We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Harbor House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Milton, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

We spent 2 nights at Harbor View Inn recently. We called the day before and they had rooms but we had to switch. First night was Room 1, queen & twin beds, cozy but comfortable with a lovely view. The bathroom is private but detatched. The only issue here was the shower inside a clawfoot tub. My husband is recovering from a back injury and couldn't get in. The next night was spent in room 5, king bed, sitting area with an amazing harbor view and large bathroom with jetted tub. The whole house is clean and airy. Breakfast was a buffet style with a hot entree, fresh fruit, cereal, toast and hot muffins.. blueberry one day and banana walnut chocolate chip the next. I'd go back for those. They are located on a hill, thus the views, and it is a short walk to the village. Had hubby been healthy it would have posed no problem. Tom & Monica are very friendly plus they have a doggy welcome committee. If you visit give Tristan & Penner a pet for us. We WILL be returning.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustWinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
183
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

My friend and I spent several nights in the Harbor House Inn, and loved the comfortable welcoming feel Monica and Tom have established there. We had a top floor room with king bed and generous sitting area. It has windows on three sides, allowing sea breezes to cool the room, and spectacular views of the village and especially the harbor. Even the large bathroom has a window with a view!
Breakfasts were generous, varied, and relaxing. We enjoyed visiting with other guests as we all selected our own food from the abundant buffet offered. Monica and Tom know the area, including restaurants, local sights, neighboring towns, and are available to answer guests' questions.
I loved the homey feel, the relaxed pace, and the privacy afforded at the Harbor House.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curioustraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

The previous reviews say it all. It's a great place to stay. Perfect location, spotless rooms, delicious breakfast, friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lheuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albuquerque
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2009

What a great place this is! It's perfectly located high on a hill overlooking the harbor and a short walk to town. From the wide wrap around porch to our great top floor room with sitting area and views the house was welcoming and beautiful. The hosts, Monica and Tom, are perfect - friendly, accomodating, knowledgeable, relaxed, and fun. The breakfasts are the perfect start to the day, there are fresh muffins every morning and a variety of hot dishes (french toast, omelets, quiches) as well as oatmeal, toast, fruit, yoghurt. There is self serve tea, coffee, and snacks 24/7. I look forward to returning here and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cattivojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

This was the first time staying at a B&B in Maine and it was delightful. We had one of the rooms on the third (top) floor, which had its own bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the room quiet.

The breakfasts were great. The signature blueberry muffins were tasty. We even took some with us as a snack for later in the day.

After a day of sightseeing, we enjoyed the hot beverages and slices of cake or other treats that were available in the evenings.

Tom and Monica were very friendly and helpful. We greatly appreciated their suggestions of things to do and places to eat as well as driving directions.

We highly recommend this B&B and would stay with them again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaleighRTP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orono, ME
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2008

In a word extraordinary. We stayed in Room 6, wonderful room, king size bed, the only room with an air conditioner, but it also had a ceiling fan over the bed. Private bath. Very cozy and comfortable. The Inn sits high atop Boothbay Harbor, yet you can walk to the town. Views from the wrap around deck and breathtaking. We also had breakfast on the deck; fresh fruit, warm muffins, baked French toast with strawberries. Monica was a most warm and gracious hostess.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emtcc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2008

Beautiful old house at the top of a hill in Boothbay Harbor, within 4 minute walk of restaurants and shops, but with spectacular view off the porch of the harbor itself. Comfortable spacious room with very comfortable king-size bed and our very own porch for late afternoon nap. Great breakfast with the best blueberry muffins in Maine. ...and home-made oatmeal cookies and tea in the late afternoon!

  • Liked — ease and comfort
  • Disliked — i had to go get my own shampoo/conditioner
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank maplest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Ark Inn
Atlantic Ark Inn
#4 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfront
Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfr...
#7 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House Inn

Property: Harbor House Inn
Address: 80 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From atop of McKown Hill in the heart of Boothbay Harbor, enjoy watching boating activity on the Bay in our quite, relaxed setting while being only a short walk from the docks, shops and restaurants. Six large rooms with private baths and king or queen beds are available. Each morning a hearty buffet breakfast is served with house specialties. Children and some pets are welcome. Ask about packages and specials rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing