice view of the bay from the balcony.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank docacadien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Our plans were to camp - anywhere on the ocean from Freeport to Acadia. We were too late to reserve a site, : - (. Kim opted to seek a motel, hotel or an Inn along the coast of Maine. She booked a few nights at the Inn, their smallest room. I had my doubts, especially in Boothbay Harbor on short notice. THE BEST Experience I/we have ever had at an Inn/B&B! As we both have travelled - the last room supposedly was small... perhaps it was small to others, but to us it was perfect! A bit more money than sleeping in a tent in the rain as the weekend turned out, BUT the location above Boothbay Harbor was perfect. The intimate feeling was extrodinary. Monica and Tom were great! The breakfast was delicious, the Inn was charming with period mouldings yet blended with state of the time convenience. So much better than the 'Inns" which are motels. Class act for out entire stay! We had tips on restaurants, too many to list - but - the options for price/fresh seasfood suggestions fit our palate. Secret nature walks (less travelled) with ocean vistas (Ocean Point, Pemaquid Point, Monhegan Island) and more were free flowing from Tom and Monica. The best - they spent as much time with us as we wanted, they knew when we approached overload. The other guests were fantastice, sharing storied and exciting places to see.

We felt great with interaction, comfort of the room, price as well but beyond that - welcome by the owners - which far exceeded out expectations!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davidsearay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This has been our third year staying at the Harbor House Inn. As always, we've enjoyed every part of it. Monica and Tom never stop being kind and gracious, and our dog and toddler continued to test there patience. We look forward to staying again next year!

Room Tip: The dog friendly room is exceptional. It is so nice to have a private entrance and porch from the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katherine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.2 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
464 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#7 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
512 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Ark Inn
Atlantic Ark Inn
#5 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Boothbay Harbor Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
334 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
690 reviews
1.5 mi away
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
Spruce Point Inn Resort and Spa
#1 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House Inn

Address: 80 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £131 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From atop of McKown Hill in the heart of Boothbay Harbor, enjoy watching boating activity on the Bay in our quite, relaxed setting while being only a short walk from the docks, shops and restaurants. Eight large rooms with private baths and king or queen beds are available. Each morning a hearty breakfast is served with house specialties. Ask about packages and specials rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing