We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the best B&B I've stayed at, by far” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harbor House Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Harbor House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Phoenix
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This is the best B&B I've stayed at, by far”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

On this fall foliage trip (New Hampshire, Maine and Vermont), I have to say that the Harbor House Inn was the best. In fact, it was the best B&B I've stayed at anywhere.

The innkeeper (Monica - her husband was away while I was there) was charming and committed to making my stay comfortable. The entire building was renovated by both innkeepers, and it shows. What's more important though is that they seem to have thought through everything a traveler might need or want to be comfortable.

Okay, this sounds odd, but the bed was so comfortable, I even noted the manufacturer so I could order some for my own bed. Usually, I don't sleep soundly on my first night at a hotel. At this one, it was hard to drag myself out of the bed. Absolutely luxurious.

I can't recommend this Inn more highly. If you're in Boothbay, this is the place to stay. If I'm ever back in the Northeast, I'll be sure and book the itinerary to include Boothbay, if only to re-visit the Inn.

Cheryl

Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank DesertButterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    32
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
37
183
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
80 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

We stayed two nights at the Harbor House Inn. Everything that others have written is true - one could hardly find a more hospitable inn and congenial hosts. Tom took very good care of us, helped carry up our luggage, gave us directions to attractions and excellent restaurant recommendations. So many breakfast choices, including at least one hot dish but also a wide array of pastries, cereals, hard boiled eggs, etc. And a great location. However, we had a second floor room which was cozy and adequate but not real spacious - it still would have been OK except that the king bed had a rather sagging mattress which actually slanted to one side so my wife did not really have a good sleep the first night. (The second night was better as I propped up the bed's legs on one side with magazines to compensate for the slant.). Had it not been for the bed, this place would have rated a "5". Still, we hope to come back to this inn - but with booking in a different room.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyman, ME
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

What a wonderful stay we had! My boyfriend and I stayed at The Harbor House Inn for my birthday weekend getaway and had a wonderful stay. Tom and Monica are such wonderful, welcoming hosts (Tristan and Pepper too!)- and great cooks! We only stayed two nights and had very different breakfast options each day... waffles, breakfast quiche, THE BEST MUFFINS IN THE WORLD, etc... and that Friendship Bread out in the afternoon after a day of browsing the shops is just delicious! Tom and Monica are very knowledgable about the area and will point you in the right direction for shopping, dining, etc. Great room, gorgeous views... I have no complaints and look forward to staying again in the future!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amlangley07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
savannah
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2009

We stayed here for a wedding. inkeepers were very helpful and knowledgeable. Great location and beautiful views. Room was nice and sleeping was extemely peaceful. Hope we can get back there again next summer.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sailingaround13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2009

We spent 2 nights at Harbor View Inn recently. We called the day before and they had rooms but we had to switch. First night was Room 1, queen & twin beds, cozy but comfortable with a lovely view. The bathroom is private but detatched. The only issue here was the shower inside a clawfoot tub. My husband is recovering from a back injury and couldn't get in. The next night was spent in room 5, king bed, sitting area with an amazing harbor view and large bathroom with jetted tub. The whole house is clean and airy. Breakfast was a buffet style with a hot entree, fresh fruit, cereal, toast and hot muffins.. blueberry one day and banana walnut chocolate chip the next. I'd go back for those. They are located on a hill, thus the views, and it is a short walk to the village. Had hubby been healthy it would have posed no problem. Tom & Monica are very friendly plus they have a doggy welcome committee. If you visit give Tristan & Penner a pet for us. We WILL be returning.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JustWinging
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2009

My friend and I spent several nights in the Harbor House Inn, and loved the comfortable welcoming feel Monica and Tom have established there. We had a top floor room with king bed and generous sitting area. It has windows on three sides, allowing sea breezes to cool the room, and spectacular views of the village and especially the harbor. Even the large bathroom has a window with a view!
Breakfasts were generous, varied, and relaxing. We enjoyed visiting with other guests as we all selected our own food from the abundant buffet offered. Monica and Tom know the area, including restaurants, local sights, neighboring towns, and are available to answer guests' questions.
I loved the homey feel, the relaxed pace, and the privacy afforded at the Harbor House.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curioustraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2009

The previous reviews say it all. It's a great place to stay. Perfect location, spotless rooms, delicious breakfast, friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lheuer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.1 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#5 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#4 of 12 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Ark Inn
Atlantic Ark Inn
#4 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfront
Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfr...
#7 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House Inn

Property: Harbor House Inn
Address: 80 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From atop of McKown Hill in the heart of Boothbay Harbor, enjoy watching boating activity on the Bay in our quite, relaxed setting while being only a short walk from the docks, shops and restaurants. Six large rooms with private baths and king or queen beds are available. Each morning a hearty buffet breakfast is served with house specialties. Children and some pets are welcome. Ask about packages and specials rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing