We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time in Boothbay Harbor”
Review of Harbor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harbor House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We really enjoyed staying with Monica and Tom at the Harbor House Inn. We felt like we were with family. The accommodations were superior, the breakfasts amazing (Monica was kind enough to share her recipes), and Tom helped us plan our sight seeing. I would definitely plan to stay here again on my next trip to Maine. Thank you, Monica and Tom!

Room Tip: We let our hosts choose our room. This B&B provides rooms with equal appeal.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Judy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Harbor House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

We loved the pet friendly room, with its own fenced terrace. Very roomy and charming. Great breakfast and very welcoming hosts for both our dogs and us. We would stay again in a heartbeat. They only had room for us for one night, the other place we stayed was just an ordinary motel type room and institutional breakfast that felt like a big downgrade after Harbor House.

Room Tip: I believe there is only one pet friendly room.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dwineberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My wife and I spent a weekend here as part of our weeklong tour of the Maine coast. Hosts Tom and Monica were wonderful. Often on vacation we want to get an early start to the day, and in this B&B , they have a flexible breakfast schedule (buffet style) that starts at 8 AM, but you can arrive much later if you like to sleep in. We stayed in what they call "That Room" which, while it does not have the view of the upper floors, is very easy access from the parking lot with only a few steps. The tourist center of Boothbay is relatively compact, so this is conveniently located--only about a 5 minute walk--from the center of everything.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We come from italy with two kids and We have a really Big Room... Fantastic bay view and the stay was fantastic... To see to stay!!! If you can ask For the Room bay side. From the top of the hill is like to stay in a dream

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My husband and I just returned home from our weeks stay at this inn. We both loved it. We mostly stayed in the "lotsa room" which is the largest room at the Inn. We loved the room with its multiple windows and amazing views from each one. We left each one open and enjoyed the cool breeze. We did switch to a room across the hall for two days. This room was also lovely, a bit smaller and we missed our view. We peaked into the other rooms while they were vacant, each has its own charm. Some where a bit smaller than others. Both Monica and Tom were friendly and gracious. Monica makes a delicious fruit salad, homemade muffins, and a hot homemade oatmeal, in addition to a hot meal each morning and great afternoon treats, everything was delicious. It's a short walk to the wharf, where you can enjoy the shops and restaurants. Or just relax on the veranda and enjoy a good book. The upper room is a bit more expensive, but definitely worth it. My only concern would be if someone had difficulty walking up stairs, as it is two flights up a narrow staircase. Remember, it was built in 1869! We did get our exercise however. Most certainly would stay here again.

Room Tip: Small TV's and you don't get many channels, but who goes on vacation to watch TV
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Our one night stay recently was our second with Tom and Monica. They are accommodating and friendly, as well as helpful with suggestions.Room #5 upstairs has a fine harbor view and plenty of room. The grounds are beautiful, and the food at breakfast was tasty and filling. A nice sunny day added to the stay. There is only a short walk to the downtown area. We will be back and appreciate their hospitality.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Me and my husband stayed at Harbor House only for one night in July of 2014. One night though was enough to fall in love with the place. Charming house on the hill, short walk to to Booth Harbor and outrageously tasty free breakfast. The Baked Oatmeal is out of this world. You can eat it on the outside porch and enjoy the view. Tea/coffee and snacks available all day long. And they have swing on the lawn! made me feel like a girl again. Owners Tom and Monica very friendly and helpful and have the cutest doggies :)
We stayed on the very top room with a view of the bay. Room was amazing and well worth the money. If we come back to Booth Bay we would love to stay here again. At that same room :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Boothbay Harbor
0.2 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
507 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Ark Inn
Atlantic Ark Inn
#4 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Boothbay Harbor Inn
Boothbay Harbor Inn
#8 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
685 reviews
1.9 mi away
Five Gables Inn
Five Gables Inn
#1 of 3 in East Boothbay
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House Inn

Address: 80 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £128 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From atop of McKown Hill in the heart of Boothbay Harbor, enjoy watching boating activity on the Bay in our quite, relaxed setting while being only a short walk from the docks, shops and restaurants. Eight large rooms with private baths and king or queen beds are available. Each morning a hearty breakfast is served with house specialties. Ask about packages and specials rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing