We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An okay place if you are staying for a short time”
Review of Mid-Town Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Boothbay Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mid-Town Motel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“An okay place if you are staying for a short time”
Reviewed 24 October 2011

The owner of the Mid-Town Motel was very pleasant and helpful, suggesting restaurants and local attractions. The motel is 1950 style, and it seemed that the mattresses haven't been changed since then. The bathrooms are very small and had a musty smell, but were clean. If you are just staying a couple of days, this motel would be okay, but I couldn't last more than that. The location is nice, just a couple of blocks from the bay and small shopping area.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    19
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
9
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Granger, In
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Well like everyone else has noted the owner is very friendly. Rooms were clean, bathrooms small. A few minutes walking distance to the center of Boothbay. I would stay again. A no frills motel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redwhiskeypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

The owner is incredibly friendly and helpful. Location on top of a hill above the town makes for a quiet place to relax on the porch chairs. Very old-fashioned decor, but we thought it was delightful.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thebug525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston MA
Level Contributor
580 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

We had to cancel our reservations six hours before arrival and when phoning the owner, Timothy Lewis, I was met with the kindest approach and offered a full refund. This is not always the case.

We are planning on a trip to Boothbay again and will definitely frequent this motel.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mpd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2010

A spur of the moment decision to go to Boothbay Harbor had me checking all the typical travel sites for accomocations and to compare prices. After findinging nothing less than $100 ( most were closer to $130. and up) after Labor Day we decided to wing it and see what we could find on our own. Got off the waterfront & went up the hill just past the Boothbay Fire Dept & saw the Mid-town Motel which advertised itself as a classic 50's motel. It was perfect at $75. ($85 in season I believe) offering 2 bars of soap, a spotless bathroom and pine paneled small room with bureau, 2 night stands, chair & tv. We rarely spend much time in the room and were able to enjoy the 3 minute walk down to the shopping & restaurants, marinas & boat tours and all the wonderful shopping that Boothbay has to offer. If you don't need fluff & frills but enjoy talking to a knowledgeable host with great recommendations then you would enjoy the Mid-town and the savings that go with it.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank villasouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Not overly expensive (as in cheap) and clean. The rooms are cute and have the obligatory bathroom, T.V., side chair and bureau. But there is a real charm to this place. The owner - manager is friendly and it is a short walk to town. The bathroom is not luxurious, but it is clean. I really liked this place and will stay there again.

June Jensen

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank June_Beth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We always stay here when we go to Boothbay Harbor. Tim the owner is very , very nice and always ready to offer any advice and tips about the area and has never steered our group wrong. Midtown Motel doesn't appologize for its retro style and appearance, it's just plain comfortable and the owner over the years has become like family to us. Very charming. We will always go back there.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank libbyde2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Boothbay Harbor hotels
0.7 mi away
Flagship Inn
Flagship Inn
#2 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
Beach Cove Waterfront Inn
#5 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tugboat Inn
Tugboat Inn
#4 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
Fisherman's Wharf Inn
#6 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
Cap'n Fish's Waterfront Inn
#8 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rocktide Inn
Rocktide Inn
#9 of 13 in Boothbay Harbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mid-Town Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mid-Town Motel

Property: Mid-Town Motel
Address: 96 McKown St, Boothbay Harbor, ME 04538-1863
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Boothbay Harbor
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Boothbay Harbor
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Mid-Town Motel Boothbay Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing