We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Harbor House is Quintessential Boothbay”
Review of Harbor House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harbor House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 10 July 2007

I've stayed at the Harbor House twice (2003 +2005) and continue to keep in touch with Tom and Monica. It's the essence of a summer home on the Maine coast!

The porch is wide and comfy with plenty of chairs and chaises, the breeze is constant and lovely, the view is wonderful.....you're a two minute walk from all the action along the water. You can park your car and spend the rest of your Boothbay experience on foot.....easily getting anywhere you want to go.

Tom and Monica make you feel like a long-lost relative who's come back to visit. The breakfasts are very good with a huge variety of things to eat. Ditto the afternoon tea and cookies and pre-cocktail snacks. Once you get here you never want to leave. It's Bar Harbor without the crowds and the pretensions!

Stayed: August 2005
Thank king_street_kitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

271 - 277 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2007

The Harbor House was truly everything we wanted in a Bed and Breakfast. The innkeepers are not only very friendly but also have stories and knowledge of local sights that made our trip magical. The location is convenient so we could stroll along all the shops and is set apart just enough to have that all-important quiet Maine front porch view from the rocking chairs! They have wireless internet and salty fresh air and baked french toast that is soaked over night! Every detail- down to the lace-trimmed luxurious sheets and the private bath- added up to the perfect stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank scorpiov13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2007

We recently visited this lovely B&B for 2 nights. I've stayed at several B&B's over the years, and this was the best one! Tom and Monica are wonderful hosts, the room was just perfect, and the views from the back porch are simply spectactular. This is a very well-maintained inn that is run very professionally. The breakfast that Tom and Monica made was delicious. They also have snacks, including freshly baked cookies and cakes, for their guests. I highly recommend that you stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babyinboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2007

As you drive into Boothbay Harbor, you can see the picturesque Harbor House up on the hill overlooking the harbor. It is everything you could hope to find in a charming, New England B&B. Hosts Tom and Monica have created a warm, welcoming atmosphere. The rooms are lovely - each one different and with its own personality. A hearty breakfast is served in a dining area that opens out onto the best porch in Maine! No matter what time of day, it is always cool and breezy on the porch - a perfect place for coffee, reading or a nap. And, it's just a short walk to all the shops, restaurants and boats - so you will never have to move the car! We have stayed at Harbor House several times and plan to go back again (and again!).

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2006

Most enjoyable from the moment we saw the lovely B&B on the top of the hill. The porch is so inviting, as are the hosts Monica and Tom, and I could have spent my entire time in Boothbay sitting on that porch taking in the view.

The rooms are comfortable and clean, lacking no convenience and beautifully appointed. The breakfast was plentiful and delicious, with a different featured dish every morning.

We thought the location ideal. Just a few minutes walk from the waterfront, but far enough removed to be quiet and serene.

Harbor House is definitely on our list for a return visit and soon.

Stayed: August 2006
1  Thank ZeeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2006

This B&B run by Tom and Monica is a great value with rooms overlooking the water, a two minute walk to shops and waterfront, a quiet location to sleep at night, and an old fashion porch to relax after a day of sightseeing. We stayed several nights and the homemade breakfast had plenty of variety to please everyone. Really enjoyed a second cup of coffee on the porch before starting the day. Hats off to Tom and Monica for a wonderful stay and we plan to return next year.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Budget-Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Sven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.3 mi away
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
Harborage Inn on the Oceanfront
#6 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
370 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
Bayberry House Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
700 reviews
1.4 mi away
Russell House B&B
Russell House B&B
#4 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfront
Harbour Towne Inn on the Waterfr...
#8 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
285 reviews
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Ark Inn
Atlantic Ark Inn
#5 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
317 reviews
0.1 mi away
Captain Sawyer's Bed & Breakfast
Captain Sawyer's Bed & Breakfast
#11 of 15 in Boothbay Harbor
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harbor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbor House Inn

Address: 80 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Boothbay Harbor
Price Range: £161 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harbor House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From atop of McKown Hill in the heart of Boothbay Harbor, enjoy watching boating activity on the Bay in our quite, relaxed setting while being only a short walk from the docks, shops and restaurants. Eight large rooms with private baths and king or queen beds are available. Each morning a hearty breakfast is served with house specialties. Ask about packages and specials rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Harbor House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbor House Inn Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing